We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty/dated lodgings at an exorbitant price”
Review of Sierra Woods Lodge

Sierra Woods Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emigrant Gap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sierra Woods Lodge
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here in late August on my way to a climbing/camping trip at Bowman Lake - got here Friday night so that I could get to the climbing area early on Saturday without having to drive all the way from San Francisco.

The hotel was easily accessible - right off the 80 - and a couple of exits from the road to Bowman Lake.

Unfortunately, the quality is definitely not worth the price - would have been much better off staying elsewhere or waking up earlier to make the drive from SF.

The hotel is old - and has not been maintained. The management also doesn't believe much in cleaning - the bed sheets had not been changed and there were very visible stains on the sheet (see photo) - ended up sleeping on the cover since that seemed cleaner than the sheets. The only chair in the room also had a huge, red stain (again see photo).

The accordion-style door to the bathroom cannot be closed from inside the bathroom - somebody in the bedroom needs to close it - and it is not even close to sound proof.

The location (right by the highway) in conjunction with the minimal sound proofing/single-pane glass means the every time a truck drives by - and quite a few of them do drive by on the 80 - you get to hear it. So unless you are a very deep sleeper - you may not be sleeping much.

Definitely not recommended for anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gitano-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I found this place by surprise. I have been going camping at a nearby lake for 25 years.
I wanted to go to the lake for the weekend, but didn't want to camp.

The lodge was basic and simple. I thought it was fine and it met all of our needs. It was quiet, peaceful and comfortable. The restaurant was good and they have a great coffee bar.

The rooms are a little small, but clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
I was impressed with this place. The price was maybe a little high, but its not that bad.
I would come back again and would recommend this place to others.

My only real complaint was the noise level from the staff was a little high in the morning. I kind of got the impression they don't expect people to sleep past 8a.

Room Tip: I liked rooms in the back for a better view of the mountains and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dirkee727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We called late in the night for availability after having to such luck at 10+ hotels near Tahoe. Very accommodating and sincerely helpful. Had a great night sleep and went to breakfast at their restaurant. Our waiter, Anthony, was extremely polite. Also better coffee then Starbucks! Great work, nicely done, keep up the good program your running :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saddlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I reserved this place online, This pretty much like a Motel and nothing closer to a cabin as it has been advertized. Staff is friendly and good, However the property itself is in dire shape, The interior rooms are closed to the Motel 6 ( equivalent to 1 -2 star ) and pricing for such rooms is pretty high, I paid ~$150 for one night.

Room Tip: Drive a further north
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manishmodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is a small, clean, nice Sierra hotel about 15 miles west of the cluster of ski resorts at Soda Springs: Sugar Bowl, Royal Gorge, etc. The room we had was small, but clean and well maintained. It cost right around $100, which for the area is on the low side. The hotel and restaurant folks we dealt with were cheerful and helpful. In the restaurant in the morning, they went out of their way to find something I needed that wasn't on the menu. Good coffee, too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very nice lodge, coffee bar was wonderful, food was fresh and delicious plus not greasy at all. Service was fast, friendly, and extremely pleasing....special coffee's, breakfast, lunch & dinner.
We had breakfast oh sooo good..want to try lunch and dinner now, can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DIANA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emigrant Gap
1.4 mi away
Snowflower RV Resort
Snowflower RV Resort
#1 of 2 in Emigrant Gap
203 reviews
19.5 mi away
Donner Lake Village
Donner Lake Village
#8 of 13 in Truckee
104 reviews
22.6 mi away
Truckee Donner Lodge
Truckee Donner Lodge
#7 of 13 in Truckee
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
24.9 mi away
Redlight
Redlight
#1 of 14 in Truckee
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Woods Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Woods Lodge

Address: 43440 Laing Road, Emigrant Gap, CA 95715
Region: United States > California > Emigrant Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Emigrant Gap
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Woods Lodge is easily accessible from Interstate 80. It has a rustic feel that is in the beautiful Sierra Mountains. Lake Tahoe is approximately 45 minutes with ski lifts nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing