We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD MANAGEMENT” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Escondido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Escondido
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BAD MANAGEMENT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The front desk staff at this place, namely Sergio, is terrible! They will act like everything is fine until you have a problem with the room and then it's all your fault. The toilet leaked in our room and we reported it several times with no results. I was standing in the bathroom and turned while in a puddle from the leaky toilet and slipped and went headfirst into the bathroom door putting a whole in it. Management insisted I did it intentionally, told me to fix it and told us to leave. DO NOT STAY HERE. BAD MANAGEMENT! Oh, hookers, roaches, and drugs too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tse90723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti P, Manager at Super 8 Escondido, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We appreciate that you were a guest at our hotel for several months without incident, and we are very sorry that this ended up as a bad experience. The front desk was not notified, the maintenance staff was told and we believe there was a language barrier concerning the leaky toilet. We will use this info. during our meeting for further training so that this is not repeated in the future. We do our best to keep this hotel very clean and and upgrade our rooms regularly. We cannot attest to the things we are not made aware of, but if there are any issues with drugs or illegal behavior we have a Zero Tolerance policy. We appreciate your patronage and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    48
    68
    35
    37
See reviews for
99
44
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a nice property but the rooms are better than the outside appearance. It is well priced for a central location in Escondido. This is the third time I have stayed at this motel in the past two years.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti P, Manager at Super 8 Escondido, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you. We are always upgrading and we appreciate your review and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colton, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Was a little leary for the value price (booked through Expedia - two rooms w/two queen beds) but as it turned out the rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were very courteous and professional. The amenities were a huge plus! Had our two year old granddaughter with us so the fridge and microwave came in handy. Though one room was directly across from the office the noise level was not too disturbing. There was a problem with the sink in one room but it was immediately addressed. Continental breakfast offered suited us just fine...waffles, juice, coffee, cold cereal, toast, and there were restaurants/fast food nearby for breakfast on a larger/more variety scale. Variety shopping centers close by, some within walking distance. Very good value (book through Expedia unless motel itself has better deal). We'd very likely stay there again.

Suggestions for hotel: "Sundry" vending machine (toothpaste, mouthwash, hairspray, aspirin/ibuprofen, etc.), we forgot toothpaste and had to drive down the street to RiteAide. Extend breakfast to 10:00 am (some guests do sleep past 9:00). Perhaps have handyman/gardener start work after 9:00 am (the sound of the blower woke us up at 8:00).

Room Tip: It's three floors; we stayed on the first because our daughter-in-law is pregnant (had we realiz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti P, Manager at Super 8 Escondido, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for the info. regarding sundries I will make sure I pass along the info. We appreciate the kind words as we do our best to make your stay comfortable. We appreciate you patronage and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Then staff were very nice and professional. The room was clean and had a comfortable atmosphere. The bathroom, room, and bed were nice and big! So much space in the room so you didn't feel like you were enclosed or cramped. Very nice, clean, and comfortable stay overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti P, Manager at Super 8 Escondido, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for noticing the ugrades we have done to the hotel. We appreciate your business and hope you come again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tujunga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Staff was great. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet which was just what we wanted. Very good value. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti P, Manager at Super 8 Escondido, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your comments. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown in Escondido
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido
Comfort Inn Escondido
#5 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 16 in Escondido
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.8 mi away
Escondido Lodge
Escondido Lodge
#11 of 16 in Escondido
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Escondido

Property: Super 8 Escondido
Address: 528 W Washington Ave., Escondido, CA 92025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Escondido 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Escondido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Escondido Hotel Escondido
Super Eight Escondido
Escondido Super 8
Escondido Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing