We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is the best Rodeway Inn place that I've stayed. My expectations with the Rodeway Inn chain had been lowered by the experiences with other places over the years, so it was a nice surprise. The location is on the Coast Highway 101, so it was very easy to find. It is close to the beach and downtown Encinitas, which is fantastic. The parking lot seems a little small but since it is the winter season I did not have trouble getting a spot close to my room.The room is clean and quiet. The bathroom seems recently upgraded. It has a big lavatory, a huge new tub and a nice shower head. The only thing I'd add is a trash bin in the room area. The staff was very friendly and warm. I'd go back when I visit the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have stayed at the Ocean Inn/Rodeway Encinitas for almost 20 years. I love the staff here and the service. Recently I stayed a couple of weeks and had to move three times (once due do someone doing a reno next door (room 205), then rock and roll neighbours (room 211) and then incessant recyling of a water system (room 120) and finally (room 207) some idiot that felt he needed to run his a/c all night in room 208 when the temperature outside was lovely.

I am a big favourite of Ocean Inn/Rodeway Encinitas but the noise factor will not encourage me to come again.

Dr. Rory William Wellings
Vancouver, B.C., Canada

Room Tip: Having switched rooms three times, very little to offer in advice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwwellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your comments, our apologies we hope you will give us another opportunity to make your stay more comfortable as all our rooms are going through totally modernization to ensure that everyone's stay is even better and more comfotable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I was hesitant about staying here after the mixed reviews they got on TripAdvisor. We were staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Solana Beach, but when the weekend rate got close to $300, we decided to move. I was 100% pleased with this motel. Is it old? Yes, but well maintained and clean. It is within walking distance of the beach. There are several excellent restaurants nearby. Good neighborhood to walk in. And the price was under $100.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor towards the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onthebeachgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here on 10th July for one night. Great value for money in a clean, fresh room with all the comforts we needed for a single night. The woman on reception gave us a great restaurant tip for the evening. The stay was completed with a great chat with the manager who originated from Watford - just 11 miles from home! Would certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvilC1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We needed a clean, conveniently located room halfway between Oceanside and San Diego. We found one at the Rodeway Inn. It was quiet and clean and the staff was very nice. There was a nice breakfast in the morning!
It was also located next to a nice oyster house and a few other spots for dining.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tror2132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I thought the rooms were just "okay". The bed was comfortable enough and the bathrooms were actually rather big. The couch has some stains on it. The breakfast was pretty weak and limited. I wish they had more of a variety. But other than that, it was a good experience. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Would I stay here again? Yea.

There's not much in the area. The 7-11 is a 15-20 minute walk away. And downtown Encinitas is less then a 10 minute bus ride away. However from Encinitas, you can catch the coaster train to San Diego which is cool and convenient if your looking to spending the day down there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you, your comments are very much appreciated for future improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
1.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn - Encinitas
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.9 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn - Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Address: 1444 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-1443 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range: £45 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Encinitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing