We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation for Everyone! Our Room was Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in an updated 2 bedroom (Carnival building). We had a great view of the pool area and recreation room. The two bedroom was spacious and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. I enjoyed cooking in the kitchen because it was fully stocked with everything I needed to cook properly. My 12 year old son really enjoyed playing ping pong and pool. My 10 year old daughter painted ceramics for a small fee. There are so many activities at this resort for everyone. We attended the Farmers Market that is held on Mondays during the late afternoon. The resort is located in a mountain area along Highway 15. During our stay, we really didn't have very much traffic on Highway 15 and we traveled to San Diego on several occasions. We would definitely stay here again! The weather was perfect for our stay and we highly recommend this resort.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank BottomLine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear BottomLine4,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort and for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your stay with us. it sounds like you family really got a chance to enjoy our Resort activities. I am happy to see you really enjoyed your villa. Thank you for the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming your family back to our resort if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We are Welk owners and originally purchased around 2007 so our twin sons would have lots to do, and we live fairly close by so "day use" has been well used over the years. Offered a free two night stay for an "owner update", we came down. Now we originally purchased the larger side of the lock offs in Villa on the Greens, then about 5 years back we were approached to give them more $$ to go to their "points" program, which we did. The unit we were placed into was nicely upgraded, the smaller side studio of our lock off. Until we attended this owner update, we were pleased with everything.....however they discovered that our ownership was just what they called an "overlay" and we really didn't have complete benefits of their program. They were generously going to discount the money we paid and offer us a "real" ownership for much more $$$. This is completely unethical business practices and we won't be bullied into giving them another dime. Currently we own a deed and pay property taxes every year on it.....and we're quite happy to keep what we have. Welk continues to build more buildings against the hills and sell more people their product. While we do enjoy this resort, we are very disappointed in their business practices.

Room Tip: Upper floors with a golf course view is nice....the walls are pretty thin....can hear your neighbors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Kenneth Q,
Thank you for reaching out to me directly. I am glad we could address your challenges. It is great to see you enjoy the resort and all of our activities and amenities. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to me. We look forward to seeing you here at the resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had an awesome time over the resort. Customer service were helpful and well knowledgeable of the surrounding area, children activities were educational and fun to do, and the room was spacious and well maintained. We stayed for over three weeks and it felt like home. Highly recommended for families with children of all ages. Outstanding Resort!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Yolanda A,
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that your family enjoyed their vacation and our resort activities and amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort and for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate your recommendation. I could not agree more. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We did a staycation, living in San Diego. Went there for the weekend just to get away. From the time the door was opened just amazing. The ROOM that was just for us, all you need is food to cook and clothes to change into, everything else was there ( to include a washer and drier).
Would have been 5 but, we was away from the pool and the rec areas. But overall, looking forward to going to Cabos San Lucas.

Room Tip: Be specific with request, Matterhorn was away from pools and rec, but very peaceful. Stoneridge is c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Christopher M,
Excellent choice for a staycation. Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the feedback from your weekend stay with us. You will have an equally fantastic stay in Cabo. We look forward to you and your family returning to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The best genuine customer service. Our pull out bed was uncomfortable, so we weren't sure how that could be remedied, and they replaced the mattress. What an amazing difference. Traveling with an elderly parent and property hilly, not a problem; just call for shuttle service. Everyone so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Susan L,
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your vacation here at Welk Resort. I am glad our customer service team exceeded your expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Clean, updated, spacious two bedroom time share. Centrally located, minutes from gas light district, safari zoo, shopping, etc. Easy on and off freeway access. Grounds beautiful, nice golf course. Down side. We were not close to pool & spa quite a walk from where we were located. Time share presentation pushy right off the bat. Was told we would see the grounds where no one else could see, was instantly sat down with sales person.
Overall great experience would stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisezhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear denisezhere,
I appreciate the feedback from your stay with us. Thank you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details you provided on the resort. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Welk Resort. We look forward to you returning to vacation with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent a week in a 2 bedroom recently renovated villa and the place was really nice. Very spacious with a great balcony and had everything we wanted. There are multiple pools and lots of kid-friendly activities at each (ping pong tables, foosball, pool table, etc) so kids of all ages can be entertained. Very well-maintained grounds and there is something going on almost every night if you don't want to do the drive to San Diego or the ocean.

We will definitely look to stay here again if we are going to the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balanceiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Balanceiskey,
I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your vacation with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your one week stay here at Welk Resort. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to having you vacation with us again if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.2 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
11.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Tuscany Hills Retreat
Tuscany Hills Retreat
#13 of 16 in Escondido
93 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Ranch at Bandy Canyon
The Ranch at Bandy Canyon
#1 of 6 in Escondido
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026-6403
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: £111 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing