We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,spacious, basic (but good)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2012

One night stay for thanksgiving with family. Pros: clean, good bed, exterior was classy, staff was friendly, offered breakfast for a charge
Cons: very basic hotel, elevator not operating( good thing grandma stayed home!) our room next to stairs were quite loud subsequently. thin towels and view was of the motor home park next door ( or freeway side) your pick .
Would stay again as it was comfortable but nothing to write home about. And no price break on room for carrying our bags up and down stairs? Listening to the poor maids haul their carts up the stairs too??

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scvgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

My family and I stayed here November 15-23, 2012. We chose this hotel because all my family lives in Escondido, and it was close to all family homes. We arrived late Thursday night, after flying from Dallas, getting caught in traffic from LAX, finally got checked in, with a little attitude from the guy behind the counter. Once we were in our room, found we only had 2 sets of towels for 4 people, my wife called down to request more towels. She was told by the front desk, "I am all alone, if you want more towels you will have to come down and get them." We should have checked out then, but given that we were paid in full for the stay, decided to give it more of a chance. They do provide a light breakfast and the lady working the breakfast area, Martha, was a delight and always friendly.

Each day, except for 3, we would have to request more towels, because they continued to only place 2 sets in our room.

Our toilet backed up twice while we were there, the maintenance guy came rather quickly and fixed it, minor irritation only.

The last couple days of our stay, the elevator stopped working and they never got it fixed in the time we were there. Did I mention we were on the fourth floor of the hotel, with four suitcases, set of golf clubs and me with a bad knee? The rooms were just below okay, peeling paint in the bathroom and old worn mattresses and pillows. I recently styled in a hotel in Uganda, Africa that I would rather stay in again then to stay at this hotel. They never offered a refund on some of the room rate due to the inconvenience, as a rewards member, I am very disappointed. The only saving grace of this trip was getting to spend time with my family all week.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The room had free Internet which was one of the most important aspects of my stay. For the price my group and I paid, we had a great stay. The room was clean and comfortable, and had nice decor for a Best Western. Thank you for a nice 2 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Had my home tented for termites. Stayed at Best Western. Very accommodating., When the work was not quite done, I was able to stay a few hours extra. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was a good size with refrigerator and microwave.

mvp

Room Tip: Away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1stamol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Used this hotel as an overnight base for a trip to the San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park. Our room was very clean and nice although it was designated as a "pet friendly" room. (We were traveling with our dogs.) There was a $25 pet fee but that was explained up front. The hotel is conveniently located near freeway access, but the freeway noise does not penetrate into the rooms. We had very little interaction with any hotel staff, but what little we did have was efficiently handled. I would hesitate to use this location as a base for visiting San Diego attractions as it is some distance from San Diego, but if you could avoid heavy traffic times, it might be workable. It definitely works as a base to visit the Wild Animal Park (or "Safari Park" as it is now known). As already stated, the room was nice... two queens and a fair amount of room space.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigjimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was our first visit to this hotel. Easily found of the interstate. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We found the room to be clean and very comfortable with all we needed for our 2 night stay. Very easy to access San Diego from the hotel, and easy travelling distance to places around Southern California.
I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is one of the best hotels in the area. Its an ideal choice for touring San Diego, the coastline and inland. We have been going back to this BW for over 10 years and it is always clean, tidy and the staff very friendly. The pool area is great. Local restaurants with 10 minutes. Do go to the Stone Brewery.

Room Tip: Try and book a room at the back of the hotel, as there is some freeway noise on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ussh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
6.2 mi away
Welk Resort San Diego
Welk Resort San Diego
#1 of 16 in Escondido
1,646 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Escondido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Escondido Hotel

Address: 1700 Seven Oakes Rd, Escondido, CA 92026-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: £72 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Escondido Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel is committed to providing the best in customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. This pet-friendly hotel is located near many area attractions including Iceoplex®, Legoland®, Sea World®, California Center for the Arts, San Diego Zoo Safari Park, several wineries, golfing, fishing, theaters, restaurants and casinos.This Escondido, California hotel offers thoughtfully-appointed guest rooms, including two-room suites and family suites, each with free high-speed wireless Internet, microwave, refrigerator and cable television with 75 channels including HBO® and ESPN®. Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning with hot waffles. Additional amenities include a business center, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.For superior customer service and a very convenient location in Escondido, California, make a reservation at this great hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Escondido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Escondido
Escondido Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing