We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seaside place”

Via Italia Trattoria
Ranked #116 of 299 Restaurants in Encinitas
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between D & E Street
Transit: Coaster train Station is right behind the restaurant. If you are coming from San Diego downtown or Oceanside is the best transportation! Check the schedule at http://www.gonctd.com/coaster
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
159 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great seaside place”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Found this through a friend. Extensive menu, with many eclectic versions Gnocci and other Italian delights. Service is wonderful, albeit this is a BUSY place. Not a place to hear a quiet conversation, but its still feels relaxed.
With a group of 8, we were seated on time, and as I "tasted" most everyones entrees, I didnt find fault with any of them. they have a great fettucine with seafood, too. The pasta noodle is massive for a fettucini, and really stood out.
A great find. Will definately go again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MovinMovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    4
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“the true authentic Italian cuisine”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We were recently at Via Italia Trattoria and we found a courteous staff since we entered.
They were very helpful in providing information and advice on the menu, this doesn't happen in all the restaurants.
We taste an really good Prosecco with one Bruschetta while we waited to order.
After ordering we waited very little although there was full of people and we enjoyed a delicious first course because the pasta is fresh and made by hand from them.
The best pizza is "Via Italia" that you should absolutely try .
We finished with the delicious desserts and biscuits corn really good .
An Italian espresso coffee accompanied by an honest bill.
We have found an assortment of great Italian and American wines .
I recommend you try it because we found we really at home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicoitalianstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Italian food”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is my favorite north county Italian restaurant. Very engaging staff and a wonderful menu. There is obvious talent in the kitchen. The catch-of-the-day, which my partner had, was prepared with a lovely tomato-based sauce that was heavenly. I had the seafood stew (soup?) that reminded us both of some of our trips to southern Italy. Very hearty and authentic. And very fresh tasting seafood. Our salads were lightly dressed (I can always ask for more) and perfectly presented. Very highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happycamper690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian, Warm welcomeing Service”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Eat here regularly and it is one of my standby favorites in town. Genuine warmth in the service and management, extensive menu, wonderful happy hour, and fantastic homemade gnocchi, and other delicious choices. (I have actually seen employees of other local Italian restaurants eating there!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank punkinhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
397 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Try the pizza!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had eaten here in the past and enjoyed the food and attentive service. But a friend said to return for the thin crust pizza and salad, and she was right. The crust was perfect, the prosciutto and rocket flavorful but not overpowering. The salad was a fun mix of fruits, greens, and cheese.

Worth repeating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Italia Trattoria also viewed

 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Via Italia Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing