We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Peaceful Atmosphere”

Champagne Lakes RV Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Escondido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Champagne Lakes RV Resort
Kalispell, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Service & Peaceful Atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I am heading back home to Montana in a few days after a peaceful two month stay here. I had a very nice, private full hookup site with fire ring right over one of the small lakes. The geese and duck are so relaxing and fun to watch. The trees are trimmed and shaped and beautiful. The owner/manager, C.J., is always busy cleaning and improving. Whatever your problem or issue he will find an answer for you and quickly at that. The maintenance staff are all very friendly and the place could not be any cleaner. Many trash receptacles everywhere and emptied daily. A very secure place with key coded locking entry gates. This campground will accommodate tent campers up to Big Rigs. Most are concrete and level, some pull through and some back in. I have a 27 foot trailer and as a solo traveler i was assisted backing in by owner/manager. All desk people are also very courteous and helpful. There is one new restroom/shower building, one among three, that accommodates persons using wheelchairs in the shower and it is very large. There are two laundries, both are in an outside covered area with chairs and tables for waiting and reading. A large number of top cable channels are available. Wifi can be purchased through Tengo. I used my Verizon and it worked well at times but other times it was very slow or would not connect at all. Early morning gave the best service. There are major shopping centers in the towns of Vista or Escondido, 8 and 10 miles away respectively, although one grocer in Bonsall is 6 miles away along with a McD and a few other stores and fast food places. A must see if you come here is to visit the Lawrence Welk resort 3.5 miles South of the campground. They have a few restaurants including pizza hut, a theatre and a place for therapeutic massage, thermograms and dental services. The Welk Resort also holds a Farmer's Market with Organic produce every Monday afternoon. Pets are welcome at Champagne Lakes and there are many places to walk them. You can go around the lakes with them on the paved road and stop at one of the many benches or picnic tables for a rest. There is catch and release fishing for those interested. A swimming pool is also located by the store (store closed while i was here)but it was too cold for swimming the past two months being solar heated. Think i covered it all! My two months went by quickly and happily and I would come back again when Rv'ing in this area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanalover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I stayed a weekend at Champagne Lakes RV Resort and was impressed with the service, friendliness and accommodations. I would recommend to anyone who wants a piece of mind and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I spent two nights in our RV at Champagne Lakes over the Thanksgiving weekend and found it very enjoyable. The location, although just off of the I-15, has an isolated and peaceful feeling to it. My wife loves bird watching and really enjoyed the ducks, geese, cranes and hawks. She even had the chance to cast a fishing rod. C.J., the owner, was very hospitable and is very clearly working to improve the park. They were in the process of dredging one of the 3 lakes. The market was closed due to the Holiday but other than that our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. We will return.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm your space when making the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lwlevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I stayed from 11/10 to 3/11 and found Champagne Lakes to be a very nice snowbird
destination. The park is older put the owner C.J. is improving the park constantly. Problems that I encountered (there were only two) were handled immedietly and to my satisfaction. The park itself is very pretty with its 3 small lakes, catch and release fishing, a park store, pool, and a pack of geese. Don't let them buffalo you, just hiss back at them and move on. I would recomend this park

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookdano87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

When we visit our friends in the Escondido area we always stay at the Champagne Lakes RV. Over the years we have seen a lot of work done to improve the site. My husband loves to fish in their lakes, I love to walk on their neat orderly pathways. The restrooms are always neat and clean. There is a small store, a laundry and a swimming pool...all of these are neat and well cared for.
We have never had problems with noisy neighbors or animals. The people who own and run the RV park are very friendly and helpful. The cost for staying there is comparable to other RV parks in the area.
Its a great place to stay in your camper/rv if you want to have a "jumping off" place to the San Diego area/Escondido area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cemmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We decided this summer to have a few get-togethers with some of our friends and their kids and go camping somewhere. We picked Champagne Lakes because it is not too far from the city, yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. We had 3 nice spaces together for tenting, the kids went fishing and caught some BIG fish! They had a pool, and a market open for some supplies...who forget a lighter to start a fire? We even got to bring the dog. Overall it was a great weekend, and we are doing it with a different group of friends next week.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calif
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2009

This is more like a place for rv'ers to live than a campground or resort. There appear to be many residents living here as oppose to weekend type campers. The site we were given was narrow and difficult to get into due to the vehicle congestion around it. Ants were a big, big problem. So much so, some of them made their way home with us. The only plus....the staff and residents were all very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
5.6 mi away
Pala Mesa Resort
Pala Mesa Resort
#1 of 6 in Fallbrook
352 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Fallbrook I-15
Quality Inn Fallbrook I-15
#4 of 6 in Fallbrook
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
13.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
889 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Lakes RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Lakes RV Resort

Property: Champagne Lakes RV Resort
Address: 8310 Nelson Way, One-half mile south of Old Highway 395; east of I-15, Escondido, CA 92026-5211
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Escondido
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience San Diego. The resort is conveniently located, with easy access to I-15 that connects travelers to all of the major Southern CA attractions, as well as, Las Vegas NV. Quaint Comfort. Champagne Lakes is the most secluded and spacious RV Park in north San Diego County. Choose from a rustic tree covered site near the lake or a modern site with a large concrete pad that provides easy access and maximum flexibility for today's largest slide-out equipped rigs. Sites are ready with every modern amenity including septic, fresh water, cable television, 50 amp, 30 amp and/or 20 amp electrical service, and WiFi internet service. Natural Beauty. Champagne Lakes RV Resort is nestled in a valley and features huge trees, flowering plants and lots of green lush ground cover. The resort is 50 acres of nature and wildlife preserve, with 3 lakes that are fed by the local mountain streams. Wild ducks and geese have made these lakes their home for over 40 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Champagne Lakes Rv Hotel Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing