We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Damn Good Pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ribbon Artisan Pizzeria

Blue Ribbon Artisan Pizzeria
Ranked #26 of 295 Restaurants in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Damn Good Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The pie is tasty, well made and the service was good, also nice selection of craft beers. Watch for their specials, can't be beat. Try the Bruschetta! you won't be disappointed

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wartfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    38
    12
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Interesting combinations of pizza's but the atmosphere and service could have been better.
The pizza's tasted really good, we shared three different ones between us, but we did feel they were expensive compared to others we had while in the area.
As we were on holiday we were eating out most days and so have probably scored this lower than if this was a one off evening out as we are comparing to other experiences in the days around this visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuckenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I've always been a fan of Blue Ribbon's pizzas, but a recent experience will prevent me from ever coming back. Their weekend manager, Kim, refused to honor their published happy hour prices due to a miscommunication about whether those prices were available for take out orders. That's not such a big deal in the grand scheme of things (though not the best customer service practice). What really amazed me was her flip attitude and rude treatment of my friend and me, and refusal to accept responsibility for the hostess' mistake. Furthermore, she simply cancelled our order rather than try to accommodate our order, and then lied about whether an owner or higher up was available to discuss what happened. In all my years of living in San Diego, this is the worst customer service I've ever been on the receiving end of, and I'll never go back to that restaurant as a result.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denisegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this pizzeria when in Encinitis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Excellent artisan pizza with fresh organic ingredients. Nice selection of craft beers. A must visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Specialty Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect from this small "Artesan" pizza place in downtown Encinitas. What you get are specialty pizzas not the usual heavy red sauce chain pizzas. If you're looking for something different but still in the Pizza family, this is the place. Very well made wood fired pizza crust with specialty toppings of your choice. Only draw back is that it is small and very noisy inside. Choose an outside table if you can. No reservations so be prepared to wait. You won't be disappointed if you do.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Ribbon Artisan Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ribbon Artisan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing