We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$358
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$287
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
173
146
47
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
146
47
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone stepsroom was cleanmoonlight beachbagelswalking distance to restaurantssmall hotelfarmers marketcontinental breakfastshort walkwould definitely stay here againgreat value for the pricebudget hotelnice staysan diegocoffee makerlate at nightfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed one night. The family running the hotel were very nice and very helpful. The beach access was not real convenient. Lots of steps to go down to get on the beach...over 100. Best to drive down to the beach access, free parking, and then you can go down the ramp. The rooms here were fine. A little small but They were clean. Air conditioner wasn't that great. This hotel was in walking distance to some places to eat and had some shops. No place to sit to eat breakfast, had to eat in your room. Out room had a small table with chairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailL256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Your reviews are important to us and we definitely give utmost attention to our guests’ concerns. I sincerely apologize about the air-conditioner and about no place to sit for breakfast. We assure you that instances such as this are promptly evaluated and addressed accordingly. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had enjoyed a brilliant Route 66 road trip and had 6 days to spend before returning home to Ireland. My lovely partner had been in Southern California many years ago and as I had not and she recommended it we decided to have 3 days in Encinitas and 3 in San Diego. We were not looking for luxury in Encinitas but a comfortable base to look around and the Econo Lodge fulfilled that reguirement excellently. It is on the highway just a short distance from the centre and only a short walk to the fabulous beach. It has its own swimming pool. The rooms are comfortably furnished. The owners are a delightful, shy, slightly formal, but friendly family and it is clear that they do their best to maintain high standards in the hotel. For what you get it is very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you very much for the heart-warming review on our effort to implement further improvement in the services we provide for all our guests. Your input showed we have sufficed quality accommodation well deserved by all our guests for giving us your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This nice little motel is within five minutes walk to beautiful Encinitas beaches. Our king size room was equipped with microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, ironing board in addition to a nice wide screen TV and a lot of shelfing space for storage. Our second floor room facing the ocean allowed us to open the window and enjoy the ocean breeze.

The front desk personnel were efficient and very friendly and the continental breakfast was definitely above average.

I am also very pleased with their additional charges for pets as I do not wish the hotel to be trashed up by too many pets. I applaud the hotel's policy of charging additional fees for pets. I witnessed more than one dog poops near the hotel (but not on hotel's ground) and it was not pretty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkywalkerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

It is with utmost sincerity that we extend our heartfelt gratitude for openly sharing to us your wonderful experience while staying with us. It is our ultimate goal to attend to the needs of our valued guests in the best possible way, so that we may ensure their comfort at all times. Thank you for commending us on the great service we have given you, and for appreciating our rooms and for particularly enjoying the location in total. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed one night here. I had booked on a website and when I arrived with my paperwork, they said I owed more..needless to say, after about 10 minutes they relented as I had it in writing what I was quoted...other than that, was great..surprised how quiet it was..heard someone coming up the stairs after 10 p.m. but slept well. Had room 210 which was large, had a refrigerator, microwave too. Rooms have been updated and my room was clean and tidy. Walk to lots of places!

Room Tip: I had room 210 which was upstairs and in front, but the traffic didn't bother me at all. I don't like people walking above me! Was spacious and sunny!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aztravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Ensuring your comfort and convenience is what drives us to work hard in giving you a pleasantly memorable experience to remember. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and giving us your candid feedback. The appreciation you gave with regards to liking our spacious and tidy accommodation is indeed heart-warming. We wish to let you know that your feedback motivates and inspires us to constantly work on improving our services to serve you better. We hope that we may be able to be of service to you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Encinitas Econo Lodge is just off the quite busy Coast Highway, and is a little bit out of town - it took us about 20 minutes to walk to the centre of Encintas. The room price is very reasonable, however, and the rooms are clean, tidy and well presented. Breakfast is included in the room rate; it's a very simple buffet affair served on a counter in reception, but the coffee is good and the fruit is fresh - good enough to set you up for the morning. There's an ample free car park with a small swimming pool at the front of the hotel too - bonus!

Encinitas itself is a lovely town with some great shops, restaurants and beaches. You can walk from the hotel to the famous "Stone Steps", leading to a quiet beach - it only takes five minutes tops. Also the world renowned San Diego Botanic Gardens (formerly known as Quail Gardens) are just a few minutes away by car, and are definitely worth a visit. La Jolla is about 20 minutes away on a good day, 30 mins in traffic.

Service at the Encinitas Econo Lodge is friendly and professional - we'd definitely stay here again. Oh yes, there are irons and ironing boards in every room. Big plus for this, as I like to press my clothes and look smart after the long journey from Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CotswoldFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

The appreciation you have for your great stay in total is precisely what we are striving towards. We want you to come stay with us and leave feeling rested, relaxed and comfortable, in terms of both how you feel about your room and how you feel about the money you spent. We wish to always give you the best service there is to offer. Thank you for commending our very reliable staff and appreciating the served breakfast. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews