We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed Welk Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We enjoyed Welk Resort”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

It was our first time at Welk and we loved it! Kids had a lot of fun swimming at their pools and hanging out at rec center. The room was really nice and peaceful. The location is amazing, surrounded by gorgeous hills. The most beautiful sunsets and sunrises. We also loved local farmer's markets with fresh veggies and fruit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jburke345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear jburke 345,
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that your family enjoyed your vacation at Welk Resort as well as our resort activities and amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another fun-filled family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    498
    177
    101
    116
See reviews for
780
460
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Bad experience will never stay here again.
No one would pick up the phone at the from desk and when I finally got through close to check out time at 10:00 am they would not give me more than 15 minutes to get out without a charge. Which I thought was completely ridiculous considering check in time is 4:00 pm. I was asking for 45 mins extra to get my things together and the ladies in the front desk were most rude and unhelpful. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Malika P,
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review, disappointed that we did not meet up to your expectations as well as ours regarding customer service. I apologize that we were unable to grant your late check out request. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back and delivering to you the professional and friendly customer services levels that so many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at the Welk Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a great resort. Very quiet area with nice amenities. Worth the short drive to other places. It has a lot to do right on the site. The dining options are good also. The Canyon Grille has lots of choices or there is a Pizza Hut Express as well. The shows that I have seen there have been fantastic. Did not see one this time. La Jolla is less than an hour away. San Diego and Temecula are about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Clint R,
I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your stay with us. Thank you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details you provided on the resort. It is great to hear you had a great stay here at Welk Resort. We look forward to you returning to vacation with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We love going to Welk Resort because we can relax enjoy the wonderful weather and property and never leave our villa. The rooms are beautiful and the patios or balconies give outside space to sit and enjoy. BBQ are near and BBQ tools are in the room so you can cook outdoors if you choose. We can join in the planned activities for our age group and have a great time, and meet people from all over the world. We recently learn what Facebook was all about in a class offered for adults. If something is wrong in the room the issue is taken care quickly. There have been very few times we have needed maintenance, but when we did it was minor issues and resolved before . There are 2 restaurants, a small grocery store, and a clothing store on property.
The productions at the Welk Theatre are some of the best we've seen. We love the local theater talent and attend almost every show when we stay.
Fun for all ages, close to theme parks in San Diego area and Disneyland.

Room Tip: there are several pools, so ask for an area closer to the pools. Most children activities take place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Patricia B,
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your vacation and our resort activities and amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Welk resort villas are large, clean, comfortable and equipped with everything suitable for an overnight or longer stay. The two sleeping rooms are spacious and well equipped. Bathroom are large with multiple sinks in each with a walk-in shower in one and a large tub/shower in the other. Dining and living quarters are roomy and equipped with comfortable furniture. The kitchen is well stocked with everything needed to cook full meals for several people. Patio furniture is plentiful and comfortable. Housekeeping keeps units spotless and responds to in-stay needs in a timely manner. The grounds are immaculate, as are the five recreation centers, each of which were used on our recent two-week stay. The workout room served our fit the needs of children and grandchildren. The onsite theater provided its typical high caliber production (Grease) that family enjoyed with the resorts dinner/theater option. By all accounts the Welk Resort Escondido is an exceptional site offers something for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Greg C,
Thank you for your excellent review. it is great to see your family had a fantastic two week vacation here at Welk Resort. I appreciate the details on our resort accommodations, amenities and activities. We look forward to you and your family returning for another fun filled family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reno
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

1. Checking in will frustrate you, they try to get you to tour the time share. They do not care what you need or want, just that you get the "parking pass" but, oh do you want a free gift and a tour? Say no. Just say no. I couldn't even get a room in the location I wanted, I got their nicest villas, when all I wanted was walking distance to the golf course! Freaks just would not hear anything about my needs, just wanted me to know I was in their most updated villas. Come on people, customer service is about my needs not yours. No, I don't want your time share, I just came to golf. So why the gees would I want to be in Mountain villas that requires me to drive to the golf course!
2. The rooms have no daily cleaning, no daily toiletries, you do it all yourself including your trash. It's not a true hotel, but a freaking time share. Ok, if I wanted to do my own daily laundry, dishes, cook, I would have stayed home. I had no idea going through Expedia that this was a time share, not a resort hotel.
3. The place is trashy and old, literally. I found trash outside my patio door on checking in. The plumbing leaked spouting water like a whale that needed a plumber on day 1. The unit was supposed to be their upgraded one, with the thick square box TV from a decade ago. I hate to think of the standard unit. The rate for my luxury was average of approx $200/nt.
4. The property is removed from anything of interest to me. Really far from zoo, seaworld, balboa, etc. Heck, I came for the golf course, but couldn't get to it even after getting my room without driving to it from the mountain villas. There is 1 mediocre restaurant to eat at, 1 slow pizza hut express, 1 not real Starbucks but rather a store with Starbucks cups and a pre made coffee pot using Starbucks coffee sitting on a counter for you to dispense. Seriously. Sad place.
5. 1 star for the pools, but pools are associated with specific villas do you may end up having to drive this vast complex to get to your pool. Pool towels in your room, may only be 2 so you have to call for basic things like towels.
6. Staff consistently not customer service focused on serving your needs. This includes check in to people on the phone. I was supposed to get VIP services through Expedia, whatever that meant here.
7. There are free activities like soccer golf, crafts, farmers market on Monday. These do not make up for the isolated location way up in Escondido. Free parking, free wifi. But the kids ear free is only with a paying adult, once a day, at the same 1 restaurant. I don't eat at the same place every day on vacation, that's part of why I take vacations. .. no cooking, eating out, splurge, relax. Who comes on Vaca to continue mundane chores from home like cooking, cleaning, and eating the same thing everyday.

This place just was not for me in anyway, it was definitely not a place to relax on vacation. Be warned because it is not a place to get pampered. Check out is 10 AM, think about that, 10 AM with a charge of 50 per person still in the room afterwards. Think... is that your vacation?

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank pickyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear pickyreno,
We appreciate your taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. We apologize that you had not seen on Expedia that daily housekeeping service is available for a surcharge and arrangements can be made at check-in and that our front office team did not mention and ask if you would like this service. By allowing guests to choose whether they would like daily cleans or forgo, allows us to keep our pricing competitive. Our San Diego Resort has 714 luxury villas. There are times we are not able to accommodate a specific villa location request due to full occupancy. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and hope you will consider giving us another chance to change your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice spacious rooms at this resort... But 10am checkout is too early!! I have stayed here twice, both times I asked about late check out when I checked in, both times I was told to call in the morning to ask if late checkout was available... Both times I called in the morning, and let me tell you, they want you out in a rude kind of way!!! Why can't they just tell me straight out when I check-in that they don't have late check out?? go figure!!! This the only downside.. The grounds are nice...

Room Tip: Ask to be close to a pool to enjoy... Otherwise you have to drive or take a shuttle..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear ben1900,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to see your family had a great stay here at the Welk Resort. I apologize for any late check-out challenges experienced during your stay. I am glad to hear everything else went well. We look forward to you and your family visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
8.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#13 of 16 in Escondido
89 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing