We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Raising the standards of coffee sipping in San Diego” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loftybean

Loftybean
Ranked #5 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Encinitas
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Raising the standards of coffee sipping in San Diego”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lofty brings in an upgrade in coffee bean quality, coffee preparation expertise, and impeccable service. Work in progress and I am sure there will be more refinement in their roasts and coffee prep with time. Major move up from the stale chains that offer 3rd class coffee grinds. Breakfast was fresh, local veggies, excellent preparation. Water served had "rancid" smell in all cups. Local water in San Diego can have that smell. Space it tight, design of flow could have been done better as people in line are standing around the tables. Overall excellent upgrade to Southern California coffees, and defiantly worth a repeat visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakeem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“THE BEST COFFEE IN ENCINITAS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our favorite local coffee shop. Not a chain, great coffee, great attitude, fun people, great shopping next door :) <3 it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cre8dnrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Best coffee in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I've been getting coffee at Lofty since they opened and haven't been disappointed once. It's by far the best coffee in San Diego. Don't be discouraged by the smaller food menu, everything is fresh, local, and seriously good!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shana5513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good house blend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had coffee there on Sunday morning I had the house brew the wife had a mocha latte that she said was delicious. We didn't realize they served food untill we had ordered our drinks what I saw coming out of the kitchen looked good but we were headed to the beach for a walk. We would like to go just to try some breakfast fare.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tmoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and Mocha latte.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This place has high quality ingredients bursting with delicious flavors! Be prepared to wait in line and search for a spot to sit, but once you place your order the food arrives quickly. Well worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loftybean also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Loftybean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing