We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant clean rooms, decent neighborhood, easy access to SF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We picked Hyatt House based on other reviews on Trip Advisor. We were spending a few days in SF with our two grandkids. We also needed a decent place that was not too expensive, as rooms in SF can easily run $250. to $350. a night. "Budget" rooms (under $150.) often tend to be pretty gnarly, or in questionable neighborhoods. It was tough finding a decent room that wasn't insanely expensive. Hyatt House really fit the bill.

We got a room with a separate king-sized bed, with a pull-out sofa bed for the kids. The sofa beds are quite small (full size) so they will work okay for two kids, or one adult (unless the adults are tiny). Everything was quite clean. Our bathroom was really large and exceptionally clean. The kitchenette was really nice and had almost a full-sized fridge, not those mini-fridge things. We had a nice sized TV in the bedroom and the kids had their own TV, also large. Views were really nice from our floor (12th) even if we weren't looking at the bay. Kids liked the view at night.

The hotel itself is nice. Obviously it is not one of the luxury hotels, but it has a nice lobby. Also parking is free, which in SF (even at a hotel) is not always the case. Kids also liked the pool and hot tub (the pool is on the small side, but was fine for the kids). Getting to the Bay Bridge to get over to SF was a breeze (especially if you wait until 9:30 am after the rush-hour traffic). The neighborhood around the hotel is relatively clean and nice. Nearby you can find a Starbucks, Trader Joes, Public Market, and restaurants and stores, along with a big IKEA a few blocks away. We found a great place for coffee only 2 blocks away called E22 Cafe. Real ILLY italian coffee, and well made. They also serve sandwiches, but we did not try these. But the croissants we got were excellent!

Our only disappointment at the hotel was breakfast. The selection (variety) was nice, but the quality was low. Options included waffles or french toast, bacon/ham or sausage, scrambled eggs, juice, bagels, toast, english muffin, cereal, juice, yogurt, fruit. The waffles were dreadful (although the kids ate them). The scrambled eggs were really bad too. They tasted like artificial eggs - the kind that have been pasturized and dumped into 5-gallon buckets and then cooked on a grill. Ugh. Even the kids thought they were weird. The bread selection was really dreary. White bread, white english muffins, white bagels. No variety at all. Come on Hyatt, branch out a bit. How about raisin toast, or some onion or poppyseed bagels? Not every single piece of bread needs to be total boring white bread! The cereals were mostly the super-sugary stuff for the kids. OJ tasted pretty watered down. Coffee was so-so (too strong and not very warm). It was an economical way to feed the kids, it just wasn't that great for the two adults.

We loved the room for the price (we'll give that 4.5 stars), liked the neighborhood, but give breakfast only 2.5 stars. We would definitely stay here again. And we loved our coffee and croissants from E22 up the street.

Room Tip: Many people have complained about rooms on the railroad side. We ended up with a room on that side o...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sundari108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
There are newer reviews for HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this Hyatt House. We had a 2 queen suite. Plenty of room for a family of 4. We asked for and was given a view of the bay. Beautiful view of SF and the Bay Bridge. The hotel was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great. A little crowded but an extra room was opened up as needed.
Emeryville is an upcoming city. Lots of neighborhood restaurants and bars within a block or two from the hotel. There is a great outside mall within a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Traffic into and out of SF can be crazy, but this hotel is only 2 minutes from the Bay Bridge which made getting into the city as easy as possible.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We originally picked the Hyatt House, Emeryville just because it was next to the Amtrak station which we intended to use for our trip back east. It is only a short walk across a foot-bridge between the station and the hotel. But after staying there we would highly recommend it for anyone planning to visit San Francisco. We found the building to be in A-1 condition and the staff to be ultra friendly and helpful. The breakfast is above average and the laundry facilities are nicer than most. There is ample free parking and a free shuttle bus which took us to the BART station to ride into downtown. That was much better than trying to use a car in that city so we returned our rental car a day early and saved some money. We had no idea of how to get around before arriving, but the staff was very thorough in directing us in getting around. Be sure to ask for a room on the Bay side because the views are stunning. There are also many opportunities for shopping and restaurants within walking distance in a very clean neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor toward the Bay
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Everybody knows that San Francisco hotels are expensive, so if you are visiting SF for fun, you should consider HYATT house Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area. It's reasonablly priced, and just cross the bay from SF. As most of tourists don't get up early, you are not going to get traffic jam on the bridge with many other daily commuters.

We got the high floor one-bedroom with stunning ocean and SF view (sure, there are some medium high buildings and highway in front of us, but it really doesn't hurt our appreciation of the beautiful view). And our room also has pullout sofa bed and balcony. Full kitchen.

AC is quiet and powerful.

Breakfast selection was ok but adaquate.

Serivces are nothing specially but acceptable.

Free Parking!!!
Free Wi-FI ( not sure if it was because I am diamond member with Hyatt)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CoolDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is close to everything, has no-hassle, free parking and a free breakfast. Our king-bedded room was ample in size and had a great view of the bay. The decor is fresh and modern and the bed was comfortable. The walls were thin though, we had a connector room, not sure if that made a difference. I kept the AC on to help with the noise as we fell asleep. Earplugs were provided in the room which was a good idea but not really needed. The freeway noise outside was no problem, kind of like “white noise”. As for the breakfast, it was ok, not great, but for all the people being served, it was good. If you love bacon, sausage and eggs, you will be happy. It would be nice if they had some whole wheat bread for toast!! They had great coffee surprisingly. The staff were great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FamilleSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Very clean, great views and perfect for business travel. I don't mind trains and can sleep right through train noise, if you can't, ask for a room on the front. Earplugs come on the night stand with rooms on the back side. Don't let this deter you from staying here, this is nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front would be quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We used this hotel for changing Amtrak trains the following day. Directly across the tracks from the station is the Hyatt House. We arrived late into Emeryville, walked to elevator nearby and used the walkway to across over the tracks. In less than 5 minutes we walked with luggage from the train to the hotel. Because of late arrival we only had time to do laundry, drink some wine before going to bed. The next morning we had a very good breakfast provided by the hotel and walked back to the station to catch our next train. It is a nice hotel but only had a few areas that were a bit messy or not clean. It is overpriced in comparison to other nicer Hyatt hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
3.1 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area

Address: 5800 Shellmound Way, Emeryville, CA 94608-1912 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: £140 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel (completed May of 2015) is located at the foot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge near Oakland and Berkeley, California. Hyatt House Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area is within five miles of University of California Berkeley. Enjoy the beautiful views over the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Bay Street Emeryville Mall and MacArthur BART station. Emeryville offers a wide variety of retail venues and shopping destinations. The Bay Street Mall, East BayBridge Shopping Center and The Emeryville Public Market are all within a short distance from the Hyatt House. During your stay, you will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home, and our knowledgeable Front Desk Hosts are available 24 hours a day to assist with your requests. In addition, the H BAR welcomes travelers 7 days a week from 5pm -10pm, offering our new Sip+Savor Menu, featuring home-cooked comforts including gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new apps like the Tomato Mozzy Bread and more. A full bar is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Woodfin Hotel Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing