We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Escondido Hotel August 2-3 for business, and this was our third stay at this hotel. We always ask for the top floor, and we have never
been disappointed in our room or this hotel. All three times when checking in we were helped by Andrew, and he is amazing. Super friendly, efficient, and truly great at his job. It would be great to come back to this hotel when we aren't working. The breakfast is good, the pool and spa area nice. Our room was large, clean & quiet. The bed and pillows were super comfortable. Great hotel for either business or pleasure, and it's easy to get to, and close to many amenities.

Room Tip: I found making my reservations online a piece of cake & we got the room & floor we asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    142
    48
    21
    13
See reviews for
184
82
31
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here on a trip with friends to visit attractions around San Diego. The location was ok---right off the freeway with not much nearby but only 25-30min to Mission Bay, Sea World, Oceanside, etc.

The room was standard 2 Queen beds with a little sitting area. Everything seemed clean and stocked. The room appeared to have been pretty recently remodeled. The room and hallway smelled strongly of cleaner with underlying smoke. The bed was firm and pretty comfortable. There was a coffee pot, microwave, and fridge. I was annoyed that housekeeping did not restock my coffee packets after the first day, but that's not a huge problem. There was free wifi throughout the hotel, with easy login instructions given at checkin.

The pool and hot tub are outside with a nice little seating area and some landscaping. I didn't try them since the weather was a bit too cold.

There is a daily free breakfast consisting of waffles, boiled eggs, cereals, muffins/pastries, fruit cups, and "coffee." Ok, so the coffee from the gas station across the way was far better. Oh well. Decent for a hotel continental breakfast. One oddity was that they close off the sitting area of the lobby after breakfast. Would be nice to have a place to actually sit besides the room.

The hotel staff were professional, but seemed a little unhappy/annoyed underneath the smiling demeanor.

My main complaint about the stay was that the hotel was overrun with noisy children. It is extremely irritating as a single adult to have to listen to kids thundering around and jumping from bed to floor. The walls/floors seemed very thin. It would be nice if parents would take some responsibility for quieting their kids in the evening. It was also hard to get to the breakfast because there were kids serving themselves and spilling food everywhere. Probably not the hotel's fault, just something to keep in mind.

Overall, the hotel was reasonable. Given a choice, I would prefer to stay somewhere with a bit nicer feel to it, but would recommend this hotel for the location and room amenities.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nita999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stood one night on July 17th. We arrived about 10am we justest wanted to find the hotel before we headed out to The Wild Animal Safari Park. So we asked the front desk if they new any good restaurants so they gave us a print out of directions to a place called The Golden Egg. So glad we ate there GREAT HOMEMADE FOOD AND NICE PORTIONS. What a way to start your day we did not even eat at the park! Came back around 7pm swam and had a nice comfy bed. Would stay again:)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsnymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I always stay at this Best Western in Escondido. The staff is very friendly and they go out of their way to make my stay a enjoyable one. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Make your reservation early. But I think all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skip1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Hotel is in a great location. Rooms were perfect ... especially if you have a family of 5. Their family suite can accommodate all very nicely. Staff was great and so was the continental breakfast the hotel provides.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay and will be going back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leximtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed here on a Sunday night before going to San Diego Safari Park. The hotel is close to the freeway and about 15 minutes from the Safari Park. We enjoyed the pool and spa after checking in. You hear a lot of the freeway noise while at the pool and I was worried we would hear it in the room. That was not the case. We slept just fine. The free breakfast was the usual Best Western continental breakfast with cereal, breads, bagels, pastries, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juices, make your own waffles. I think we lucked out that the hotel was not that busy that night because it was quiet and plenty of room for us in the breakfast room. Our stay was short so not too much to complain about. The free wireless internet was non existent in the room. The room had a microwave which could have been nice to have but we did not need it this trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkkm0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Ours was a family gathering. Escondido Best Western is close to son's home.

Tips: Call early, so you are sure to get in.

Enjoy the breakfast. It is a blast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramaflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#15 of 16 in Escondido
36 reviews
6.4 mi away
Welk Resort San Diego
Welk Resort San Diego
#2 of 16 in Escondido
1,513 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Escondido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Escondido Hotel

Property: Best Western Escondido Hotel
Address: 1700 Seven Oakes Rd, Escondido, CA 92026-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Escondido Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel is committed to providing the best in customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. This pet-friendly hotel is located near many area attractions including Iceoplex®, Legoland®, Sea World®, California Center for the Arts, San Diego Zoo Safari Park, several wineries, golfing, fishing, theaters, restaurants and casinos.This Escondido, California hotel offers thoughtfully-appointed guest rooms, including two-room suites and family suites, each with free high-speed wireless Internet, microwave, refrigerator and cable television with 75 channels including HBO® and ESPN®. Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning with hot waffles. Additional amenities include a business center, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.For superior customer service and a very convenient location in Escondido, California, make a reservation at this great hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Escondido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Escondido
Escondido Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing