We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value hotel”
Review of Escondido Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Escondido Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Value hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, just on spec. It's a basic hotel, but clean, with friendly staff (and the Centre City Cafe next door is great too!). Pool was good for relaxing and location suited us well. Escondido seems like a nice town. Parking was good and not too much noise from the road, so slept well. Could perhaps do with more pillows on the bed, but I didn't ask for them, and I'm sure they would have provided if I had.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    9
    8
    12
See reviews for
19
12
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at Econo Lodge in Escondido CA for 4 days recently. The location was convenient for a tournament we were there for. The hotel had everything we needed and we felt safe. Pool and hot tub came in handy and the continental breakfast and coffee was convenient. Fridge and microwave in room. Extra towels if we requested. Front desk people were very friendly and helpful with directions and tips. Hotel is right off the highway but we didn't even know that at first. Restaurant next door was great. They even printed our airline boarding passes for us. For the price, this place was excellent. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed at the Econo Logde of Escondido for a few days. The rooms were ok, but everything looked old and even though they had a sign that they were renovating I didnt see anything done. What upset me most was the front desk clerks they take their time to come help you and then they always had an attitude like it was a bother to answer my questions they kept blowing me off. Isn't that what they are there for I had to go ask housekeeping she helped me alot she should be running the office and teach them a thing or two about customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cidy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Escondido hotels

Escondido, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Well its about time I found a decent hotel in Escondido. Not only were the staff very helpful and friendly but our room was really cool it had a kitchen in it!! thanks for the stay we apprieciate it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

First off I am totally shocked by some of the reviews on here! My friends and I stayed here over memorial day weekend and this place was not bad at all, the girl at the front desk was awesome she really took the time to help us figure out what to do in the area helped with directions and was just very friendly. The rooms were nice, its a perfect place if your trying not to spend to much $$$ it was clean, looked pretty well kept and they seem to be remodeling the pool area was very nice, all in all not a bad place my girlfriends and i would def stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Out of hundreds of hotels I stay in per year, this is one of the worst!....Choice Hotels should be ashamed to have this place affiliated with them!....Horrible rooms, and killed two cockroaches crawling across the carpet there. When I spoke my mind to the counter staff, I could tell they've heard thiese same complaints over and over again...They didn't seem to care....As an FYI....there is a new Quailty Inn in Escondido (formerly Americas Best Value Inn) that I would highly recommend as an alternative!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhino_Labeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This place needs a lot of upgrades
Beds are 30 years old ,has holes and who knows what in it
AC not working properly, noisy
Kitchen cabinets ugly brown smelly particle boards
Rooms painted by 5$ workers
Doors nasty dirty- it may take 10 minutes to clean, but nobody bothers BED COVERS ARE Rooms for smokers very stinky.
A few blocks away I found nice hotel - Escondido
with nice granite bath spotless for this same price.

Room Tip: walk in before renting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escondido hotels
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Escondido
Super 8 Escondido
#12 of 16 in Escondido
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#15 of 16 in Escondido
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Mediteran
Motel Mediteran
#3 of 16 in Escondido
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escondido Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escondido Lodge

Property: Escondido Lodge
Address: 2650 S Escondido Blvd, Escondido, CA 92025-7336 (Formerly Econo Lodge Escondido)
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Escondido Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is no longer a part of the Choice Hotels International, Inc. hotel system, and is no longer authorized to operate as an Econo Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Escondido Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Escondido
Escondido Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing