We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, nurturing environment and people”
Review of Regina del Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regina del Palazzo
Ranked #1 of 4 Escondido B&B and Inns
Woodland, California
2 reviews
“Beautiful, nurturing environment and people”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was the perfect spot for my grandson and me after a long day at the San Diego Zoo Safari Park. Don and Suzy managed to make us feel right at home (we had all the comforts of home--T.V., wi-fi, jacuzzi, movies to choose from, extremely comfortable bed)--and also give us our own space. We also enjoyed sitting outside on the shaded, succulent-filled patio. Everywhere you look in the home, you see lovely, vintage decor. Suzy's fresh breakfast dishes are delicious and abundant. Don even replaced the batteries in my grandson's electronic pad! The nurturing we received at Regina del Palazzo was a highlight of our excursion.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Don and Susie when we were in the area for a wedding at the Ranch at Bandy Canyon. Where to start? The food was great-especially the French Toast. Coffee on demand from the well stocked Kureg. Very comfortable beds, quiet neighborhood. Hot hot tub and great shower. Susie stocks the bathroom so if you forgot something, chances are good there is a sample in the cabinet. We needed to have some clothes pressed for the wedding and they referred us to a great dry cleaner. We enjoyed chatting in the mornings (we got back late due to festivities with the wedding). Coffee on the patio with Rosie and Bailey (the bulldogs) was fun. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in Escondido.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SRQRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Two dear friends and I took over the whole three bedroom place. I had read reviews and was hopeful of a positive experience. We were BLOWN AWAY! The place is way better than photos portray! QUAINT is a word too small. The 1888 Inn is amazing. Decor perfecto. The breakfast that others reviewers have raved about, lived up to those accolades AND MORE! What surprised us most was the beautiful ocean breezes as we sat and chatted on the front porch swing. Don & Suzy couldn't have been kinder, more attentive, or more interesting. You will be happier that you count them as new friends, and to know that you can refer everyone you know to Regina Del Palazzo.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank certainken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don M, Owner at Regina del Palazzo, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We so enjoyed your visit with us. It is guests like you who make our Bed and Breakfast such a joy to host and make what we do such a pleasure. When you tell us how much you enjoyed your stay, our food, the comfortable beds and meeting and talking with us and then you are generous in your compliments to TripAdvisor, we cannot say thank you enough. Because of guests like you, we will continue to provide the most welcome accomodations and menus we can dream up. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

You're in good hands when Don and Suzy are your hosts. They were very welcoming and helpful to me. The breakfast is quite tasty. It helps if you like dogs; they are a definite presence at this B&B. There was a kitchen renovation underway when I visited (had been ongoing for a number of months) - makes things a little awkward with refrigerator in the dining room and no kitchen sink. Didn't affect the quality of the breakfast however. If this bothers you, ascertain whether it is complete before reserving.

Room Tip: The Rose Room includes lovely Victorian decor. Got a bit stuffy as no screen on the window meant it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyloveslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don M, Owner at Regina del Palazzo, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for giving us the chance to serve you in January. Since three months have passed since you were here, we are excited to tell you that our extensive renovation is complete and we are thrilled with the results. The kitchen turned out to be a fabulous work of art as well as a state of the art fully functional cook's dream.
As you were aware when we agreed to honor your request to stay in a quiet and safe Bed and Breakfast while we were undergoing renovation, things were a little chaotic, which is why we gave you a discount on our prices for your 3 days and nights, had you told us your concerns at the time, we would have resolved them during your visit.
We hope you have the opportunity to return to Escondido and see all that we have done since you were here. The guests who have returned during these last 3 months have been blown away by the changes, which are now complete. It was particularly rewarding for us as they had seen the old and really had something to compare. See our new pictures coming soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience. We never stayed at a bed and breakfast and had no idea what to expect. It was fantastic. The food was great and owners were a delight. Oh and yes there is a hot tub! It was clean cozy for a bed and breakfast cool antiques inside and a really cute separate guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Don and Suzy are fabulous hosts! I stayed in the cottage in the back. Easy parking at my door, safe, quiet, perfect. The bed was super comfy and the creme brûlée french toast for breakfast was divine. If you are looking for a B and B in the area, this is definitely the place to go!

My only comment is that a lighted make-up mirror in the bathroom would have been helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, Owner at Regina del Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. We were so happy that we could provide you with a last minute reservation and that you loved our breakfast. I have put in a makeup mirror, as you suggested, (for which I thank you for suggesting) and we look forward to your next visit. I hope you will come back for a more relaxing time and find the wonderful places to visit in and near Escondido.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I come down to San Diego every few months for business and personal reasons and used to just drive down, which made for a really long day in the car (sometimes 14 hours if traffic is really bad). Not wanting to do that and having a couple of extra days off due to the holiday, I thought I'd make a weekend of it, and found Regina Del Palazzo through trip advisor. I scored when they had a room for the evening.

Staying here, and meeting Don and Suzy is one of the most lovely things one can do. It is so wonderful to meet such warm genuine people who truly enjoy what they do. I will will always book in advance make to stay here and not spend all that time in my car ever again.

The beds are wonderful--silk sheets, fluffy pillows, I stayed in the Rose room. Peacefully quiet. The shower is awesome and it's like stepping back into a time when people travelled by carriage and 'stayed a fortnight' with friends or family only with amazing modern conveniences. They use solar and are environmentally conscious. Suzy made the most amazing frittata.

The place is adorably decked out for Christmas, and having a cup of Caramel hot chocolate and I had the most amazing conversation with Don and Suzy before retiring for the evening. I so appreciate it after a horrific 5 hour drive in traffic from LA (one way).

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, Owner at Regina del Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
What a fabulous guest! To have you visit was a pleasure, but to have the opportunity to sit and visit and share so much time, information and humor was an absolute honor for us and sheer joy, that you came as a stranger, but left as a friend. We are so looking forward to your next visit and I plan on spoiling you with another fabulous breakfast, that we will need to take the dogs for a walk to shed the calories and catch up on your exciting adventures.
Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
2.6 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,925 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
16.6 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#1 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina del Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina del Palazzo

Property: Regina del Palazzo
Address: 602 S Grape St, Escondido, CA 92025-4450 (Formerly Old Escondido B & B)
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina del Palazzo B&B was formerly known as Old Escondido Bed and Breakfast. This is a beautiful historical home built in 1888, fully refurbished keeping it's historical value in a lovely setting at the top of one of Old Escondido's hills overlooking the valley. We have filled it with gorgeous antique furniture, comfy queen sized beds, with a full sized library and DVD selection.Our 6 person spa went in for your relaxation. We love serving full sized breakfasts that will tempt your palate and possibly your waistline. We sit high on a hill in a quiet neighborhood filled with historic homes and nature walks around the corner. Sleep til noon or have your breakfast on your private porch, or sit on our wicker lounge on the side porch with the ceiling fan keeping you comfortable on a hot California morning.Escondido is 40 minutes from San Diego, 7 miles from the San Diego Safari Park , just down the 15 freeway from the Temecula wineries and smack dab in the middle of some of the most beautiful golf courses in Southern California. We are close to the Carlsbad beach, Deer Park Monastery, 18 breweries, and many other sites to see.We have added solar panels to the roof and installed air conditioning throughout the house and took out the window units. Our new double ovens are in and so is our new range and we have just done a complete remodel of our stunning kitchen....let the Big Breakfasts Begin!!! Even more than what they were.Our big beautiful spa is in, so pop a bottle of champagne, select a slice of Brioche and cheese and fruit and just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Regina del Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing