We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Berkeley/Amtrak”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great for Berkeley/Amtrak”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a couple of multi night stays, and although the hotel is basic the rooms are very big, and the hotel has most features incl a small pool area. They have a nice and cheap selection of snacks, drinks etc in lobby. Rooms have kitchenettes. 2 minutes walk across a walkway to Amtrak station Emeryville for those on any of those, like California Zephyr, or Coast Starlight as we did. Several restaurant and shops in the block around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gumball997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    388
    158
    50
    37
See reviews for
540
239
63
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Staff was polite, room was clean, and the hot breakfast was better than average. Nothing was spectacular, but it was a good value and I would stay here again on business. No complaints.

There are only a couple of dinner options in walking distance, but plenty if you have a car or use the free shuttles.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvinec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have been going to this hotel for the past five years or so. My granddaughter finally finished high school and ballet last year and this year our grandson graduated from high school so I do not know when we will be back. This year we discovered the rooms had new furniture and were even nicer. They were already quite nice but now even better. We love the fact that we do not have to go get ice, the frig. has an ice maker. The small kitchen is very handy with the microwave, sink, stove, etc. Near restaurants and stores, Trader Joes too. The train bothers others but not us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, NM
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very modern, clean, convenient, near restaurants, great pool, great beds, nice bathroom, excellent service, delicious varied breakfast. The rooms were very large. Small kitchen in the room.This was a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank entrejoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent two nights here for our daughters event at UC Berkeley. The room provided every amenity that we needed, and then some. There was plenty of space for our family of 4 for the weekend. Only complaint, as with most hotels, is the lack of lighting in the bathroom.
Definitely can't say enough good things about the hotel bar. The bartender knew his spirits and made us some pretty impressive drinks.
The exceptional service, reasonable rates, and convenience of this hotel will make it our top choice when in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank with5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The suite style rooms made our stay most enjoyable. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The included breakfast was very good, but I agree with others that it could have been changed up a little more. We were startled a couple times by the train whistle, when we had the windows open, but otherwise it was not bad at all, and we never heard it at night! The beds were pretty comfy! I never cooked a meal, but having the kitchen was a bonus for serving snacks when family visited. The location was perfect for our needs, with so many shops and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel provided 3 mile shuttle service to the Bart, Ikea, etc. We hardly used our rental car with the FREE Emeryville-G0-Round. Free parking, free internet, included breakfast, and the free shuttle were welcomed amenities that many of the five star hotels charge another $50+ a night. We plan to go back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side may be quieter and have more of a view, but the train noise was much less th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVETOROAM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel was very nice and the personnel at the front desk were way above our expectations.
The free breakfast was exceptional. I agree with another review about the restaurant/bar being closed during the day..We found places to eat and shop nearby. Great place to stay, especially since we were traveling by Amtrak.

Room Tip: Free wifi and a huge free breakfast. Microwave and frig in the room was a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ward133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area

Property: HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Address: 5800 Shellmound Way, Emeryville, CA 94608-1912 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel (completed May of 2015) is located at the foot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge near Oakland and Berkeley, California. Hyatt House Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area is within five miles of University of California Berkeley. Enjoy the beautiful views over the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Bay Street Emeryville Mall and MacArthur BART station. Emeryville offers a wide variety of retail venues and shopping destinations. The Bay Street Mall, East BayBridge Shopping Center and The Emeryville Public Market are all within a short distance from the Hyatt House. During your stay, you will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home, and our knowledgeable Front Desk Hosts are available 24 hours a day to assist with your requests. In addition, the H BAR welcomes travelers 7 days a week from 5pm -10pm, offering our new Sip+Savor Menu, featuring home-cooked comforts including gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new apps like the Tomato Mozzy Bread and more. A full bar is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Woodfin Hotel Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing