We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nights Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We are long Hilton Honors members but don't often stay in Hiltons because of where we travel. This was a conveniently located hotel with great rooms. Great beds/pillows. Perfect for our needs on this trip and likely many future trips back to this area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank amwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear TAmember, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. Please ensure you take advantage of all your benefits available to you as a member of HHonors. This is a great program, head and shoulders above other programs.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is a pretty average Garden Inn, but I give it good points for being very clean and for the incredible view of the bay bridges and San Francisco.

Check in was very quick, but cold and business like. "Are you aware of our $15 parking fee?" "Well, I am now." (Later I saw it was on the website. I had missed it.) That and a $15 breakfast and the bill adds up fast.

The common areas look worn but the room was very clean. A standard bathroom, again, very clean. The tub was literally shiny.

Pay the few extra dollars to get a bay view room. The view is worth it. And, there is no noise from the very close freeway on the other side.

Room Tip: Bay view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear VenturaTraveler13, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. I am sorry our staff was not their normal warm and welcoming selves when you arrived. We understand you are away from home and we try to be warm and freindly with all our guest. I will ensure you that I will discuss this with the team. Our hotel has great price value and if you compare us to the city, we are right down the best bargain in town. Being located just this side of the bay bridge we are a great alternative to the city.

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Never stayed anywhere as loud, from every aspect, as this hotel. Staff rude and abrupt. So called shiutle ends at 9:30 am...seriously. We did appreciate the abundance of outlets and fluffy towels. But no, never again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank overdoityks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear overdoityks, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. I would like to hear more about your experience while here at the hotel. I would like to personally talk to you and make things right. At your conveniance, please call me at 510-658-9300 and ask for the GM.

I look forward to your call.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here and had a nice view of the bay. The rooms were nicely sized, fairly clean, and quiet. The air conditioning system was nice because I could leave the fan on and have the constant white noise throughout the night. It is nicely located with restaurants, shopping, and a movie theater nearby. I will stay here again when I am back in the east bay area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chefjeffsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear chefjeffsd, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back real soon. You being a chef, we have several restaurants in the area that you might be interested in experiencing, just see our front desk for directions.

Thanks again.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you are looking to escape the high prices of San Francisco hotels and are willing to stay at a medium-grade property conveniently located literally right next to the entrance to the Bay Bridge, this hotel should definitely be on your list to price. In heavy traffic, it took us about thirty minutes to get to the SF financial district, and only took ten minutes to return to the hotel in light traffic. We paid 30-50% less than room rates in the city, and $15 per night in parking fees compared to properties in SF charging $50 a night. The room was clean, the front desk staff was nice and it was in a nice area (although most restaurants were a couple of miles away).

If you are looking for more than this, you will likely be disappointed. We have found that Hilton Gardens are generally very consistent from location to location. This was, however, the worst we have stayed at. It was like a Hampton or Fairfield Inn with glassware. Mind you--there is nothing wrong with a Hampton or Fairfield Inn. But anything that would take it up a notch from them is either missing or falls short.

The room was bright and decorated nicely, but not exceptionally. There were both a fridge and a microwave, but no safe in the room. Housekeeping did a nice job of keeping the room clean, but the ice bucket was not cleaned or replaced after our first night.

Be advised that the hotel has a "bay side" and a "mountain side". If we ever stay here again, having a bay side room will be a pre-condition, as "mountain-view" actually means "highway view", and the traffic noise is awful unless the unusually loud air conditioning unit is drowning it out. They even provide ear plugs for the "bay noise", which again is a euphemism for highway noise.

We had one meal at the restaurant, and I can not recommend it. However, I was impressed that the front desk listened to my concerns and refunded a generous portion of the meal's expense. No hotel is without incident from time to time, and perhaps the restaurant was having an off night. In any event, I will always count it as a positive when a hotel is willing to remove charges when a customer is unhappy with service.

Overall, this is a fine, money-saving alternative to staying within San Francisco. It may not be up to the standard that we have come to expect from this particular brand of Hilton or what I would expect for a room whose base rate started at $150/night, but it was still half of what we would have paid for a similar room in San Francisco (when parking is included). For that reason, I would consider staying here again in the future.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Jay B, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We enjoy detailed comments about your stay so we can address issues at the property. Although the property is in great shape, we continue to do improvements. Later this year we plan on doing some renovation in different parts of the hotel. I am sure it will be the modern look you are looking for. Until then, we will continue to give you the best service possible and offer great value to all our guest. As you experienced, if we come up short, please address it with a manager and we will do our best to correct it or adjust the price you paid for it.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The location of the hotel looking over Oakland bridge is magnificent in beautiful safe area emeryville ca.the hotel is an average 4 stars hotel with free parking nice front desk staff
Free average breakfast but the rate of hotel is over priced

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Khalad M, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. I see you traveled a long way to get here. We appreciate that you chose us out of all the options you have. We are very competitive in rates and offer great value when compared to the area.

We hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This hotel needs to spend some money to upgrade the windows. After complaining about the noise and asking for a different room (nothing available), i noticed there was a single pair of earplugs on the nightstand. A clever marketing notice suggested they were for use by those "unaccustomed to the sounds of the Bay" - like somehow it is my fault the 5th floor room is noisy. A terrible experience. They didn't even spring for two pairs of earplugs! Won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a "mountain View" room. It is really a freeway interchange room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear KevPat, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We appologize if you didnot enjoy your stay with us. Noise on both sides of the hotel are minimul. We offer the earplugs for those guest that are extra sensitive to noise. And yes, we have as many ear plugs as needed for the number of guest in the room you just need to call the front desk.

I would recommend to book early and request a bay view room. These rooms are at a premium and they do fill up fast.

We hope you give us another opportunity to earn your business.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
3.4 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge

Address: 1800 Powell St, Emeryville, CA 94608-1808 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: £85 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge is nestled on the waterfront at the foot of the historic San Francisco Bay Bridge in Emeryville, CA and boasts panoramic views of the Berkeley Hills and the San Francisco Bay. The hotel is conveniently located minutes from Berkeley, San Francisco, and Oakland and offers complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge Hotel Emeryville
Hilton Garden Inn Emeryville
Emeryville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing