We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIdden Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Escondido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Escondido RV Resort
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“HIdden Gem”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This small RV park in the city of Escondido is worth a look. The spaces are really close together, but the upper level spaces are well placed and landscaped to provide each space privacy. The showers and restrooms are really clean and the staff is nice and helpful. The best feature of the park is its location. Escondido is a really neat town that has lots of shopping, good groceries (Trader Joes and Spouts), local wineries and Stone Brewery - an area MUST for great beer and great food. The highway gives you easy access to San Diego and the coast and to Temecula and wine country. We stayed here for two weeks and it was a great base camp.

Room Tip: Ask for upper level when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JJN96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed one night in our motorhome. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the entrance and lower campground is very cramped. There is a small area for RV parking during registration, but there were cars parked in it, so we could not stop anywhere because traffic was coming and going. I circled the campground while my wife went in to the office to register. Wherever I stopped, I was blocking traffic. We parked in the upper campground which was far enough from traffic to be very quiet. Spaces were paved and roomy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very nice property. Stay was over 2 months. We are not a Big Rig, but did have an upper spot and requested an upper after viewing the property. Staff is so nice and so very helpful. Very low key spot to stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

There is an upper and lower level. The upper is more attractive but reserved only for Big Rigs. I did not feel comfortable being so close to neighbors on the lower, for there is no privacy. You can hear the freeway from both levels, although not unbearable if doors and windows are shut. They do have a smal area for dog walking. I thought that the park adjacent to the RV park would be welcoming of my dogs but i found out that it is a county park and does not allow dogs. Staff is friendly and accommodating, grounds and restrooms are clean. Nice to have pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank montanalover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Escondido RV Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your concerns in regards to pets. In order to meet the continued demand for more pet amenities, we have recently opened up a 1/3 acre off leash dog area with some fantastic fun things for pets. We hope that you will come back and enjoy it on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

As stated in some of the other reviews, there are a number of good things about this park. It' well maintained with good landscaping, the bathrooms and laundry areas are clean and the staff are helpful. The location is a mixed bag due to a high amount of freeway noise especially on the upper level which you will need if you have a longer rig. There is ample shopping and other touristy stuff to do within a very reasonable distance. On the downside, there is almost no parking available down at the amenity buildings so doing laundry or taking a dip in the pool requires a long walk if you are on the upper level. There are no walking trails through the park so the trip is longer than necessary because you have to follow the road. We found the sites to be small in comparison with other parks. Our rig is a 36' 5th wheel with a crew cab truck. Parking both units totally on the site is only just manageable. The few available larger sites were quite expensive compared to other parks we have stayed in. In closing I would say - nicely kept but noisy, pretty tight quarters and a little pricey overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The only reason why this Park didn't get a 5 is because of the tight fit we had to deal with in spot #74 at 9pm at night. My family has a 37" toy hauler & it took us a good 30 mins to get into the spot. In the end other stayers were nice enough to help. If your trailer is smaller than these spots are a piece of cake. If not get a spot that is adjacent to a road for better back up room. Other than that the park was very quiet, very clean, and the bathroom/showers were so great. I will stay here again just not in spot #74.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Blonde L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The resort has an upper and lower section. The lower section have tighter sites meant to accommodate smaller rigs with the upper section meant to accommodate the large rigs. The resort is situated right adjacent the freeway with the lower sites mostly missing the constant drone of the freeway. The upper sites closest to the freeway you can actually see the freeway and it's traffic noise that comes with it. The upper sites furthest away from the freeway would be better to make some of the traffic noise seem less noticeable. All paved roads and parking pads with nice landscaping throughout the sites and resort.

The facilities are kept in top notch shape. The clubhouse and facilities are very attractive. The resort is situated close to everything from box stores, restaurants, shopping and service stores... Oceanside is a short 30-40 minute drive but the freeways do become very busy during typical rush hours.

In all our time spent there (2 weeks) was good outside of that constant freeway noise as we faced the freeway in the upper level. The office staff were very helpful and friendly particularly the manager, Jenny!

Room Tip: Stay on the upper level near the back of the resort which backs onto a park to help drown out some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidb1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
0.1 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#15 of 16 in Escondido
36 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escondido RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escondido RV Resort

Property: Escondido RV Resort
Address: 1740 Seven Oakes Rd, Escondido, CA 92026-3308
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escondido RV is located in North Country San Diego near attractions such as Beaches, Local Wineries, LegoLand, San Diego Safari Park, Palomar State Park, Children's Discovery Museum, Queen Califa's Magic Circle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing