We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Way to go Victor and staff!
Great place to stay, affordable, clean, good location.
Everyone is super friendly, helpful and informative of the area and amenities. We had car issues and were referred to a great mechanic by the staff, they really helped us out.
We will be coming back probably very soon!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    62
    43
    16
    16
See reviews for
52
49
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Checking most of the hotels down the 101 in encinitas this rodeway inn is by far the best, setting our first steps in the office we were greeted very curtiously. All the staff are very welcoming, friendly. and helpful. The location is perfect as it is located walking distance from food stores, Restaurants, the beach, And some excellent surf breaks. The rooms are very clean, very comfortable, and the price is totally affordable which makes it an exceptional place for an extended stay without breaking the pocket book. If driving through Encinitas and looking for a hotel to stay at I highly recomend this one.
Cheers and safe travels to all travellers

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is the best Rodeway Inn place that I've stayed. My expectations with the Rodeway Inn chain had been lowered by the experiences with other places over the years, so it was a nice surprise. The location is on the Coast Highway 101, so it was very easy to find. It is close to the beach and downtown Encinitas, which is fantastic. The parking lot seems a little small but since it is the winter season I did not have trouble getting a spot close to my room.The room is clean and quiet. The bathroom seems recently upgraded. It has a big lavatory, a huge new tub and a nice shower head. The only thing I'd add is a trash bin in the room area. The staff was very friendly and warm. I'd go back when I visit the area again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have stayed at the Ocean Inn/Rodeway Encinitas for almost 20 years. I love the staff here and the service. Recently I stayed a couple of weeks and had to move three times (once due do someone doing a reno next door (room 205), then rock and roll neighbours (room 211) and then incessant recyling of a water system (room 120) and finally (room 207) some idiot that felt he needed to run his a/c all night in room 208 when the temperature outside was lovely.

I am a big favourite of Ocean Inn/Rodeway Encinitas but the noise factor will not encourage me to come again.

Dr. Rory William Wellings
Vancouver, B.C., Canada

Room Tip: Having switched rooms three times, very little to offer in advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwwellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, our apologies we hope you will give us another opportunity to make your stay more comfortable as all our rooms are going through totally modernization to ensure that everyone's stay is even better and more comfotable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I was hesitant about staying here after the mixed reviews they got on TripAdvisor. We were staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Solana Beach, but when the weekend rate got close to $300, we decided to move. I was 100% pleased with this motel. Is it old? Yes, but well maintained and clean. It is within walking distance of the beach. There are several excellent restaurants nearby. Good neighborhood to walk in. And the price was under $100.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor towards the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onthebeachgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here on 10th July for one night. Great value for money in a clean, fresh room with all the comforts we needed for a single night. The woman on reception gave us a great restaurant tip for the evening. The stay was completed with a great chat with the manager who originated from Watford - just 11 miles from home! Would certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvilC1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We needed a clean, conveniently located room halfway between Oceanside and San Diego. We found one at the Rodeway Inn. It was quiet and clean and the staff was very nice. There was a nice breakfast in the morning!
It was also located next to a nice oyster house and a few other spots for dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tror2132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
1.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.9 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn - Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Property: Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Address: 1444 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-1443 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Encinitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing