We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10am checkout is too early!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“10am checkout is too early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice spacious rooms at this resort... But 10am checkout is too early!! I have stayed here twice, both times I asked about late check out when I checked in, both times I was told to call in the morning to ask if late checkout was available... Both times I called in the morning, and let me tell you, they want you out in a rude kind of way!!! Why can't they just tell me straight out when I check-in that they don't have late check out?? go figure!!! This the only downside.. The grounds are nice...

Room Tip: Ask to be close to a pool to enjoy... Otherwise you have to drive or take a shuttle..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear ben1900,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to see your family had a great stay here at the Welk Resort. I apologize for any late check-out challenges experienced during your stay. I am glad to hear everything else went well. We look forward to you and your family visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    478
    171
    93
    103
See reviews for
723
428
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I truly loved staying at the Welk Resort a few weeks ago but DO NOT do the time share as it was close to 4 hours long and we cannot even use the "Free Trip" they give you for going. You cannot use it for 1 year if you are coming back to San Diego and if we had known that we would not have even wasted a half of our day doing this tour.

The resort is awesome lots of activities and fun for the kiddos. Rooms are amazing and we will definitely be back but just know not to do the timeshare tour.

Room Tip: Rooms of the GREEN are AMAZING as well as the Mountain Villas, they are the newest and most updated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richelleandjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear richelleandjason ,
Thank you for your delightful review. It is great to read that you had a great mini vacation with us here at Welk Resort. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to see you really enjoyed the quality of our Villas. We look forward to you returning to visit us again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautifully appointed apartments with stunning views over well maintained gold course. This resort has two golf courses and offer complimentary golf clinics weekly. They have a very good on site restaurant and also a musical theatre showing Greece when we were there. The swimming pools are great and there is also a great adults only pool if you want to get sway from the noise of someone else's kids. The market place offers a small store and also a Pizza Express

Room Tip: If you want an apartment with a full kitchen don't choose one that has LK next to the one bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Linda Q,
I appreciate the feedback from your vacation at Welk Resort. It sounds like you and your family had a great visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities, including the theatre. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We love the Welk Resort when visiting our family in Southern California. We visit five or six times a year. It is without doubt the BEST family resort in the area. Great and helpful staff. Good restaurants. Good location. Activities for all ages. Pools and water slides and family fun galore. Sorry we did not see Adrienne, our favorite celebrity staff person at the resort. Hope you are feeling better, Adrienne.

Room Tip: We like the top floor for views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Cynthia F,
First of all, thank you for making Welk Resort your destination of choice when you visit southern California. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details you provided on the resort are excellent. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon at around 5:15, got checked in without a problem. I was told that the unit I was staying in had parking a few steps away, the check-in person made the comparison that it was from where she was standing to the front door of the lobby. I could not locate the building, because the name of it faces the street that you use to drive past the actual building. I flagged down a pool security staff member, who assisted me. When I asked some of the housekeeping staff in the parking lot that noses up to the golf course if there were better parking areas, they said no, that the unit was down several flights of stairs, down a long walkway, and down another flight of stairs, and that there were only a couple of street parallel parking spots nearer toward the entrance.
I got to the unit, and discovered that it had not been cleaned. At all. Piles of filthy towels in the bathroom, kitchen, and rumpled used linens in the bedroom.
It should be noted that check in time is 4 p.m., and I arrived at the unit at 5:35. As I was on the phone with the front desk, two housekeepers entered the unit, and I pointed out that the villa had not been cleaned. There was a language barrier, and I decided to call my parents, who are the owners of the time share. I waited on the stairs outside the unit, and a housekeeping supervisor came by, and I conveyed my dissatisfaction. She said "We've been very busy" and offered a lukewarm apology. They did a good job of cleaning the unit, and as I was outside waiting, I noticed that the screen door leading to the patio had a cracked handle that was hanging by a thread, with extremely sharp edges, the frame was bent, and the screen was separated and flapping in the breeze, the glass bistro table was cracked and all of the glass was spiderwebbed and looked like it could come apart at any moment. These are all safety hazards, which I pointed out to Ms. Ibarra (housekeeping supervisor), along with wanting to make sure that neither my parents nor I were charged for those items. She told me that it was a maintenance problem, and that she'd put in a work order.
Her parting words were that someone would be bringing down linens for the fold out couch, within 3-4 minutes. After nearly an hour, I called the front desk again, and they asked me if I wanted to call housekeeping directly. I politely explained that I'd already been exceedingly gracious with my experience thus far, and that it was ultimately the responsibility of the resort to fulfill their obligation.
The manager on duty called me back, and after I explained that I was denied the use of the unit for two hours past check-in time, plus the overall condition of the unit and the empty promise of clean linen, I was offered an acceptable method of compensation to make up for my trouble. A couple of hours later, my bedding arrived, and although (presumably) clean, it was quite old with holes in the mattress pad, and a dingy hand towel thrown in. Then, a little while later, someone else came by with another bag of various linens.
The adjoining door to the unit next to ours served as a megaphone for the noisy family staying next door, and my children got very little sleep during our three night stay.
The maintenance issues were not resolved during our stay, but since I am not the owner, I don't have much leverage.
Mistakes and miscommunications can and will happen, but when even service recovery is a letdown and fraught with empty promises, it's disappointing.
This is our 4th stay here, and we have never had issues like this before, but the owners (my parents) were with me those other times so maybe that makes the difference.
The resort itself is quite lovely, with plenty of appealing and enjoyable amenities, but my stay was certainly not nearly as relaxing as it's been in years past. I do need to point out that the Canyon Grille restaurant was very good, with superb service all the way around.
I feel guilty that my parents had to use up valuable points on my stay, but even worse to think about the amount of money they've spent to purchase their membership. I sincerely hope that my experience was not typical of the Welk resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalFan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear SoCal Fan6,
We appreciate your taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. I apologize for any challenges you experienced when you initially checked into your room and during your stay. It is good to see you found our resort lovely and our service at the grill excellent. I don't think your experience was typical. We look forward to having you return again for a more typical Welk vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Some "Family" resort this is! My husband suffered a totally unanticipated massive brain bleed rendering him unconscious and in a hospital ICU room just a two days before my scheduled stay at the Welk resort in Escondido, CA. I was told that there would be NO REFUND. There is no extenuating circumstance (even for hospitalization and/or death) by which a refund will be made. Even though they were contacted within 38 hours of my scheduled arrival--NO REFUND was their stance. I don't think Lawrence Welk would have approved of that type of treatment. I will never book a reservation with any of the Welk resorts again, and I will certainly tell my friends my story about poor customer service and lack of concern or empathy on the part of the resort administrators who set such a rigid refund policy. You have turned into just another greedy corporation. You should be ashamed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Madashell134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Madashell134,
I apologize for the information you were given by Expedia. The information provided to you is not correct. Thank you for reaching out to me to get this matter resolved. I hope your husband is on his way to a full recovery. Please feel free to reach out to me directly with any further questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is our third family trip to Welk Resort. We couldn't be more impressed. The ground are beautifully kept. The condos are huge and very modern. We can get over the amenities. Four different pools with tons of activities for the kids and teens. Wonderful restaurant and bar on-site. Fun shows at the resort theater. A very relaxing spa on-site. Convenience store and resort shop are also on site. You wouldn't have to leave the property. Why would you want to with all there is to do here.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CoriLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear CoriLynne,
It is great to hear your family has had the opportunity to enjoy multiple vacations here at Welk Resorts. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort activities, features and staff. It is wonderful to hear your family had a fantastic vacation with us. We look forward to your return visit, as well as the opportunity to create more fantastic vacation memories for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
14.6 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
12.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing