We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My family and I really enjoyed our stay, I loved the hotel, pool, and fitness center. I even used the laundry room. We parked the car and everything is within walking distance. We went to the beach, shopping, dinning and Del Mar races. We are planning our next trip and plan to go paddle boarding. We will be staying at Best Western Moonlight Beach. You made our stay fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Plenty of room in the rooms. Hotel needs a facelift but it was a good value and clean. The sheets "pilled" which can make it hard to sleep, but overall a pleasant experience. The website says three blocks to the beach, which is true, but they are definitely long walks. Pretty view from the rooms. Plenty of parking in the garage.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Positives: Friendly staff, clean rooms, large rooms, reasonable rates, good location, free breakfast each morning, nice pool.

Negatives: Breakfast isn’t fully ready at 6:30 a.m. during the week and 7: 30 a.m. during the weekend. The staff would be getting breakfast ready at opening time instead of having it ready. If your looking to get an early start it may be better to stop somewhere on the way to where you are going.

Overall – great stay. We will stay there again when going to Encinitas.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dart0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This property needs exterior stair and elevator lobby carpets to either be replaced or thoroughly cleaned. The deplorable condition of the carpet does not develop a feeling of overall cleanliness and attention to detail or of caring of the property by the owner(s). Rooms are spacious, but lighting could be better. Minor inconveniences such as a toilet seat that would not remain in raised position (great for women, bad for men) should be rectified automatically by housekeeping or maintenance without a guest having to report it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank davidsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear davidsy2014,

Thank you for your repeat business, we do value you as a guest. We have good news. We do have plans very soon after summer to renovate the lobby and redo all three elevator cars. We are very excited to also inform you our guests, that we will be renovated other areas of the hotel. It may take some time as we will remain open during this remodel. The entire hotel will be top notch when it is complete. We do appreciate your patience and feedback.

Please come see us again.

Warmly,
Christina Shapiro 760-942-7455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I gave this an average, but this hotel has the potential to be outstanding. The location is 2 blocks from the ocean. The rooms all have nice views (though ours was a neck stretcher to see water. Others looked great). Downtown has a bunch of eats and drinking establishments all in walking distance. There is a city park across the street with area for the kids to play on equipment. Overall, for the comparative price to other best westerns, our experience could have been better.

Pool is great. Cabana has plenty of seating for breakfast. Usual breakfast faire for Best Western. Staff was keeping things stocked.

Beds were actually really good. I'm kind of particular about beds. I prefer softer, but not super squishy. Room had plenty of space. The room's patio/deck is good sized. I didn't test the wifi.

Downsides for our experience: 1) fumbled check in. Not outrageous, I tend to expect more professionalism. 2) ants - small black water ants were in the bathroom. Not exactly everyone's favorite. I'm used to camping, but heads up for the uninitiated. The nice thing this means is that they aren't using a heinously toxic spray for their insect control efforts... in an area where you might have bare feet. 3) the toilet and shower area were older. The tile and caulking will need to be replaced. 4) water temp wouldn't stay consistent in shower. No burning or freezing involved, just inconsistent. No idea why. 5) I didn't find an ice machine on the upper floors, nor in the lobby.

Just a minor heads up, there is a train track nearby. I didn't hear any train horns at night, just during the day.

Room Tip: Rooms are numbered by floor 100s on first, 200s on 2nd... The higher numbers like 226 are more on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank munge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear munge

Thank you for your review. We are nearing our fall season and rates are much more reasonable as we head away from summer. During our high season June, July and early August the entire area has rates at a premium and there are times in the summer that there are not enough hotel rooms to fulfill the demand of the area. Everyone loves San Diego.

We have taken care of the ant situation, we understand how frustrating that could be. We apologize for this. We do have two ice machines, one on the first floor and one on the third floor.
We also have a vending machine and an ice cream vending machine.

We do hope you will return. Please give me a call if you need anything.

Warmly,

Christina Shapiro 760-942-7455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I would rate this as GOOD, but there is no option between Average and Very Good! Overall a nice experience. Very spacious rooms; quite clean and well-maintained. Opt for the ocean-view rooms! The WiFi unfortunately, just doesn't seem to match up to today's expectations. Great pool area with good quality b/fast. If you are looking for a micro in your room, no matter what the website states, put that down as a special request for your room! No complaints, though it is a very steeply priced unit for the quality of the product. Yet, Encinitas does not really offer many options.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank rohith581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear rohith581

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had a nice stay here at Best Western Encinitas. We are pleased that you enjoyed our spacious rooms here at the hotel. We are very family friendly and also comfortable for seniors and single travelers as well. We have improved the situation with the Wifi. We do listen to our guests and want every aspect of their stay to be wonderful. We understand rates in summer are at a premium, but this is true for the entire area for summer. We are now heading to our fall rates and we are very excited to offer these rates to our guests.

We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmly,

Christina Shapiro 760-942-7455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel has spacious rooms and is within walking distance to the beach. Access to the hotel from the east is hard as you need to turn around and return on the south side of the road. Would not spend the extra money for ocean views.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 482audreyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear 482audreyc

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Best Western Encinitas. We pride ourselves in ensuring that each guest leaves satisfied with their experience here. We do have certain rooms that are park view and certain rooms that are park view of Cottonwood Park. All the rooms do have a large private balcony. Both views are beautiful. The best way to enter the hotel is to turn left at the stop light, as if you are going into Denny's, then you follow the parking lot west up the driveway and we are at the top.


We hope to see you again,
Thank you for being our guest.

Warmly,

Christina Shapiro
760-942-7455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.1 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
140 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.8 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach

Address: 85 Encinitas Blvd, Encinitas, CA 92024-3625
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range: £74 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque shoreline of Moonlight Beach, Encinitas Inn & Suites, a Best Western International Hotel, is the perfect place for business or pleasure. Just 30 minutes from the San Diego International Airport, the hotel is at the center of all major San Diego attractions. We at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites in California pride ourselves in providing prompt and friendly service to our customers. Enjoy your visit in Encinitas while staying in our comfortable and spacious rooms of Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites equipped with all the amenities you'll need. Check out the current rates and visit our specials for the latest discounts available to our online visitors. All the rooms at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, remote controlled cable television including HBO, king and queen size beds, coffee maker, hairdryer, refrigerator, air-conditioning etc., make your visit memorable and relaxing. King and Queen Suites are some of the specialties, which we provide to our customers. Enjoy a day relaxing around our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Encinitas Inn And Suites At Moonlight Beach
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Best Western Encinitas Hotel
Encinitas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing