We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I have visited the Welk Resort on two separate occasions. The check-in process has been an ordeal on both visits but things get better from there. The units are well appointed, comfortable and quite spacious. The outdoor BBQs and recreation areas are clean and well maintained. The decor is starting to show signs of aging but it appears as though they have began upgrading some of the units.
The staff are courteous and accommodating, fulfilled all of our requests in a pleasant and helpful manner.
Food services are limited. Plan accordingly. The resort is located outside of Escondido therefore you have to drive to purchase groceries or to eat at restaurants.
I would return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peekassoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Peekassoh,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and choosing to stay at Welk Resort. I am happy to see you had a relaxing stay with us. I apologize for any check -in challenges experienced during your stay. I am glad to hear everything else during your stay went well. You are correct. We are in the process of updating a number of our Villas. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

We visited Welk resorts in early December to celebrate my wife's birthday (we left the kids home!) The owners here have tried to make this resort very family friendly and it is, but the clientele here are much more mature than at many places we have been.

The rooms are nice but the walls are pretty thin. Our first night we listened to the next door neighbors watching TV and I could understand their conversations the next morning at breakfast. The interiors are well appointed with nice furniture and have everything you would expect. The kitchen had granite and everything you need to cook good meals.

The balcony we had was very large and we did enjoy drinking wine on it while the sun went down. The gas grills provided in the common areas are worn out and most have rusted thru flavor bars in them. Many had trouble lighting as I had to go to three different locations on the first night I tried to grill.

The workout room had very old equipment and needed updating. The room was large but it was located quite a way from our grouping of units. There is only one in the entire resort and unless you are in the group that houses it, there is a bit of a hike.

Overall it was a decent, clean place that we used as a base to explore the larger San Diego area. It served our purpose but we would probably look for a different location if we brought our kids with us.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank colobrad1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We knew going in that this place was going to require some driving. If you do your homework and Google map it, you will find that you be driving 35-55 minutes to the major tourist attractions such as Legoland, SeaWorld, Outlet Shopping, Zoo and Safari. The place is nice and has two pools with one water slide. The one pool that has a water slide is a bit of drive from the reception and the other is in the middle of the complex. Food is expensive on sight, but what timeshare place is not. Game rooms are pretty nice with a couple of pool tables, air hockey, foosball and ping pong.

The 2bdrm we stayed in was half modernized, the resort is in the process of doing them all. The kitchen area is large and the double set of doors leading to the bedrooms was nice to keep the sound of the washing machine and dishwasher out while trying to sleep at night.

The only complaint I would have is that the room we were in retrofitted a bathtub into a stand-up shower and it was difficult and a little awkward getting into and out of due to the large high step you needed to take.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wlomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

First time my wife and I had a bad experience. Read the previous review. Went back and stayed in a quieter unit. Would go back again. Just have to make sure you are upstairs and in a quiet area. The entire place is very nice. I am so glad we went back and tried it again. Just have to pick the right location.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest area unless you are staying with noisy kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esperandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom condo at the Welk Resort. The condo itself was very nice with high ceilings in the kitchen-dining room-living room area. It's very roomy with a large fully equipped kitchen, nice dining area and a couch with two easy chairs and TV in the living room. Both bedrooms are large enough, one with a king bed and the other with two double beds. It had a very nice balcony overlooking a fishing lake, the golf course (one of two on the property) and other condo buildings. The property covers some 400 acres and there are at least five rec buildings, some with swimming pools and fitness rooms.
Check-in was smooth and easy and once we made it clear to the concierge (where you get your auto pass to enter the gated portion) that we weren't interested in the facility tour and timeshare pitch we got our pass with no further delay.
The grounds are beautiful and meticulously maintained. There are all sorts of daily activities for almost everyone. It is a little on the remote side and a car is almost essential to do any sightseeing although they do provide bus or coach trips to other Southern California attractions. During our week it was a bit on the chilly side and we didn't use any of the very nice swimming pools.
The condos appear to have recently been renovated, but for some reason they completely ignored the electrical outlets. Most of them are so loose the appliance plugs almost fall out. The kitchen is well equipped, but the dishwasher is so loud that it's almost impossible to hear the TV while it's running. We waited until the next morning to run it so we could enjoy the evening TV. The do provide mini-maid service in mid-week with fresh towels. Daily newspapers are available from vending machines placed around the resort area.
The Welk Resort is a very nice place and suitable for all ages.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms generally provide the quietest place and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

It took us one and half hours to check into this resort. My girlfriend used her timeshare trade to stay here.. She told the front desk she did not want to be by the freeway noise...so where did they put us by the freeway noise, went back to the front desk. This time they put us in a room number that did not exist, back to the front desk, this time they put us in a room that already had guest, back to the front desk...now we are talking to a manager...bingo, we finally got a great room. The resort is very nice. Would I stay again...maybe. Not sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patticup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We leveraged our timeshare to grab a week @ the Welk Resort, and thoroughly enjoyed both our room, the service, and the resort as a whole. While we did not have any children with us to take advantage of the many day activities, we enjoyed & were impressed by the facilities. We also made great friends in the Adult-only pool / hot tub area.

Our only service issue was handled quickly and to our satisfaction.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently remodeled rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.2 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
9.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#25 of 37 in Carlsbad
122 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
14.4 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#23 of 286 in San Diego
2,095 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026-6403
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: £103 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing