We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to downtown SF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My head office is located in the financial district, so I typically stay down there. However, prices and availability have been really terrible as of late. A colleauge recommended Hyatt House in Emeryville so I decided to give it a try. While the price wasn't cheap, it was reasonable for the area. My greatest concern was "where the heck is Emeryville!" Turns out that it's just across the Bay Bridge and is only 8 miles from downtown. It was all Hyatt quality, plus the beneift of a small kitchen. The room was surprisingly quiet. The free breakfast was excellent and the staff was amazing. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyLordHeuksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Pluses
1. Location - we had an excellent stay after a busy day in San Francisco. We visitedTreasure Island on our way from SFO - awesome night view on the way and the bay view rooms (higher floors)
2. Staff -all hotel staff was very friendly and helpful

Could be better
1. Two beds instead of King bed - the hotel knew I was a diamond tier member and coming with a kid. There was a request for a room with two beds. Sofa bed was not good at all.
2. Breakfast - we were vegetarians and hence choices were limited

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgirishr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My company's main office recently relocated to Emeryville. The Hyatt Place hotel is within a short walking distance of the hotel, so I decided to give it a try. I have not stayed at a Hyatt property before, but I was not disappointed. The room was a two room kitchenette. The furniture was comfortable. The tv's and appliances were in great shape. Plenty of room to work and relax. The bed and pillows were comfortable as well. Two complaints - shower head and electrical outlets. The shower head didn't have a wide spray pattern and so the shower was just so so. The electrical outlets by the bed were occupied by the lamp and alarm clock. Hotels should use a similar setup like they do at the desks in their rooms, that is to put outlets on the lamps for iPods, iPads and phone chargers. All in all, it was a good stay and I'll be back on my next trip.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

+ side
1) good location
2) friendly staff at front desk and restaurant
3) good bar and bar tender
4) nice common areas
5) big rooms
6) front side rooms face the bay (back side rooms face train track)

+/-
1) the rooms are your typical extended stay rooms. Hyatt tout's this as upscale expended stay. To be honest it's an average at best extended stay. Typical of what's out there. All extended say rooms look a little "beaten up'.

- side
1) Horrible food quality - I had the displeasure of eating both dinner and the free breakfast at the hotels "restaurant". Did not expect anything exceptional but I know it was bad when my dinner steak was served with the leftover breakfast potato's. The free breakfast was weak compared to other hotel free breakfasts. But it was free so I choked it down.
2) have higher expectations for a Hyatt property.
3) no shuttle driver the night I was there so no shuttle.

Safe travels....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for three days before Thanksgiving 2013, visiting the Bay Area with my spouse. Great location to get into the city by car, a little more challenging if using BART. Had a suite here with a fantastic bay view, was quite a good value. Clean, well equipped, convenient parking, really have no complaints at all about the place! I'd definitely stay here again if my travels take me back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BragmansWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I definitely recommend this hotel for the Bay Area. Great location near shopping, easy access to SF (although always traffics going across the bridge), easy drive to Berkeley. I've stayed here twice in the last couple of months. Both times, the staff was super friendly and helpful. I've read the reviews about stained carpets and old TVs, but our room was great with flat screens, fully stocked kitchen, nicely furnished. The staff told me that renovations have begun, so all rooms will have new carpets and upholstery. This is a good value, considering you get a hot breakfast and free parking. SF hotels are much pricier and parking is usually extra. Pay up for a bay view and enjoy the sunset! We will continue to stay here!

Room Tip: Bay view on the higher floors is definitely my preference. Rooms without a view have a bit of train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Not sure where to begin... Hotel in desperate need of renovation. Filthy, stained carpets in guest rooms and corridors.
Housekeeping is inconsistent at best. Fair to Poor IF&WHEN you receive the daily service. Difficult to find a Manager, supervisors try to help but have no real authority.
Best staff on property are the breakfast bus boys
who smile, engage customers and actually seem to understand HOSPITALITY. Many of the front desk folks are pleasant enough but no one in this hotel is properly trained in customer service.
Hotel ad and desk staff boast of free wi-fi with out the need to log on.
Total fabrication! IF you're able to log on, you're dropped continuously or service is so slow your productivity drops to zero.
Addressing issues may or may not be resolved. And be very careful to read the small print before putting signs on outside your room door!
Suggest you stay anywhere but here.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
3.1 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area

Address: 5800 Shellmound Way, Emeryville, CA 94608-1912 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: £117 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel (completed May of 2015) is located at the foot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge near Oakland and Berkeley, California. Hyatt House Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area is within five miles of University of California Berkeley. Enjoy the beautiful views over the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Bay Street Emeryville Mall and MacArthur BART station. Emeryville offers a wide variety of retail venues and shopping destinations. The Bay Street Mall, East BayBridge Shopping Center and The Emeryville Public Market are all within a short distance from the Hyatt House. During your stay, you will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home, and our knowledgeable Front Desk Hosts are available 24 hours a day to assist with your requests. In addition, the H BAR welcomes travelers 7 days a week from 5pm -10pm, offering our new Sip+Savor Menu, featuring home-cooked comforts including gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new apps like the Tomato Mozzy Bread and more. A full bar is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Woodfin Hotel Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing