We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth EVERY dollar!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I arrived in San Diego with no reservation and was driving along the 101 highway, saw the Econolodge and had to stop and inquire about the rate. To my surprise this property was reasonable being in the area it was...ONE BLOCK FROM MOONLIGHT BEACH, walking distance to all kinds of restaurants and MINUTES TO DEL MAR RACE TRACKS. Since all the other properties around the area were at lest $20 more, I decided to stay here.

The owner and his wife were working the front desk and they were VERY friendly, FULL of information regarding the area, things to do, where to eat and events that were happening that week in San Diego. VERY HELPFUL. The pool was crystal clean, the room was spotless and had no odor, VERY CLEAN AND CRISP. Breakfast was perfect!

I recommend checking out this Econoldoge and meeting the owner and his wife. I plan to stay again whenever I get back to Encinitas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for liking our services. We would like to think that we are at par with those expensive hotels. By maintaining the cleanliness of Econo Lodge Encinitas and by providing the very best quality of services, we can guarantee that guests who are staying here are very much comfortable and satisfied with what they pay for. We value your business with us that is why we want you to enjoy while you are away from home. Thank you and see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

We checked into this hotel on the night of June 14th around midnight. We had to wake up the night desk clerk to show us a room. The room was pretty clean but very worn out!! We went down to breakfast and they had a small counter with a few items on it and trays to take back to your room to eat. With a family of three children I didnt find that very convenient at all since we had to sit on our beds to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy1585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge Encinitas. We really appreciate your honesty and we can assure you that these concerns of yours will be taken cared of so that when you decide to come back, you surely will have a great stay. Reviews like this are a great help in improving our business. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Everything about this hotel is average or a bit below. If you aren't desperate, choose another one. No elevator, beds mediocre, breakfast mediocre, not real close to the beach, and the fridge hadn't been cleaned out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaybee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We really apologize if you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We respect your opinion and in fact, we have discussed all the concerns that you raised on your review. The next time that you will come here, you will definitely have a great time. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms in the hotel, which helped ease the pain of being in town during San Diego's worst weather in years, raining all day the three days we were there. Great breakfast selection for the space they have available, only a couple blocks from the beach, and walking distance to a multitude of great shops (Lou's Records, Ducky Waddles, and Pannikin were some fav's).

A bit out of the way from downtown San Diego, but great as a base for heading south to there and north to Temecula if wine's your thing.

I'd gladly stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InkedGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity of providing your accommodation needs.
Your positive review assures us we have made a good effort to ensure our guests are comfortable and have great experience in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

I spend about 40-50 nights a year in hotels across the nation, and this is the first time that I had zero complaints with the facility. The owners treated us like family and ensured all was perfect. They were quick to respond to all our requests. Closest easily accessible beach was less than a mile, there is one two blocks away, but, you have to go up alot of stairs. My only suggestion would be to add a business center and more pillows. But it is an econo lodge. good wi-fi- though.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alyvenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am so lucky to have staffs that enjoy their job and cares about the guests that stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Stayed for 15 nights while in town for a two week yoga teacher training and everything was perfect: 4 minute walk to Stone Steps beach through a quiet neighborhood, friendly front desk staff, free Wi-Fi that always worked, super, super clean room, simple breakfast, quiet room which overlooked a neighborhood with trees (all rooms have screens and double paned windows).

The in-room coffee maker, microwave and fridge in the kitchenette were very helpful during my long stay. It was great to have the A/C, though I only needed it three nights out of fifteen. I highly recommend this hotel for short/long stays. I stayed in a top floor, off street facing room and would recommend that to folks who are light sleepers as the trains run across the street BUT they stop around 9:30PM so it should not be an issue regardless of which way your room faces unless you like to take naps in the afternoon :-)

The best part: you can walk along Stone Steps and Moonlight beach to downtown Encinitas in about 20 minutes - that's a great way to get there without the hassle of driving and trying to find parking.

Even recommended this place to a fellow yogini in the training and she had a great stay as well.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleanairgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you very much for the heart-warming review on our effort to implement further improvement in the services we provide for all our guests. Your input showed we have sufficed quality accommodation well deserved by all our guests for giving us your business. And thank you so much in recommending our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Great location but the beds are awful. Dirty room. Wash basin located in main room so that you had to go out of the bathroom to the main room to wash your hands after using the facility. Offers weekly rates to local transients. No TV guide on TV or in room so was difficult to watch TV. Outlets difficult to use for computer. Refrigerator did not work properly. Would not stay here again ever!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jalee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to share your views about our Hotel. Reviews such as yours are most welcome and it motivates us even more to further improve our services that our guests have enjoyed over the years we are in the business. It is unfortunate that we never had the opportunity of providing the accommodation to your exacting preference but we assure you that we are as well most capable of providing flawlessly, superb quality of service to all our valued guests. We appreciate your time in sharing your views about our hotel. We look forward to another opportunity of providing accommodation to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Encinitas hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
0.7 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn - Encinitas
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#8 of 9 in Encinitas
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach

Address: 410 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-2529
Region: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range: £50 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for pleasure or business, come stay at the Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach…experience friendly customer service and relaxing accommodations at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Encinitas
Encinitas Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing