We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Great service.”
Review of Flat Rock Eats and Drinks - CLOSED

Flat Rock Eats and Drinks
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Trevor was really helpful in setting up a lunch table for 13. The appetizers (duck flautas especially) were really tasty, the passion fruit ice tea was refreshing, and the environment was comfortable. Everyone loved their food - from the pulled pork to the jerk chicken to the salads. We've heard they have a great happy hour and, from the appetizers menu, we'll have to do research to make sure that's true! :) We enjoyed Flat Rock and would recommend it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsearle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our waitress was attentive and helpful.
She recommended the Cilantro Coleslaw. Cilantro is not my favorite but I tried the slaw anyway and she was right, Yummy! I ordered the Short Rib dinner. The Kale and Garlic side dish was to die for! I would gladly eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, amazing happy hour”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stopped in this place on our way up to Carlsbad. We found a fabulous happy hour! We ordered duck floutas, which were awesome and served with interesting cilantro cole slaw and yummy sauce. We also got the pork shanks with hot sauce and blue cheese dressing, carrots and celery. These were amazing. The dessert was banana floutas and these were so good! They had ice cream, mango puree, and chocolate sauce and a little fresh fruit. I'll be thinking of these for a long time! We ended up coming back again a few days later and got the same items again in addition to the grilled shrimp. This is a great little spot, very excellent service. You can sit inside or out, at the bar or at a table. If we lived here, this would be a regular stop!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jules1LasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Will be Back for SURE”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This place has a nice, relaxed ambiance since the windows open up and locals can bring the pup in for a stroll while they eat. It is also right near the water over the freeway so its a nice little spot. It's a bit plain though, not alot on the walls and not very much happening other than TVs over the bar. The food...O M G. We tried to duck flautas because the gentleman next to us had this unbelievable plate and they were AMAZING. The cole slaw sauce? To die for. We cleaned the plate. The burger was large and sufficient, though a little undercooked. The chicken sandwich was good but nothing culinary magic. The flautas though? My god. So good. The dessert flautas were great too. We plan to go back for a different meal and of course to eat the flautas again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This fairly new restaurant was a real discovery for us. The food is delicious, the staff courteous and accommodating. Most important was that everything was served piping hot and exactly as ordered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SB4Vols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flat Rock Eats and Drinks also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing