We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great family resort”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed easter week and thoroughly enjoyed the facility. We didn't realize that it was so far from the San Diego downtown area but it was still an excellent resort. We stayed in the Boulder Creek section in a 1 bedroom villa. It was a quite large unit though it did show a bit of wear. They were in the process of renovating the units in this section, they were actually working on the adjacent unit to the building we were staying in. The pool area was very well set up, and the activities for the kids were great. Sure the place is a bit off the beaten path if you are going to San Diego, but the access to the interstate is quick and easy, and you can also find the local grocery stores a short drive away. We did go for the sales presentation and were so impressed with the resort we traded our Marriott timeshare for one there at the Welk resort. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFWNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    490
    174
    94
    110
See reviews for
746
448
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

and then decide if this is the right location for you. Welk Resort is 40 miles north of San Diego (zoo, Balboa Park, marina, etc). In morning and evening traffic you'll spend 90 min. driving into town; 40 min. one way between 10 AM & 4 PM. The freeway speed averages 80 mph so this is not for timid drivers. The resort has three areas: villas on the green; the 'hills' and mountain resorts. If you are using a one bedroom or studio you must stay in the villas on the green which are currently undergoing a much needed remodeling. The 1 bedrm. is spacious and has a great patio (choose a 3rd floor-no elevator). Each area has its own pool - Melody Hill is for 18+ and very nice but available as 2 bedrms only. The mountain resort is self-contained but quite a distance from everything else. There are two golf courses ( par 3 and Executive) which are fine; don't expect a country club quality experience. The Canyon Grille restaurant is quite good and the serviings are generous enough to split for an average eater. The grocery store is a few minutes away and a Costco is close. There are several good restaurants in San Marcos (10 min). The staff was helpful; we had ants and they responded promptly although we still had ants. The WIFI is almost nonexistant so forget the laptop. This is definitely a family oriented resort and if you don't need or want to go into San Diego then there are plentiful amenities for kiddos and adults. If you want to enjoy San Diego and its amenities, then definitely spend the extra $ to stay closer, you'll save time, aggravation, and $ for gas.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have high ceilings and make it feel more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank healthman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRIOT4657
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at this resort March 18-25th. We arrived around 3:30pm and was pleased that our 2 bedroom unit was ready. We had called this resort earlier in the week to request the Harmony Hill location and it we could have a view of the Golf Course. We also asked for an upstair unit so we would not hear anyone above us, but we did not get that request and I am glad. The room was great as well as the view of the course and water trap.

As stated the room was very nice. The bath in the guest bedroom I thought was better than the Master.

This location would be nice if you wanted to visit the wineries in Temecula, but traveling with kids we wanted San Diego. It was probably 40-45 minutes each way. So, kind of far from this location.

Room Tip: Ask for Harmony Hill and Gold course room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PATRIOT4657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We (two adults & 2 kids) stayed in a one bedroom in the Villas on the Greens area. The apartment exceeded our expectations. The full kitchen included a microwave, dishwasher, electric stove with oven and a full size refrigerator. In addition, the kitchen was stocked with plates, cups, glasses, coffee maker & blender. There was also a laundry closet with washer & dryer adjacent to the kitchen. The living room, bedroom and bathroom was spacious as well. I was worried that the place would be dirty from reading some of the reviews however, the apartment was very clean - even the bathroom.

We enjoyed a day at the pool and the kids had fun playing in the water play area zone. There was even a play structure located above the pool area. The resort was about a 45 minute ddrive to the San Diego Zoo.

I am taking one star off because it would have been a bit more convenient if they had more restaurants on the premise to choose from. We had to drive about 15 minutes to reach all the food places. There was an excellent Japanese sushi restaurant that we found in nearby San Marcos called, Umai.

We would return to the resort again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Here are some of the Pros and Cons from our Visit to the Welk Resort Escondido. Many of my views are a comparison to our home resort at Marriotts Newport Coast Villas

Cons:
- It's far from Stores and restaurants (about 15-20 min drive) With gas prices being at almost $4.5 this was frustrating.
-The room wasn't cleaned to our standard when we first walked in; The master bath had hairs in the water closet and the tub. There was dust all over the lamps in the master bdrm. And the microwave wasn't cleaned properly. It looked like there was grease on the inside.
-They put us in the Melody Hill rooms which are for adults 18 and over -since kids under 18 can't use the rec room etc. We have a 13 yr old and an 10 yr old so we had to walk everywhere for the kids to enjoy the pools with slides and nice rec rooms.
-Our room had a view of the freeway and we could hear it all night.
-The first night I did not get any sleep because in addition to the freeway noise, the heater made a rattling sound all night and it was too cold to turn it off. We called about it the next morning and there were able to fix it.
-When one first checks in, they send you to the concierge to get maps and parking pass but their real purpose is to get you on the tour to buy a timeshare. (more on that later) Our Lady was nice but she told us that the rooms were like model homes and that after I saw them I would be asking my husband to renovate my house to look like them. She said if I felt differently I should call her and tell her,... really?! I should have because, it was a sloppy attemp at a remodel, the fabrics which weren't very nice to begin with were all mismatched. The wallpaper was from the 80's and the shutters were probably from the 90's. The kitchen had a granite countertop however it was the ugliest one I had ever seen. The bathrooms were probably the nicest part of the remodel however, the work I believe was subpar (we are in the construction and interior design industry) the door to the master tub and shower opens away from the on and off handle so you have to reach around it to try to turn on the shower, this was either a mistake or wasnt thought through.
-the TV's were small, and the kids room even had one of those big heavy tv's, I can't even remember what you call them, by big i don't mean wide screen, just antiquated.
-the wifi connection was terrible! This was probably my biggest pet peave because I do all my reading on my Ipad.
-We went on the tour to get our free Ilusionist tix, but it was over 3 hrs. long. granted we showed a little interest after we saw the new gorgeous rooms, but a couple of times they left us alone for a long time. If we were to have gotten up and left they would have charged us for the tickets, so that forced us to stay seated for a very long time.
-Lastly aside from the people who were trying to sell us something the staff generally was not nice and courteous. It seemed like we were bothering them. Which was bad customer service. this was especially true in the market and restaurant.

If I haven't Bored you already here are my Pros...

-There is more to do for the kids here than at our home resort-The rec rooms were great, they had lots of activities, two pools have slides, they have lots of bbq's and firepits, they even have a man made lake you can fish in. you can even rent poles and buy bait (granted it's hot dog and cheese), They also have a nice little theatre where we watched the entertaining illusionist show. They also have a farmers market (which is more like a fleemarket but I've gotten past my cons), and a festival of lights show.
-The property has 2 golf courses which have reasonable green fees.
-They have a pretty substantial market for a resort-our home resort has a market but it is tiny.
-The rooms are pretty large and kids had two beds, so they didn't have to share which they loved.
-Even though it is secluded, it's still pretty close to the amusement parks. We went to Sea World, and spent time in Old Town San Diego, which was great-the food is amazing there!

All in all we had a great family time and we would probably come back if we were able to trade here.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the Lawrence Welk part of the resort have been renovated, however, If you have ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccsmom1560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were a bit concerned that the resort may be a bit more senior community instead of family focused due to the resort's name. We were pleasantly surprised by the rooms, facilities and activities. We were in a 2 bedroom unit in the Showboat section which is supposed to be the "older unitis" but we found the unit to be in good condition. Only odd item was that in room safes are not available in the older units. This should be changed as I cannot recall the last time I stayed in a resort without an in room safe.

Overall, the resort is very lovely for a family vacation with incredible accomodations, pools and views. It is also nicely located so that you could see southern california in one trip which was our goal. We enjoyed days in San Diego, went to the Animal Park and had a few days to just enjoy the facilities at the resort.

With that said the few items that would have improved our experience would have been having food/drink service at the pools and more restaurants available in the surrounding area. The food available in the surrounding area was mostly fast food and any nicer dining that we experienced was in San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParadiseBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our family of six stayed in a 2-bedroom villa (at Broadway Hill) during our spring break. The villa was very large (even by timeshare standards) with completely separate bedroom "wings." The villa was clean, had more than ample closet space (2 closets p/bedroom), and sported some nice updates (granite countertops in kitchen, new back splashes in kitchen and bathrooms). Internet access was free and speeds were surprisingly fast and the in-unit dryer was also suprisingly efficient. We enjoyed the huge covered deck (we were on the 2nd floor) with lovely views of the mountains and golf course. Yes, we also had a view of the interstate, but it was far enough removed to not be bothersome.

What was bothersome? The mattresses were VERY firm, to the point of affecting our sleep. And on two mornings we had no hot water for showers. (Evidently, 8 villas share one hot water heater.) And the TVs were pretty small (although not a deal breaker). These were the slight missteps we experienced with the villa.

Now, on to a review of the property. This resort has 5 different activity centers, so there are plenty of options for families that want to play pool or air hockey or the Wii, or make crafts (such as painted t-shirts), or put puzzles together, etc. And there are several clusters of pools; although none of them are spectacular in design, they are large and heated. The golf courses were adequate and economically priced. There were also several free or low-cost organized activities throughout the week. And we enjoyed a lovely on-site "farmer's market" with homemade and organic foods and various crafts. So, if you wanted to stay on-site for much of your vacation, you could stay busy.

Sadly, we found the staff at Broadway Hill to be quite uninformed and unassertive. Our kids signed up for an activity that didn't deliver what was advertised, so they came away disappointed. The staff was often unable to answer questions about the activities, so we had to rely on the pre-printed schedule, which sadly was a "generic" explanation that left us frustrated when we were trying to plan out our day. We also attended (or tried to) a night function that was offering a pasta bar. I called concierge in advance for the details and was given wrong pricing and was also never told that it was cash only (I assumed I could bill to our room).

Another concern for some may be the distance from off-site activities. The resort is a bit removed from restaurants, grocery stores, and San Diego attractions. However, we knew the distance before arriving, so we planned accordingly.

These slight hiccoughs certainly didn't ruin our trip but we definitely could have benefited from uninterrupted slumber, steamy showers, and informed staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor with lovely vaulted ceilings, which adds to the spaciousness of the villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSavvyMomAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
21.5 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#32 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
16.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing