We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveller reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveller reviews.

“Nice few days in Encinitas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Reviewed 23 August 2014

You really can't beat the location without doubling the rate. Cute, comfy room with fridge. Friendly staff, parking, wifi and all the usual mid-range amenities. My ground floor room was quiet but needs sheer-curtains on the window to give light and privacy. Pet friendly is a huge bonus but you do pay for it. Breakfast was basic and fine, not a zoo like some places. The staff was accommodating and always friendly! We'll be back.

Room Tip: Upstairs for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank west_coast_traveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful and welcoming as possible. It is a key ambition of ours to ensure that pet friendly never equates to a lower level of service and cleanliness and I’m glad that you found our efforts to be successful. We are glad your stay was comfortable and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were visiting family in Cardiff and spent 3 nights here. Although it is not particularly attractive from the outside, the rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. We love the many great restaurants in the area and love returning to our former hometown. The front desk was very friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

I am so glad we were able to provide you with the level of customer service you should expect and deserve. Thank you for the kind feedback regarding our rooms and our nice location. Please come back and see us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for two nights. While at first sight the place looks a bit run down - our handicapped parking spot was right next to the trash - the rooms were actually in great shape and very clean. The hotel is 5 minutes from the beach and there are plenty of nice restaurants in the vicinity, we tried the hapi-fish a block away and their happy hour was great! What wasn't obvious from the maps was that the 5 minutes to the beach involves about 100 feet of drop with stairs only. For our wheel-chaired member of the party that was impossible, so we ended up driving still. The trains seem to stop at night and the road wasn't a bother either, despite our room being closest to the road. The pool seems a lot bigger on the pictures, but with the beach so close that is not an issue.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for your compliments, rating, and review of our high housekeeping and cleanliness standards. It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to impress you with our hospitality, comfort, and convenience have been successful. We are so glad that your stay was peaceful and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was my third visit this summer. A perfect stop before entering the busyness of San Diego. A great walk to Farmers Market on Sundays, the beach and into town. Rooms are clean, breakfast quick and convenient. The front desk staff has been very accommadating.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your recent experience at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we appreciate your business. We hope to see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is my favorite Encintias property, and trust me, I have tried them all! I stay in a room with a nighborhood view on the first floor, and have never been disappointed. These rooms are quiet and spacious. On my last visit, I noted many changes to the property. The rooms were updated with new bedspreads, new toilets. The breakfast room is new, and was a nice improvement. Nothing fancy, but there was a choice of cheese, pastries, muffins, cereals, milk & juices, and hot beverages. There are also wahsers and dryers for guest use now. And there is a serene fountain right near the front office/reception area. The best thing is the staff. Quiet and lovely people. Friendly and responsive. And the maid service is always terrific. I don't see much changeover in the hoseekeeping staff, and recognize them each time I stay here. Sadly, this property is rarely discounted or listed as a Hotwire hot rate spot or available with Priceline bids, and in summer months can be more expensive than PRICELINE discounted rooms. I will be back in the area in 10 days, and got a room at a luxurious La Jolla hotel for $40/night less than the Choice hotel rates for this property. I'll be back in the fall though to stay at this quaint place near the beach! (They are always nice to my well behaved Labrador retriever too!)

Room Tip: I like the first floor rooms with interior corridors on the neighborhood side, away from the Coast H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ambul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful, and welcoming as possible. I have shared your compliments with our staff and thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize them for a job well done! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our pet-friendly atmosphere and hospitality. We appreciate your loyalty and we are looking forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The clean accommodations and a dedicated staff in a perfect location close enough to the beach to walk in any weather made this a wonderful place to stay. We will definitely recommend this motel to our friends and we definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthamoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you so very much for writing this review. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are so glad the location was perfect for your needs and that everything was so enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived at almost 10:00 PM and were greeted by the staff who was very pleasant and welcoming, even for such a late arrival. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Very relaxing with a good continental breakfast and easy check-out.

Couldn't ask for more, and at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank favtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We pride our hotel in the level of service and accommodations we provide so it is so wonderful to hear that we exceeding your expectations in every way. Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and cannot wait to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Encinitas hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
0.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn - Encinitas
0.7 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
254 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#7 of 9 in Encinitas
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach

Address: 410 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-2529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range: £55 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Platinum Award-Winning Econo Lodge, an Encinitas hotel just 2 blocks to Encinitas Beach and the ocean. The Econo Lodge hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to Moonlight State Beach. This breath-taking wide, sandy beach offers swimming, surfing, fishing and picnicking along with fire pits for roasting marshmallows and hot dogs. This charming Encinitas, CA hotel is conveniently located near popular area attractions including all San Diego beaches, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Sea World, Del Mar Race Track, Del Mar Fairgrounds, Legoland, The Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Quail Botanical Gardens, and La Jolla along with Marine Corps Base Camp Pendelton, Oceanside Harbor, and Cabrillo National Monument. Additionally, San Diego International Airport is 27 minutes from the hotel and McClellan-Palomar Airport is only 8 minutes away. Experience historic downtown Encinitas, established in 1881, featuring antique shops, art galleries, quaint pubs, surf shops, charming coffee shops and amazing restaurants along with historic landmarks such as La Paloma Theatre. Come experience this Platinum Award-Winning hotel’s newly renovated spacious rooms equipped with granite vanities, microwave, refrigerator, 37" Plasma TV and much more in every room. This is a 100% non-smoking facility and rooms are also available for the physically challenged. Senior, AAA/CAA, Corporate and Weekly rates are offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Encinitas
Encinitas Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing