We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bartenders paid more attention to the stemware than the guests!”
Review of The 3rd Corner

The 3rd Corner
Ranked #15 of 300 Restaurants in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bartenders paid more attention to the stemware than the guests!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We chose to sit at the bar and have a bottle of wine and some appetizers. The wine we chose was a Chardonnay so the bartender said she would keep it behind the bar to stay chilled. Each time our glasses were empty we had to wave our arms to get the bartenders' attention (yes, there were 2 of them). What were they doing? They were cleaning glasses. This was at 7 PM. Not anywhere near closing. Either they don't have enough glasses or the girls wanted to get out early that night.
We have been there a few times and when we have chosen to sit at the bar the bartenders seem almost disengaged. Don't get me wrong we don't need someone chatting it up with us the whole time, but a little attention to our empty glasses would be nice.
Will we go back? Probably not. Especially once we got the check and the only time we were asked how things were and I was honest about the service. We were shown how much she did not like the honesty by her slamming things and giving us snarly looks. I hate to give a review like this, but hopefully it will make it better for someone's experience in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank honeyb10195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    75
    18
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Nice wine bar with rich food”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Visiting the 3rd Corner on a Monday night, we were surprised at how full it was at an early hour. Most tables were occupied and diners were milling in the two retail wine rack sections. The young hostess assigned us a nice table, and in no time was an attentive waiter at our side explaining the menu and wine pairings.

We ordered a salad to get started. It was large, delicious with blue cheese crumbs and pecan nuts liberally sprinkled over it. Duck con fit on a bed of white beans and free range chicken with dumplings followed, but both entrées turned out to be disappointing. Both dishes were swimming in oil, rich, and heavy on the stomach. The Baguette bread pudding, with a chocolate chip crusted top and a side of Gelato came in a portion big enough to satisfy two. It was delicious. Wine we had selected pleased our palate.

All in all attentive service, nice ambiance and reasonable pricing did not outweigh our displeasure with the heavy handed use of oil on the Entrées. For that reason we will not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Quality Experience”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The wine is good, the food is great! It's a bit pricey, but it's because the quality is great. Semi formal-formal, or casual for wine bar. Great atmosphere, great hang out spot.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zeewoman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I love coming here. The wine selection is right up my alley, as are the unique cocktails specials. The staff is always super nice and have great recommendations. The food selection is not huge, but it is wonderful. It's not a huge restaurant area. We usually sit at the bar. We have always struck up conversations with people here too..not sure what it is about the bar that makes people want to talk. One of my favorite locations.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wine lovers paradise”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Are you tired of paying $50 for a restaurant wine that you can buy anywhere locally for $12? Well, that will NOT happen here! This should be the concept of the future for anyone who enjoys wine with your meal. It is a retail wine store with a HUGE selection that will serve you any wine they sell for retail plus a $5 corkage fee. In addition their food is excellent, the servers are knowledgeable and the ambiance is wonderful. This is our favorite local place and we have eaten here many dozens of times since it opened in Encinitas.. We have never been disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The 3rd Corner also viewed

 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to The 3rd Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing