We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, convenient to other places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, convenient to other places”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, was great to have a kitchen available for us as it is expensive to eat out every night. We had a bay-view suite, had an excellent view of the SF-Oakland Bay Bridge and since it was clear every night, plus a full moon, the view at night was very pretty and romantic.

Carpets need to be changed, doors to rooms need repainting, but service was excellent at the front desk, and in the dining area. Lots of polite smiles, friendly interchange with the staff.

Would stay again due to location, but would be nice if the carpets were replaced or cleaned extremely well.

Room Tip: Bay view is better, other side has train tracks and if you are a light sleeper, train noise can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlettsdesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    391
    160
    54
    40
See reviews for
559
242
64
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The public spaces are fantastic: modern décor, nice design. Outdoor fireplaces and beautiful pool and whirlpool. Up-to-date equipment in fitness center, along with free weights and bench.

12th floor hallway stained in numerous places; room 1212 carpeting stained in many places and also wrinkled. A tripping hazard and disconcerting in its dirty appearance. Rest of room finishes were lovely: bedding, towels, furniture.

Maybe this floor is the last floor to be refurbished at this property? Definitely check.

Room Tip: Avoid 12th floor; unsure about other floors. Try to get a room with a view of bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The location was convenient for visiting Berkeley and it seemed safe and we appreciated the free parking. Our room which had a separate sitting area and small well-equipped kitchen was quite a good size and the bathroom was bigger than most hotel bathrooms. But I was put off by the carpeting which was really filthy- stained in several places and dirty all over.
The free breakfast looked pretty good but the "hot" breakfast items were cold and. The staff member who was clearing tables was literally pitching dishes into a cart which produced ear-splitting crashes. So, overall I did not get the impression that Hyatt really cares about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0rdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

One night only, for business. Good news; free and safe parking. Bad news; Motel 6 level of room. Bed marginal, cleanliness borderline, wear and tear high, trains loud. Staff was neither bad nor exceptional. If you are trying to save money, this might be good for you, but it tarnishes the Hyatt name.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrotherK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Hyatt House while we were in town for a wedding. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One time the young woman at the main desk offered to take our party of 7 to the nearest Bart station in the Hotel's shuttle. After that we became acquainted with the Emeryville Go Round (area free shuttle) and took advantage of this service to get to and from the Bart station. It is an easy walk from the hotel to several shopping areas and food courts.

Our bed was quite comfortable, but the rooms are a bid on the tired side as mentioned by other reviewers. Our suite still had 2 CRT TVs; one with a VHS player. I heard the staff tell another customer who echoed the same complaint that they were scheduled for updating next year.

The breakfast breakfast was nothing spectacular but it did offer an ample selection of breakfast foods which varied daily. In addition to scrambled eggs, we saw ham and sausage, blintzes, waffles and pancakes on various days. Fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, cereals were available as well.

It was a good stay for our purposes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoLifeisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Marne, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Well... decent hotel...but a little bit tired!
The restaurant on the main floor offers classic lunch for U.S., nothing extraordinary in fact.

Its only advantage for me is to be located not far from SF but not very well served by public transport

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIVIANE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Comfortable, clean rooms. Courteous staff. Good breakfast. Free Sunday paper. All I could want in a hotel. Location is very close to San Francisco, easy access to freeway and you're in the city in a matter of minutes!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bahia1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
3.1 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area

Property: HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Address: 5800 Shellmound Way, Emeryville, CA 94608-1912 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel (completed May of 2015) is located at the foot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge near Oakland and Berkeley, California. Hyatt House Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area is within five miles of University of California Berkeley. Enjoy the beautiful views over the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Bay Street Emeryville Mall and MacArthur BART station. Emeryville offers a wide variety of retail venues and shopping destinations. The Bay Street Mall, East BayBridge Shopping Center and The Emeryville Public Market are all within a short distance from the Hyatt House. During your stay, you will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home, and our knowledgeable Front Desk Hosts are available 24 hours a day to assist with your requests. In addition, the H BAR welcomes travelers 7 days a week from 5pm -10pm, offering our new Sip+Savor Menu, featuring home-cooked comforts including gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new apps like the Tomato Mozzy Bread and more. A full bar is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Woodfin Hotel Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing