We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Queen Creek, United States
1 review
“Great Value”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Close to beach and downtown Encinitas. Walk to all! Large room with ocean view and balcony. Clean, casual and friendly. Not perfect, but for the money hard to beat this hotel. Easy access to highway, covered parking as well. This is a nice place to get out of the congestion of San Diego, but be close to attractions and walk to clean family friendly beach. We have stayed twice and had nice time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Robert B
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Encinitas is a special place. It is tucked away and is a treasure. We are nicely located near Moonlight Beach, 3 blocks away and 1 block away from the historic downtown Encinitas.
We do offer a wonderful value here with all the amenities that we offer: Free Wi-Fi, Free Parking, Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Free State of the art Fitness Center, Jacuzzi, Pool and balconies from every room. We do hope to see you again. Thank you for being a valued guest.

Warmly,
Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    210
    82
    61
    27
See reviews for
279
142
28
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

There was a fight which turned into a girl getting ran over by a car right below our balcony. We lost several hours sleep. Also they did not honor waiving the pet fee at check in even with a confirmation email printed sheet. Had to email the general manager twice for refund. He did finally honor it even though it hasn't hit my bank yet. Female staff couldn't even direct us to our room as well. Geez!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sir,

We are sorry for your experience here at Best Western Encinitas. It was a most unfortunate experience here at the hotel. This was the first time, that we have ever heard of anyone obtaining such an injury on site. This was an issue between the guests in the room, not by the hotel employees or staff. It was a situation that we could never have foreseen. We do apologize for this occurring, but we could not have known. We have many families that stay here and seniors. We pride ourselves on being a safe, comfortable hotel in a safe town.

We did apologize to you and many others. We find it unfair that you write this review, seeing that we apologized to you and refunded the pet fee, although it is required for all guests staying at the hotel who do have a pet. The occurrence was not the fault of the hotel, but rather the guests who were occupying the room.

We are in process of renovating the hotel and we do hope you will return.

We are sorry for the negative impression that you had.

Best Western Encinitas Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

For the price and size of room, it's hard to beat this hotel. It's easy to walk to all of the restaurants and beach in Encinitas, and it's very convenient to the freeway, so it's a good base. The balcony is incredibly large, too. My room
(101) was definitely in need of updating, though. There were workmen onsite, so I think they're in the process of renovating. Definitely request a room facing the ocean if possible, or at least facing away from the train tracks. Even with my few issues, I would stay here again for sure. For the price, you cannot beat this anywhere in the area. Friendly staff, covered parking, free internet--it's a good value.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Best Western Encinitas is close to everything with a caring and well-informed staff. We brought our very old pooch for a last outing and all the staff were very helpful and sensitive. This isn't a brand-new hotel, but our room was very clean and spacious with a huge balcony that our old puppy thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is an older motel that is being updated and maintained. No bath tubs, shower only. We stayed last year and this year for several days each time. The price jumps during the horse racing season. Walking in area is great. Excellent family park across the road. Eateries, beach, shops and groceries easily available by walking or driving. Freeway access and coast hwy. within blocks. Balconies with each, face NW to NE. NIce views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Warren D

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It means a lot to us and does help future guests in getting to know our property prior to arrival. We are in the process of renovating it is true. We are very pleased to improve our wonderful hotel. We have amazing views and the location to the beach and downtown Encinitas is amazing. Our third floor kings are all newly renovated showers, but we do have bathtubs on our second floor, with the two queen beds and we do have bathtubs on our first floor with our one bedroom suites. Part of the hotel is park view and part is ocean view all of which have large, private balconies. We are proud of this hotel and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you for being our guest.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Excellent hotel. Clean, refurbished rooms, very comfortable beds. Front desk staff friendly and very helpful. Good choices at breakfast and excellent coffee. I have no bad things to say, the hotel is convenient to many locations, right off the 5 and right up the road from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Lnyda H

Thank you for being a repeat guest and writing another fab review. We appreciate your continued business and value you as our guest. We are glad you enjoy the coffee, hotel and location. We are in the process of updating our entire third floor showers, with travertine tile, glass enclosed shower doors and rain shower heads. We are also have other plans on the property for improvements. We look forward to serving you again.
Warmly,
Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is nice, clean mid-priced lodging. It is being renovated and I think the room we stayed in had already been done. The room was large enough not to have to turn sideways to get around beds and had nice storage for clothing and other belongings. Our room had two queen beds, a large chest of drawers/TV cupboard (though no TV in it), a desk with desk chair, a nice sleeper love seat, a wall hung flat screen TV of good size, floor lamp, a small refrigerator (too low to be used by some) and a nice small safe.

We left a day early because the room was not comfortable for us. It had an odd layout and was missing things like an end table for your coffee next to the sofa. You also couldn't see the TV from the sofa as it was on the same wall as the television. Not being able to find a place to sit and read inside the room, I walked out onto the large deck. It was a lovely February day and I thought I might be able to read there. On the deck there was a chair, chaise and small table. All were covered with either what ever happens to metal and plastic at the beach or dirt. Whatever, I didn't want to sit there. That said, my almost adult sons didn't seem to care, they could get down to find drinks in the refrigerator and didn't seem to mind sitting on the bed to watch TV, play with their iPads or hang out.

As for the comfort of the furniture, the love seat was supportive and comfortable. The beds though a very soft foam seemed fine. At least my back didn't hurt in the morning! The old furnishings still in the room had problems, the desk was a bit high for the wonky desk chair and the elevated plugs on the desk did not work. One other glitch was the internet. It wouldn't stay on and I had to keep reconnecting my laptop and iPad. Still it's free and that is a plus.

This hotel also has a lovely pool area. I heard families with children happily playing in the pool. I swim in the ocean every morning all year long and am not put off by cold water, but my children were. And, to tell you the truth, the pool isn't shaped for lap swimming and I gave up as well. The jacuzzi is very small but comfortable. I noticed a fitness center on the hotel map though I never went to see it.

The breakfast served is adequate though not good. I always like the do-it-yourself waffles and they did have those. But, the scrambled egg tacos filled with awful cheese were terrible though it was fairly easy to scrape the cheese off. The bacon was that kind you can read your newspaper through and barely cooked. The rest of the fare was fairly standard, bread for toasting, bagels, child friendly cereals, yogurt and apples. The hot water was lukewarm and I didn't taste the coffee. All of that said, we were very busy and we found something to take the edge off as lunch was hours away. It was adequate.

All in all, I might stay here again if I had to stay in this area though I'd probably go for more than one room and hope another layout would suit our needs a bit better. The Best Western Encinitas is clean and nice, a solid three checker.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms on the west end of the property have some distant ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbelt, Front Office Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear KateS7
Thank you for your candid review. We do appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are glad the location of the hotel served your needs. We are implementing upgrades and remodeling some of our hotel rooms currently. We have added travertine tile and glass shower doors to our third floor king rooms. We are looking forward to all the improvements we will offer and invite you to return.

Warmly,
Christina Beltran 760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.1 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#8 of 9 in Encinitas
36 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach

Property: Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Address: 85 Encinitas Blvd, Encinitas, CA 92024-3625
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque shoreline of Moonlight Beach, Encinitas Inn & Suites, a Best Western International Hotel, is the perfect place for business or pleasure. Just 30 minutes from the San Diego International Airport, the hotel is at the center of all major San Diego attractions. We at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites in California pride ourselves in providing prompt and friendly service to our customers. Enjoy your visit in Encinitas while staying in our comfortable and spacious rooms of Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites equipped with all the amenities you'll need. Check out the current rates and visit our specials for the latest discounts available to our online visitors. All the rooms at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, remote controlled cable television including HBO, king and queen size beds, coffee maker, hairdryer, refrigerator, air-conditioning etc., make your visit memorable and relaxing. King and Queen Suites are some of the specialties, which we provide to our customers. Enjoy a day relaxing around our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Encinitas Inn And Suites At Moonlight Beach
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Best Western Encinitas Hotel
Encinitas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing