We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUR TRIP”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Escondido Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Escondido Lodge
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
“OUR TRIP”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We just left this hotel today and am glad that we did. They were doing constant construction right outside of our room, and Friday evening our air conditioner begun making loud noises. When I called the front desk I was told that the maintenance man was gone for the day and they had no extra rooms. The front desk clerk told me he would call the General Manager and get back with me, but never did. On the website they offer an iron and ironing board in every room, we didn't have one, although they were nice enough to loan us one to use. I don't think we will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aislynn097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    8
    8
    11
See reviews for
17
10
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I didn't receive bottled water at check-in (see Jan. 2011 review), but I felt very satisfied with the room and overall accommodations for the money outlay. The location is very quiet, is convenient to highway 15 and has a restaurant next-door. The property is just slightly southwest of the main city-portion of Escondido, less than 1/2 mile off highway 15. There is a nearby supermarket / Starbuck's / Supercuts / Wells Fargo strip mall about 1/2 mile away to the north on the same street.

At the present time, they're painting the exterior, but it was not a discomfort to the overall stay. The only small discomfort is that the entrance driveway is also the exit driveway, and most of the parkings are angled, so in order to get out, you have to drive behind the building, and make a u-turn to get out, UNLESS the parking lot is not real crowded. There is an ice machine on the 2nd floor of the building and I don't think I have EVER stayed at a motel of this size that had an ice machine on the 2nd floor balcony, this was a nice addition to my stay, having a 2nd floor room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMiloserdoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

I arrived late at night, desperately needing a place to sleep. I paid cash and went to my room. The room smelled horrible - like mold or something. So I went back to ask for another room. Same thing. These are old rooms - everything is old and creepy, and the smell is horrible. There was no way I was going to be able to sleep there, so I went back and very politely asked for a refund. The guy (owner-manager) was extremely nasty and refused to give me more than half of my money back! I was so upset, that I signed up for this site and a bunch of others just to write a bad review and warn others. Stay away from this horrible place - it should be bulldozed or burned down.

Room Tip: Every room is horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodvalue100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Escondido hotels

somwhere in the southwest
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

outside of being a bit remote in general to the san diego area,this property is a good value-mind you, its apparently a used apt complex, maybe? its in an older residential/light commercil.a area on the outskirts of escondido, by the i-15. we got a slight upgrade to a kitchenette w/out even asking...this was good, as my colleague is diabetic, and it was handy in that regard.no utensils, but, still that was non-issue for us, as we had some available in the car.the lobby courtesy PC was just that: complimentary w/ no additional charge.-also at check-in, the clerk gave us two complimentary bottled of water (this is especially nice touch, since escondido is in a desert area)--there were 2 minor blips: the hot tub was only lukewarm (no biggy in say, march thru october, but in jan, a bit bracing.the onsite coin laundry was only $1.00 (unheard of in CA to be that low) and the other minor blip was the heater didnt seem to work, again, no biggy.--with that said: it should be noted, this is an older building, built when the median height of most people was about 4 inches lower than modern times, and thus the shower head nails most modern people in the chest, but waddyagonna do, right?. bkfst could use improvement (if i was cynical, I would say that they were getting kickbacks from the diner next door) complimentary newspaper is not a real newspaper, but rather USA today.outside of that, worth while.-and, no $ games played with my CC after I paid cash.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legendaryrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

I stayed here for 5 nights with 3 of my colleagues (each of us had a room) since all other hotels in the neighborhood were booked.

Pros:
1) Not too far away.
2) Cheap (Relatively)
3) Smoking rooms
4) Free Wi-Fi. Decent speed, but not too fast.
5) A great mexican restaurant (Hacienda De Vega) literally 25 yards away, provided you like Mexican food.

Cons:
1) Roaches in the loo.
2) I caught (and killed) 2 spiders (big ones) crawling on the side of my bed.
3) The mattress have holes in them (not cigarette holes but big ones on the side).
4) A/C in my room was just blowing air. Though I complained only the next morning (since I checked in late the previous night) and was told that it would be fixed in a day, it wasn't fixed at all.
5) 'Free breakfast' is a joke. The breakfast (toast, croissants, orange juice and coffee) is laid out at the reception area (very small area). If more than 3 people turn up for breakfast, there is no space left. Also, apart from a 2 seater sofa at the reception, there is no other place to sit. So you gotta eat standing up.
6) The pool (though I didn't swim) is less than 20 feet long (looks more like a big tub).
7) The key to my door (swipe card) had to be tried 3-4 times during each attempt before the green light on the door came on indicating it can be opened.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

My husband kids and I have stayed at the hotel many times, he is stationed at camp pendelton about 40 mins away so when we drive down for the weekends this is a great place to stay. Rooms have microwaves fridges & tvs. There's a great cafe next door. The staff here is great & knows us by name. Perfect location there's a mall about 5 mins away and all the fast food joints just down the road. Pool hot tub, everything you need. But I do reccomend bringing your own pillow because some times there a little flat. We love it here & for the price its great. Plus military discounts! You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiths62709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

I've booked this hotel because it was close to the San Diego Wild Animal park, which we visited the next day.

I've only paid 50,- for the room, so didn't expect much. I was wrong.

The staff was friendly, but what amazed us, were the rooms. They were really nice and spacious. Yes, everything was old, and yes, there was carpet on the floor, but everything was in one piece, everything worked and everything was clean,. The beds were also really good. Nothing I can complain about. The, free, wi-fi was also really decent.

The only negative thing is that the walls are thin. You don't want to have an loud neighbour with his alarm set at 06.00, which ofcourse we had.

It is an fine hotel, which deserves high ratings because you won't find better for this money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Escondido
Super 8 Escondido
#13 of 16 in Escondido
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
3.9 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escondido Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escondido Lodge

Property: Escondido Lodge
Address: 2650 S Escondido Blvd, Escondido, CA 92025-7336 (Formerly Econo Lodge Escondido)
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Escondido Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is no longer a part of the Choice Hotels International, Inc. hotel system, and is no longer authorized to operate as an Econo Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Escondido Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Escondido
Escondido Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing