We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholly inadequate”
Review of Motel Mediteran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel Mediteran
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wholly inadequate”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I reserved a room with a queen bed and got a double bed. According to the Motel Mediteran Web site, they don't even have double beds. The room was so small that the door almost hit the bed. There isn't enough parking to accommodate the number of rooms at the motel. When I went out to eat I came back to find that there was nowhere to park. There is no street parking nearby, so I had to wait for space.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    121
    20
    8
    21
See reviews for
107
123
30
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Nice hotel for a great price. Rm 107 was big, clean, and new. Great customer service. Forgot our cell phone charger. Sent a SASE and we got it back in two days. Comes with breakfast. Not fancy but once again great for the cost of the night.

Room Tip: 5 dollars more went with 107 and liked it a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shmrq17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The photos at expedia.com match with the real motel. But, as you know, photos do not give you a sense of depth. So the reception area is actually small.

The motel is near the highway and easy to find. Room is very basic. Bathroom is clean and water pressure is good. Breakfast is served in a cramped area, with only 6 seats. Make sure you go there early morning. Make-your-own waffle is good. I do not eat the jelly – it is completely frozen when I open it. Due to cool weather, I do not use the pool.

Internet speed is very good for our two laptops. I have no issues uploading videos to Facebook. If I visit the area again, I will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaby_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Arrived and the reception person was very friendly. Promptly gave us the keys to our room (on the second level of the main building) and explained where some local eateries were and where breakfast was. We found the first night very noisy from the road traffic but once we got used to it there were no problems. The room was clean and tidy and met our needs. Breakfast was good (pastries, waffles, muffins, fruit and some cereal options), nothing ran out however we did find on our last morning we had to wait a while to find somewhere to sit as it was very busy. One of the nights I got cold so asked that an extra blanket be brought to our room which they had no problems doing. The heater in the room worked well also. Overall the stay was pleasant and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, CA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed here Jan 19.

Room small as expected but it has a fridge and microwave. Free continental breakfast was also a nice feature. Very little in walking distance except for one good restaurant. See separate review. The had a guest coin laundry as well. Always a plus.

Cons: Bed was hard and couldn't sleep in it after 7 hours. Parking very tight.

Overall a great value ($66 including tax!) if you're looking for a basic room for one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I just spent 2 nights at this motel and was very satisfied. The hotel is located in a great, central area. The room was comfortable and had what I needed. Very clean and quiet. The couple that runs the motel are fabulous - warm, accommodating and very caring. To me, that makes a huge difference. After searching other hotels in the area, this was great and they were made it easy and enjoyable. I will be back and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is perhaps the fifth or sixth year that we have stayed for 10 days at this lovely, family run hotel in Escondido. Well located, near downtown and other amenities. We have stayed at other hotels before, including more expensive chain motels over the years, but this is our favorite place to stay. The rooms are always extremely clean, clientele is quiet (good for families and couples). And the price is just right. Enjoy your stay. Linda and Allen

Room Tip: We stay on the second floor facing away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escondido hotels
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
4.1 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Escondido Lodge
Escondido Lodge
#8 of 16 in Escondido
57 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Escondido
Super 8 Escondido
#12 of 16 in Escondido
247 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#15 of 16 in Escondido
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Mediteran

Property: Motel Mediteran
Address: 2336 S Escondido Blvd, Escondido, CA 92025-7028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Mediteran 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A independant motel with Franchise Quality...you will be impressed. Your home away from home. All newly renovated and Furnished 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Mediteran Hotel Escondido
Mediteran Hotel Escondido
Mediteran Motel Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing