We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Q'ero”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Q'ero Restaurant

Q'ero Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 295 Restaurants in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: D St. / E St.
San Diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“El Q'ero”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

First visit it was 5 stars.
2nd visit my steak wasn't nearly as good as before. Haven't been back since. Most people love the place. I ordered the wrong thing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chihuahuasarefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    32
    9
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saqn diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a very small and quaint restaurant, very unique food, prepared with love and care. It is definitely not to be missed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deanimal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tiny, but Big in Peruvian Taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was my second visit to this tiny Encinitas, California jewel. And a jewel it is. The decor is brilliant, ethnic, exciting, which matches their great food.

Reservations are a MUST, sometimes even during lunch.

Wish I had been able to pick up a menu to cite some of the great meals. Had potatoes wrapped around beef, quinoa chicken, salads, and their signature drink chicha mirada, which is made from boiled purple corn, pineapple, apple, cinnamon, and clove. Wow! Little corn kernels floated among the ice cubes. They also have a good wine selection and their servers are friendly and helpful.

I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLL009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Continues to be the best restaurant in Encinitas for years.....!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

A real jewel in the vast wasteland of mediocre North County offerings. Qero has always been farm to table, innovative, experimental......excellent & reliable!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DahliaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice setting, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Everyone I've talked to about this places raves about how great it is, so my wife and I were really excited to try it out. Unfortunately, both of our dishes were just alright. The ambiance is nice, the service is great and the warm, spiced wine was delicious. But the food was just average. Normally, I'd be okay with average food if the rest of the experience was pleasant. But considering how expensive everything is, I expect more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Q'ero Restaurant also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Encinitas, CA
Encinitas, CA
 

Been to Q'ero Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing