We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tuscany Hills Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Harris, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for two nights at Tuscany Hills the end of December, 2013. I asked for an updated/renovated room as I understood there had been some renovations. There appeared to be confusion as to what rooms were rented, no computerized check in – simply a clipboard. The room we received was out of date, the kitchen table that held the microwave even had a large chip out of the surface. The curtains, furniture, carpet and television were old. The bed may have been new, it was comfortable enough. The bedding was the old, dry clean, comforters that may or may not be cleaned each turnover. The bathroom was updated, it is on one of the suite, there is not a door that shuts, you just go through a doorway. Access to the room is with an old fashioned key. There is no real Lobby, just an office and banquet room. That said, there is neither food nor drink available anywhere on the premises. High price, low quality! Lesson learned, stay at the Welk! As others have said there is potential for this to be a nice place, the renovations seem to be minimal!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank MaryJo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    14
    13
    10
    16
See reviews for
11
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had lunch for my Mothers Birthday. The service was above and beyond anything we had expected!! Beautiful location, very organized and we were over all WOWED by out whole experience. Thank you Tuscany Hills Resort for making My Moms Birthday so Wonderful!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrietaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I purchased a one night stay on Groupon as we were visiting Temecula for wine tasting. The price was very good for a "resort". The resort is isolated and we knew that from the map. It is less than a mile from the I-15 freeway and you can see it from the grounds.
The staff is very friendly and checked us in early. We were doing that to get the included wine tasting coupon. It is for a good winery and worth about $8 since you can get 2 for one coupons free on line.
When we returned after dinner, the office was closed with a note and emergency phone number. The room was small, but clean and tastefully furnished. There was no guide to available facilities in the room. There was a bathroom exhaust fan.
Parking is not especially close to the room and there was a menu for breakfast at a nearby country club however it served only on weekends.
Overall this place does not seem worthy of full price and should feature at least a light continental breakfast. The grounds and pool are pretty.

Room Tip: No restaurant or room service. There is a small refrigerator and microwave. The regular rooms have q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I attended a wedding at Tuscany Hills Resort. The staff was absolutely wonderful, and professional. The grounds are gorgeous, and was a perfect setting for the wedding, or if you just want to relax and get away. The photographers pictures of the wedding were just stunning because of the the grounds natural background of flowers and trees. The rooms are very clean, and beautifully decorated. I definitely would stay there again, or have an event there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for a Saturday and Sunday night. From what I gather it was recently renamed from Castle Creek Inn Resort Hotel and Spa, the outside grounds are very nice even in the winter when things are not as green as the rest of the year. The soaking pools were very relaxing and a nice surprise, something more private and quaint then just a jacuzzi. The room was clean and the bathroom looked to be recently renovated and it appears they recently painted inside. I think with some additional time and money the rooms could be wonderful. Right now they are a bit lacking in style and design one wall with vaulted ceilings had nothing on it.The one thing that looked the least thought of was the bed, the sheets were clean and fresh but the comforter looked to be a bit old and not quite a king size, and the bed skirt had seen it's best days long ago. The mattress was comfortable as were the pillows, it just really needs some design and style added to the room. It looks like most if not all rooms have either a balcony or patio with chairs that is nice to sit outside and enjoy the view.The check in was friendly and informative, they have a very large area near reception that would be a wonderful place to offer up a continental breakfast with fruit cereal and pastries if it were up to me, especially with the fact that you have to get in the car and drive quite a distance to get to a restaurant. The only one close by is the one at the golf course next door that is more of a bar serving food. It was clean and comfortable place to stay but I am not sure I would go back. I also wanted to add that the rooms do not have a heater so if your like me and get cold pack socks and warm pajamas. They do have individual air conditioners in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had an event there - the staff was completely out to lunch. No one knew what was going on, the staff even helped themselves to our catered food on their own! One of their staff brought her mother to our event and were drinking on our tab..... They charged us $100 to reset the room then none of the staff helped - we did it all ourselves. I'd never recomend it to anyone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Escondido hotels

Southern California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We totally enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean, comfortable, well appointed, and decorated nicely. We enjoyed the hot tubs and walking the grounds. They had a beautiful pool but the weather was a little too chilly. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommy2mygirlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
7.1 mi away
Pala Mesa Resort
Pala Mesa Resort
#3 of 6 in Fallbrook
344 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
9.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
14.7 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscany Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany Hills Resort

Property: Tuscany Hills Resort
Address: 29850 Circle R. Way, Escondido, CA 92026 (Formerly Castle Creek Inn Resort Hotel and Spa)
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuscany Hills Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the picturesque foothills of Temecula’s Wineries, within minutes of the world-famous San Diego Zoo Safari Park, Southern California beaches, and just 35 minutes north of downtown San Diego.Tuscany Hills Resort sits adjacent to Castle Creek Country Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. This Escondido resort is less than 1 mile off I-15. As a guest of the resort, you can enjoy Free Wi-Fi, relax in one of our four soaking pools, or treat yourself to a rejuvenating massage treatment. Each room of the Tuscany Hills Resort offers a private balcony or patio with beautiful views of the golf course or courtyard. Cable TV, a microwave and a fridge are also included. Tuscany Hills Resort is also a destination resort for weddings, receptions or family reunions too! Both indoor and outdoor space is available. Our 3 bedroom Villa overlooks the golf course and is adjacent to our outdoor venue which makes it a perfect Bridal Suite for that special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tuscany Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Creek Inn Hotel Escondido
Castle Creek Resort
Castle Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing