We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for kids under 10” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Diego Children's Discovery Museum

San Diego Children's Discovery Museum
Ranked #8 of 53 things to do in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Escondido Children's Museum features interactive, hands-on exhibits and activities that inspire children to learn about our world through exploration, imagination and experimentation.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for kids under 10”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My grandchildren loved the interactive environment and the offerings of classes that are regularly offered. My 11 year old was not as excited as the 4 and 7 year old as the interactive items were more for younger children.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We enjoyed an afternoon at the Museum with our kids and our friends' family. We were able to keep the kids engaged for about two hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Children's Museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have been to several children museums across the country and San Diego has one of the better ones. We've been here a few times and its always clean and things are working.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
161 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“better for toddlers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The museum does have quite a few "stations" but is overall pretty small. We went with our 4 and 6 year old boys. They were able to do all of the activities at the museum within a couple of hours. There were only a couple of activities that held the interest of my 6 year old. They have a nice outdoor area with several interesting exhibits as well, especially the garden area where they have a collection of herbs growing that you can touch and smell. There is also a nice outdoor park across the street. I think the activities at this museum are best for 2-4 year olds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank viv2367b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“a hub for the little ones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We visited the first time an instantly became members. The museum seems to always make the little ones run, interact, climb and be entertained. the changing exhibits always keep it fresh (although don't like the down time between changes as the museum closes). Great place to take the little kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dizzydiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Diego Children's Discovery Museum also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Children's Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing