We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday dinner”

Bentley's Steak and Chop
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentley's Steak and Chop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 297 Restaurants in Encinitas
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Encinitas Blvd.
Transit: Bentley's is easily accessible via the North County Transit System.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
937 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Wife took me here for birthday dinner. I took advantage of surf and turf Monday. And my filet and lobster tail were tremendous. Service was very good. But wife ordered tournedos Oscar and it was just ok. I tried it and didn't think it was good at all.

Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyJackk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old style steak house”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The steak here is very good but everything else is just ok.
The wife and I both had prime rib. She had baked potato and I had rice. The prime rib was well cooked and nicely seasoned. The potato was average and the rice was also average. The prices were a little on the high side but not to far out of line.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dfettner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Competition is much better”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

In SD north county there are lots of steakhouse options. Occasionally I'll try another one, but in this case I see reason to ever go back. The competition wins out handily. My rib-eye steak was gristly, tough and underseasoned. I complained to no avail. My partner's prime rib was OK, but not remarkable. They were out of two things we tried to order. Service was a bit uneven with some clear mistakes (a side of ice was delivered without a spoon). Why go somewhere that is OK when there are other choices (West's for instance) that are much better. The ambiance is above average, but dinner is about food. A more talented and experienced kitchen might be able to make something memorable of this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happycamper690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great to go with Family”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Had a lovely Mother's Day Dinner here with my two teen girls for Mother's Day. We sat outside as it was such a lovely evening, but I have also enjoyed lunch inside as well on a business meeting, For lunch I had a salmon special that was the best I've ever had. The menu has various choices - not just steaks. The best part is the price is reasonable and there are always coupons available for 15 dollar meals. (not available on holidays) This is the perfect place to come if you have family, large parties, and don't want to wait to be seated. The food is good, and the atmosphere is pleasant. It is one of those places I always think when I leave - "Why don't I come here more often"?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hosted a Party for 15”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The reservation was ready as described with all of our needs met. The wait staff were attentive and charming. We did a luncheon and the both the steak and chicken salads were generous and delicious. My steak was cooked to perfection. We love the ambiance at Bentley's and this is not the first time I have hostessed a party there. Brian, the manager was low key and easy to work with.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bentley's Steak and Chop also viewed

 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Bentley's Steak and Chop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing