We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, First Class Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Ruidoso NM
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience, First Class Resort”
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I was somewhat concerned when I read some of the negative reviews assosciated with this resort but we were able to book the time we wanted and obtain the lodging we desired for myself, spouse and six golfing friends. After staying there, I am convinced that either the reviewers who were so critical had written about a different place and/or were trying to keep folks away for their own motives. Our stay was absolutely first class, Two couples each stayed in a two bedroom condo which was absolutely incredible, spacious and clean, we could not have asked for better, especially since we were trading a time share. The staff was hlepful and friendly, the grounds are immaculate and attractive. We did not eat at the restaurant so I cannot comment on it. I was prepared based on other reviewers to have a difficult time with the time share sales personnel but nothing could be farther from the truth. One attempt was made to interest us in a "tour and presentation" on check-in, we refused and heard no more about it. All eight of us highly recommend a stay, the resort is in a good location and again, the two bedroom condos are very spacious, two good sized bedrooms on each end, two full baths, large kitchen, adequate living room and a very nice patio. Treat yourself if you want to stay in the San Diego area, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roxieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    498
    177
    101
    116
See reviews for
781
460
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Just returned from California. 11/19/2010 thru 11/27/2010.
Stayed at the Lawrence Welk Resort in Escondido (San Diego)
The resort was very well kept. Public areas were clean and very attractive. Pools and recreation areas were very nice. I stayed in a 1 bedroom unit in the Greenbrier section. The unit was clean and well stocked with everything we needed for a very comfortable week. Very spacious and had a great balcony, with patio set. House keeping came in and took out garbage, and replaced towels once during the week. This was a RCI exchange and we were very pleased with it. Would love to vist again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Beachbabyny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

While the resort is equal distance from excellent wine tasting, San Diego attractions, and the Pacific ocean, this place is made to just relax. The weather is great, golf courses are not crowded, lots of pools available, and always engaging activities at the resort. We prefer the older two bedroom Lawrence Welk Resort Villas but all are nice, not real fancy but spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen is great for home cooking, the Canyon Grill food is very acceptable, and there are a lot of restaurants within an easy drive (as well as full grocery stores. The Monday farmers market is great but the resort convenience store is limited and pricy. Even out kids did not like the little Pizza Hut on site. For excitement, go to New York (muggings can be exciting). Go to Welk San Diego to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank polarbearx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I was lured into a timeshare talk at Miramar Air show which I had never been to but have notoriously heard about for years. They were offering free air fare and two nights hotel in Hawaii so my wife and i signed up to see what this was all about.
Our tour guide was Scott who was a very genuine nice guy and i respected his opinion and his ability to "sell" the idea of a timeshare without making me feel pressured. I knew from the beginning the chance of my actually signing up for this was about 1%, but i did give Scott my full attention and I will have to say that after hearing all the perks and extras thrown in at the end it was tougher to walk away then i expected. In the end the big factor that kept me from signing was the fact that you had to make a decision during your visit or the offer was void. I certainly am not an impulse buyer, especially when you are talking about a purchase over 10k and i just couldn't get past the fact if this was SUCH A GOOD DEAL as we were told, then why was a being pushed out of my comfort level and told i couldn't go sleep on it? The "closer" or the manager of the sales guys came over and really laid the heat on and that was the breaking point - although he was also courteous his demeanor was that of a pure salesman interested in one thing - closing the deal. When he realized we really were going to say no, he seemed to suddenly lose interest in us and got up from the table and just walked away. Scott was very nice and walked us out - i would definetly ask for him if you ever do this tour!
Regarding the Welk resort in Escondito...it looked nice, but i wasn't blown away by any means. Its in the middle of some canyons and has a golf course and some pools, but if you are interested in seeing San Diego or the ocean, its not that convenient
My last bit of advice - Be ready for a 3-4 hour talk - they tell you 90 minutes when you sign up, but that is definetly a stretch!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
11 Thank jamesdunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed here as part of a Timeshare Trade through RCI. There are some great things about this resort and there are some bad things.
Good: There are TONS of pools and activities.
Bad: The pools were really cold and everything is pretty far away. The grocery stores were 15 minutes away and the market onsite was really expensive.
If you do not plan on going siteseeing or leaving the resort this is a great place to stay. I would go in late summer because I would imagine the pools are warmer.
For us, it was too far away from everything. I cannot imagine returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahlovesvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We arrived and checked in with very little wait. We stayed at the Villas on the green and had a ground floor patio because of a child in our party with special needs. They were very accomadating. We opted out of the sales pitch and enjoyed as many events as possible. The accomodations were great, the pools were fun and relaxing we even worked out every day! The location is great for day trips to the Zoo, the Navel Base and much more. We were happy to see a Trader Joe's so close for home cooked meals. I will visit again using time share trade points. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Our family really enjoyed this resort and we look forward to going back sometime soon. We traded our week through Interval International. The waterslides are wonderful, especially for the kids. My 4 year old was big enough to go down and they do not drop off into a pool, so I felt it was safe for her. They had pools and recreation centers all over the resort. They have activities planned daily, so the kids are always entertained. They had hula hoop contests, balloon toss, ice cream sundaes, air hockey, fuse ball, pool tables, fishing and much more. Like most timeshares, the fitness room was very busy in the morning and much better at night.
My kids really enjoyed the magic show that was put on at the resort's live theatre. This was well worth the extra money!! They have other shows you can choose from as well.
I was a little disappointed that they fogot to call us about the timeshare sales. We usually attend them to see what they have to offer.
The other thing we didn't like about the resort is the older units (the Lawerence Welk units) because the bath is closed in and it is hard to bathe the kids in this set-up. We would've liked to stay in the newer units with two bedrooms, but they never seem available as a two bedroom unit. These units are very dated, but they are very clean. They are very spacious and big enough for our family of five.
The restautant on site is pricey but there is a Pizza Hut and 15 minutes down the road there are a lot of food places and stores. This resort is located very close to the Wild Animal Park and Legoland.
Overall, we thought this was a great resort!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
8.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#13 of 16 in Escondido
89 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing