We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Tiny Victorian Gem"”
Review of Regina del Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regina del Palazzo
Ranked #1 of 4 Escondido B&B and Inns
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"A Tiny Victorian Gem"”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay in Northern San Diego County and found a real gem. This is a small beautifully decorated historic home from 1888. The grounds are perfectly
landscaped and there is even a hot tub. Suzy and Don are the nicest inn keepers and make a fantastic breakfast.Friday nights there is an amazing classic car show called "Cruisin Grand" it was so fun. Also on Friday Nights Palomar City College's Planetarium has two great shows.

Room Tip: If you have children there is a separate guest cottage on the property with a full kitchen and lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was fortunate enough to get a gap in their reservation book to get an accommodation.
I wish I can keep this place for myself...but need to share..
The hosts are awesome. They were very much gracious in sharing their place with us. I felt very much at home...thank you.
Absolutely appreciated the decor of the place. It was like stepping back in time.
Don't want to gush about the place anymore....may not be able to find an accommodation in the future. We had an early day so had to leave before the breakfast... I will make sure and stay for breakfast next time...
If looking for a special place, hidden away, convenient distance from San Diego, this is THE place for you. I forget the room but it had a private porch. It is special

Room Tip: Plan well in advance. Ask the host about hidden attractions around Escondido
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don M, Owner at Regina del Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for visiting with us, I am sorry you had to leave so early with an unexpected call back to work, I hope you will come again and be able to stay and have one of our wonderful breakfasts, we look forward to giving you the very best of our Bed and Breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife, our two-month-old baby and me recently had a wonderful stay at Regina del Palazzo. We only stayed one night, for our first anniversary, and definitely we will come back there whenever we have to stay in the area. Suzanne and Don were great hosts: we arrived late, something like at 10 pm, and I didn't have any dinner; well, as soon as Suzanne knew she prepared me a very delicious omelette that together with some other things left my stomach very happy to go to bed. They are super friendly, very nice. The B&B is beautiful, with awesome antiques everywhere, beautiful pieces of furniture. We stayed at the Black and Gold room: not a huge room but definitely enough for two and a baby. Actually, they even let us use the new crib they had bought for their coming grandchild. The two rooms are adjacent one to each other but we didn't hear the other guests and they didn't hear our baby either. Then, in the morning, we also had an excellent breakfast and very good time with our hosts and the other guests. They took pictures for us at the beautiful porch and showed us all they want to do to make the B&B even nicer. We had an excellent stay at Suzanne and Don's place. At the end Don even got emotional when we were leaving.... they are such nice people! The location was perfect too: around 30 min from San Diego. Escondido (and specially that neighborhood) is a beautiful hidden place.

Room Tip: The cottage (for longer stays) must be comfortable. The black and gold room was fine for us, it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos227869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My fiance and I had a very nice stay here. Suzy and Don were great hosts. It is expensive to stay anywhere in California, so in my eyes, this place was a steal. The breakfasts were always outstanding and would probably cost $25 a person at most restaurants. They were very accommodating and always asked us what we would like. French toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, omelets, fruit, muffins, and more. The location was great for us. Just a few minutes from the Safari Park, and about 20 minutes to Temecula for amazing wine tasting. The Harrahs Casino is close by as well. About 25 minutes to the downtown Balboa park area. Suzy made us strawberry shortcake to have with a bottle of wine at night on the front porch. Just an overall great experience. Of note: the house is shared by the owners who stay in the back, and there are two rooms currently for guests in the front. The two rooms are side by side, which worried us a little, because we are night owls and stay up late. We also shared the bathroom with the other guests. It wasn't a problem for us, but I can see how it might bother some people. Perhaps, one day they could flip flop the living room and the front bedroom. Just a thought! Overall, it was a great experience, and we would stay there again in the future. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulbucks1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The owners, Don and Suzy, are incredibly thoughtful hosts and have many entertaining stories to share. The B&B is a fabulously restored 1888 Victorian cottage, and the side porch is perfect for reading in the afternoon. The B&B is impeccably clean, and also conveniently located near I-15 and light rail. Breakfast was delish!! My husband and I enjoyed our stay so much, we changed plans for my upcoming birthday and will be spending the weekend here.

Room Tip: There are two rooms to rent and a cottage. The rooms have window A/C units, and the owners will be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We live in San Diego, but we ran a half marathon in Escondido over Memorial Day weekend, and wanted to stay in Escondido. I have never stayed in a B&B before, and it didn't even occur to me to look for one. I was finding hotels in Escondido like the Quality Inn and the Super 8. Not places I would prefer to stay. Shabby hotels with horrible ratings and reviews. Then I somehow stumbled on this gem. I waited till the day before the race to book this, and thought they would be booked, but we lucked out. We stayed in the cottage which is a one bedroom unit with a full kitchen and living room. It was the most wonderful experience. The couple that hosted us was incredible. We jumped in the jacuzzi after we got there and they made us breakfast the next morning after we returned from our race.
We had the best time. I would recommend the Regina del Palazzo to anybody without reservation. It was truly incredible.

Room Tip: The cottage is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Planning a trip to the San Diego Zoo Safari Park in Escondido and wanting to avoid the big brand name hotel/motel chains, we found this little gem on-line and consider ourselves very fortunate. Occupying a well-restored and beautifully furnished 1888 house high on a hill and with lovely views overlooking the city, new owners Suzy and Don Maxwell are gracious hosts. Complementary appetizers and beverages in the late afternoon and a sumptuous "order whatever you like" breakfast were highlights, along with a brand-new top-of-the line hot tub in which we enjoyed my wife's birthday bottle of champagne after dinner.

Guest accommodations consist of a cottage at the rear of the property (which at the time of our visit was rented out on a longer-term basis) and two first-floor bedrooms in the main house only one of which is rented at a time until a second bath is added. So pick one of those two rooms and along with it the living room, front porch and dining room are all yours too. We chose the Black and Gold room because it's slightly larger and the front porch connects to it - well worth the extra $20. There's also a beautiful and sunny and patio and garden alongside and in back of the house that make for fine sitting, reading and conversation.

All in all this is a memorable place to visit when in or near Escondido.

Room Tip: Pick the front Black and Gold bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don M, Owner at Regina del Palazzo, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you to our wonderful guests for this marvelous review. It was our sincere pleasure to be your hosts. If all our guests are as fun, kind and thoughtful as you, our business will be a soaring success. Please come see us again. it was a joy having you at Regina del Palazzo, Escondido's historic Bed and Breakfast. The new kitchen will be going in soon and we're going to have more fun creating new breakfast delights. Warm wishes always, from Suzy and Don.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
2.6 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#32 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
2.2 mi away
Escondido Lodge
Escondido Lodge
#9 of 16 in Escondido
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.8 mi away
Motel Mediteran
Motel Mediteran
#3 of 16 in Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina del Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina del Palazzo

Property: Regina del Palazzo
Address: 602 S Grape St, Escondido, CA 92025-4450 (Formerly Old Escondido B & B)
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina del Palazzo B&B was formerly known as Old Escondido Bed and Breakfast. This is a beautiful historical home built in 1888, fully refurbished keeping it's historical value in a lovely setting at the top of one of Old Escondido's hills overlooking the valley. We have filled it with gorgeous antique furniture, comfy queen sized beds, with a full sized library and DVD selection.Our 6 person spa went in for your relaxation. We love serving full sized breakfasts that will tempt your palate and possibly your waistline. We sit high on a hill in a quiet neighborhood filled with historic homes and nature walks around the corner. Sleep til noon or have your breakfast on your private porch, or sit on our wicker lounge on the side porch with the ceiling fan keeping you comfortable on a hot California morning.Escondido is 40 minutes from San Diego, 7 miles from the San Diego Safari Park , just down the 15 freeway from the Temecula wineries and smack dab in the middle of some of the most beautiful golf courses in Southern California. We are close to the Carlsbad beach, Deer Park Monastery, 18 breweries, and many other sites to see.We have added solar panels to the roof and installed air conditioning throughout the house and took out the window units. Our new double ovens are in and so is our new range and we have just done a complete remodel of our stunning kitchen....let the Big Breakfasts Begin!!! Even more than what they were.Our big beautiful spa is in, so pop a bottle of champagne, select a slice of Brioche and cheese and fruit and just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Regina del Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing