We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I stayed in Hilton for 4 nights. No big complaints. The hotel is quite impressive. Big and clean rooms. Extremely comfortable bed and helpful hotel stuff. There is also free coffee or chocolate with cookies in the lobby. The area around is fine. Nice trails to exercise with terrific views of San Francisco. Now the not so good things. Location, location location. Difficult to access without a car. Its about 2 miles from Ashby metro station but the path is not safe, especially at night. Far from downtown Berkeley also. So if you go there without car rethink about it. However, the most embarrassing part for this hotel is its internet service. Especially at night the wireless internet at room was very disappointing. It was super slow. Well in that part this Hilton was like a cheap motel which always leaves a light on for you.
In summary the place is good. I focused mostly on the not so good things here because this Hilton is 5 star. I wouldn't be so picky if the hotel was a budget motel. Thanks.

  • Liked — bed
  • Disliked — location and internet
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank grevo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffCaldwell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, 11 February 2009
Thank you for taking the time to provide such valuable feedback. I was happy to read that you were pleased with the hotel, guest rooms, and amenities and that you enjoyed your stay overall. I was disappointed that you were adversely affected by the issue with our Internet connectivity that occurred last week. The issue has been addressed and resolved. We look forward to providing you with a perfect 10 experience on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    455
    205
    62
    67
See reviews for
303
269
107
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2009

I stayed at the Hilton Gardens in Emeryville, Ca from November 2008 till the end of January 2009. This has been the best place I have ever stayed in all my time as a consutlant (over 15 years). The service, food, bar and room were fantastic. I have never been treated with more respect and professionalism in my life. I was always greated by eveyone not just the Top management (Tiffanie Caldwell, General Manager) but the entire staff right down to the house keepers. I would and will recommend this hotel over any hotel in the United States. They make you feel safe and comfortable and treat your like a real person. It was certainly a great pleasure to stay there and really didn't want to leave!

Daniel Hanks, Senior Director , Hanks Consulting Group "HCG"

  • Liked — The entire facility
  • Disliked — Nothing. It was a Fantastic place to stay.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Hanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffCaldwell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, 4 February 2009
On behalf of the entire team at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, we would like to thank you for letting others know of your wonderful experience with our hotel. We were extremely pleased to read that our goal of providing our valuable guests with a perfect service experience was achieved throughout your stay. We sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We are a State Agency and have District Office in Oakland and Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge is a perfect location for all our meetings and conferences. The hotel is within walking distance to reasonable shops, international food court, and a fun place to check it out and provides a quick access to San Francisco. We have booked several programs and events to this hotel through out the year and not only for the locations but for excellent service they have provided us. We can start from their Sales Department, thanks to Ms. Anne Plamenco our sales person for giving us the opportunity to stay on this hotel at a State rate and a reasonable fee for our meeting space. You can’t imagine the experience we had when our meetings at the top floor with the view of the San Francisco Bay. We also want to extend our gratitude to the banquet staff and the guest reservations and front desk staff for being so helpful and friendly. We hope we can continue this especial relationship througout. We look forward using this hotel again for the coming year.

  • Liked — excellent service
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CCSSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffCaldwell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, 6 January 2009
We want to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge with others. We're extremely pleased to hear that our meeting facilities exceeded your expectations and that your meeting was a success. Thank you for mentioning the stunning views as well! We sincerely look forward to hosting your next event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

I just returned from my third stay at the Hilton Garden Inn - Emeryville. My husband does business in the area and has been staying at this hotel 2-3 times a month for nearly two years. He has tried other hotels when the Hilton Garden Inn was booked, but prefers this property to all others in the area. The rooms are spotless with nice amenities such as a refrigerator and microwave, the beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are well equipped and spacious. Other pluses are the free internet access, cookies in the afternoon and the complimentary Peet’s coffee in the morning.

I have to say what really sets this property apart from most hotels is the staff. You feel as if you are visiting a smaller inn where you would expect to receive very personal service. The staff is polite, professional and truly cares about your comfort and satisfaction. The General Manager Tiffany Caldwell is absolutely delightful; you will often see her greeting guests throughout the hotel. Thank you to the entire staff for making our visits so pleasant!

  • Liked — Genuinely warm service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PasoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffCaldwell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, 31 December 2008
We are extremely pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your many stays with us! Return guests are the core of our business, and we wouldn't be here without you. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other potential visitors. We sincerely appreciate the feedback, and we look forward to serving you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We contracted meeting space and guest rooms with the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge for an education seminar. This was a return visit for our organization because the service we had previously received was excellent. If the opportunity presents itself, I'm sure we will return to this property. Thanks to our salesperson, the banquet staff and guest reservations staff for making our seminar a success.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Event_Planner_Nov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffCaldwell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, 29 December 2008
Thank you for taking time to let others know of your great seminar experience at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. From beginning to end, ensuring that your meetings are a success is our top priority. It was a pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to hosting your next event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2008

I have been a guest for the past six weeks while conducting business in the area. The people here are absolutely great to work with, greeting guests upon each and every entry and they even know our names! The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The little extras like fresh hot coffee in the morning, apple cider in the evening, and cookies makes it feel like home!

  • Liked — Friendly environment and caring people
  • Disliked — Restaurant at hotel needs some changes
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelerNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffCaldwell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, 23 December 2008
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your wonderful experience at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge with others! We are extremely pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and that we have become your home away from home! Our goal is to always provide personalized service to our valuable long and short term guests, and we're proud to know that we've achieved that goal with you. Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to having you home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2008

First let me state that my reservation was made in advance and was confirmed with the Hilton website directly. When I arrived for check-in (3pm), I was told that the hotel was full and I would not be able to obtain the room in which I was promised. I could not understand how a confirmation was made and not upheld by this hotel. And to make things worst the manager did not explain how this could have happened or apologize for the inconvenience. This establishment treated me as though I did not matter, do to the fact that they were "full". I found the Courtyard Marriott of Emeryville to be an excellent alternative; the staff was great and the hotel was immaculate! Courtyard Marriott was a better choice by far for a direct view of the bay!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pontiacone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffCaldwell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, 16 December 2008
I want to take this opportunity to apologize for the unfortunate miscommunication that occurred with your reservations at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. I would very much like to discuss this further and offer some type of recourse. Will you please contact me at your earliest convenience at 510-658-8127? Thank you, and again, our sincere apologies for your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.0 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Address: 1800 Powell St, Emeryville, CA 94608-1808 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge is nestled on the waterfront at the foot of the historic San Francisco Bay Bridge in Emeryville, CA and boasts panoramic views of the Berkeley Hills and the San Francisco Bay. The hotel is conveniently located minutes from Berkeley, San Francisco, and Oakland and offers complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge Hotel Emeryville
Hilton Garden Inn Emeryville
Emeryville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing