We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for just one night before boarding the Zephyr train to Chicago. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was great and the location was perfect. We had a 3 minute walk across the car park then across a pedestrian bridge (with elevator) to the station. Breakfast was included in the room price and was excellent (a good selection of cooked and cold food). This is a great place to stay if you are wanting accommodation before the train journey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    382
    151
    50
    37
See reviews for
517
238
61
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Unlike most hotels you'll find in San Francisco this one actually has very large rooms and even a kitchenette for those brave enough to cook something. You're a short walk away from the Bay Street shopping center which has everything you'll need to keep yourself busy and S.F. is just over the Bay Bridge.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the west side of the hotel as the east side can be a little noisier due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAV_IN_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel was great. We arrived early from the airport and they had a room available. We were on the train side of the hotel, but my husband enjoyed watching the trains go by, so it worked out fine for us. We didn't find it noisy at all, just an occasional Amtrak train horn. Breakfast was great and they had a wide selection of foods...great coffee. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom very nice and well equipped. I loved the room darkening shades that went down to the floor. The separate room set-up worked out well for us allowing one of us to sleep while the others watched TV. A couple of dinner spots were walking distance from the hotel. Overall, a great stay for our visit to Berkeley! HIghly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAMusicMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stay in a one bedroom suite, which was a very nice hotel room. Everything about the room was very nice. The morning breakfast which was included in our rate was also very nice. The only problem is that the Amtrak line was on our side of the hotel. We picked that side, because I was concerned about possible noise from the freeway, which is a bit of a distance from the hotel. So, I can't speak to how quiet the freeway side of the hotel is, but the Amtrak side was bad. I was awoken at least twice during the night by a train sounding its horn/whistle as it entered the Emeryville station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Aggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Overall a pretty nice extended stay hotel. Unlike some earlier reviews, my room was updated with new carpet and a pair of flatscreen TVs. Bed was comfortable, as expected, and water pressure in the shower was fine. I didn't use the kitchen but it seemed to have everything you'd need.

Staff was very nice and took care of issues with some guests who had been noisy and smoking promptly. I only did breakfast once and wasn't thrilled with it. Granted, it was near the end of the morning (~30 mins before the end of breakfast time) but the pancakes were getting crunchy.

As many others have written, try to get a room on the west (bay) side. I didn't mind the trains, but the window blinds have a gap above them which allows light to pour in. In other words, when the sun rises, so do you. That made me a bit grouchy in the mornings.

Overall I'd probably return, and would pay the extra bucks for a room on the other side.

Room Tip: Stay on the west side to avoid train noise and early morning light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeller521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have not stayed in their brand before and so had no expectations in particular - although have stayed at Hyatt Regency so I innocently sort of expected similar.
The staff were excellent in every way. That more than made up for any shortcomings. In fact the customer service was way better than I have had at many 4* hotels.
The rooms were bright and looked renovated - good standard. Had to change my room as it over looked the railway line which I felt would be noisy. They changed and gave me a very nice suite.
Slept early well and I would come here again.

The only drawback was having to cross over the railway track (via the flyover walkway) to get to the restaurants although they were worth the treck.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms facing there trail way line as they will be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCBR141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very clean. Rooms were very spacious. Breakfast was good. Quality coffee and tea. Don't expect much of a view. There's shopping near by. Staff were great with my numerous questions. Ideal location for us within 15-20 mins of where we needed to be.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank amy01998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area

Property: HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Address: 5800 Shellmound Way, Emeryville, CA 94608-1912 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville)
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel (completed May of 2015) is located at the foot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge near Oakland and Berkeley, California. Hyatt House Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area is within five miles of University of California Berkeley. Enjoy the beautiful views over the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Bay Street Emeryville Mall and MacArthur BART station. Emeryville offers a wide variety of retail venues and shopping destinations. The Bay Street Mall, East BayBridge Shopping Center and The Emeryville Public Market are all within a short distance from the Hyatt House. During your stay, you will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home, and our knowledgeable Front Desk Hosts are available 24 hours a day to assist with your requests. In addition, the H BAR welcomes travelers 7 days a week from 5pm -10pm, offering our new Sip+Savor Menu, featuring home-cooked comforts including gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new apps like the Tomato Mozzy Bread and more. A full bar is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Woodfin Hotel Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing