We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$112
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$361
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
173
145
47
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
145
47
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone stepsroom was cleanmoonlight beachbagelswalking distance to restaurantssmall hotelfarmers marketcontinental breakfastshort walkwould definitely stay here againgreat value for the pricebudget hotelnice staysan diegocoffee makerlate at nightfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A very nice econo lodge,and fairly priced given that places near the beach are always more cost wise.The family who run the place seem very very nice,and you can see from all sides that they run a very tight ship.The place is very clean and safe.The room was small with one bed for my daughter and self,the bathroom was clean and appointed with granite shower and vanity top but for some reason the shower head was down very low,I am short,but had to kink my neck to get my head under it.They do night provide conditioner just shampoo.The bed was ok but the pillows were of the inexpensive puffy kind.After a wonderfully day at the beach we were happy to return here.There is a whole foods down he coast nearby.The breakfast is not their strong suit very minimal but eatable.I'd be ok with staying here again although there other places in the same price star range nearby that I would probably prefer,by the virtue of a bigger room.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Stevo3808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest
We really appreciate your time in making this review. We are happy that you have chosen to stay at Econo Lodge and the good thing is that you had a great time during your stay. We always make sure that our place is clean and cozy to make our valued customers feel like home. We will make sure that we will maintain the services that we have and further identify our flaws for us to better serve on your next stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We arrived in Encinitas much earlier than expected (approx. 1pm) and had no problem checking in early. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. I was a little concerned about the train directly across the street from the hotel but this was not a disturbance at all as the train is a commuter train with only 2 or 3 cars, it is very quiet and you only hear it slightly if your window is open (not at all if your window is closed and have the fan/ac on). Continental breakfast was sufficient and well maintained, hotel is located a very short walk thru a beautiful neighborhood to a wonderful beach that is not at all crowded. Hotel is very close (walking distance) to many restaurants and a very short drive or slightly longer walk to downtown Encinitas. Easy access to I5 to explore the San Diego area. Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time in writing this wonderful review. We would like you to know that we are happy that you had an excellent time during your stay. Our goal is to provide our customers great accommodation, affordable but impeccable service, clean and cozy location. We are glad that you have experienced that. We are looking forward on your next stay. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

At this time of year alot of the hotels near the beach are booked and very pricey. Even the "modest" hotel/inn we usually stay at was charging over twice as much. I felt pretty lucky when I found a room through AAA and so we were going to be able to escape the 107 degree heat for a couple of days.Front desk was very pleasant and welcoming. When entering room it didn't have that "Air Freshner" smell, the decor was cheerful, furniture was a pretty wood, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and both carpet and tiling was clean. Complimentary breakfast had some of the best coffee, fresh bagels, etc., was ample. another bonus was the cathdral ceiling as it's really easy to stand up your surfboard, if you surf, like my husband does:) Will return to this location, for sure, and hopefully, sooner than later! Janet H. Sun City,ca

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet92586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending some time in making this feedback. We are glad that we have provided you the services that you deserve. Our customer service staff is committed to provide you assistance all throughout our customer’s stay. It is also nice to know that you as our valued customer had a great time during your stay with us. We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This hotel was fine. The room was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. It felt a little faded (i.e. carpets/bedding/curtains). The tiny swimming pool is in the parking lot in front of the hotel and adjacent to the main road, so not relaxing or worth using, especially since the beach is not far. It seemed a little overpriced. The rooms are bigger than the Days Inn, but it feels a little shabbier. The location is a little further out of the town, so not within walking distance of the Encinitas restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time in making this review. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. We assure you that this feedback will be discuss on our management meeting for us to identify our areas of improvement for us to provide quality services. Despite your experience during your stay, we are still looking forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here one night en route from downtown San Diego back up to SF Bay Area and was favorably impressed by how nicely maintained this hotel is. Looks like the rooms were recently renovated (carpeting, bathroom tiles, granite counters, and shower walls looked very new) and you get the sense that the management takes pride in keeping the facility in excellent condition. Front desk staff was very helpful and courteous.
Even though it's on a busy road, once we got in to our room (2nd floor, northwest corner) we were impressed by how quiet it was. Room felt spacious, beds were comfy. Short walks to restaurants and beach. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilyCatsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking some time in making this great feedback. It is so flattering to know that you really had an awesome stay here at Econo Lodge. We would always want you to enjoy our services, great accommodation and impeccable customer service staff that could provide you assistance all the time. Rest assured that we will maintain our services and improve what needs to be improved. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews