We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Hotel!”
Reviewed 10 July 2007

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful with a convenient location. Great choice for Escondido!

  • Liked — Location and Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariposa1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    58
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
47
33
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2006

Did not find the same satisfaction as the other people who stayed here.

We were given a room 121 on the ground floor close to the pool and next the side entrance. We could hear anytime someone used the door and therefore did not sleep well. We could also hear the kid in the next room in the morning. I am not a light sleeper - I would say the sound proofing is inadequate.

The other major complaint was the shower - there was not enough water pressure to wash the soap out of your hair. My husbands comment "I would be better off putting my head in the toliet". He also had to bend over to use the shower head and he is only 5'8" tall.

We had a king bed and there was only about 2 1/2 feet between it and the entertainment center/closet to walk around. The bed was not that comfortable.

Thank goodness we arrived late and left early - I would have not stayed here another night.

I am not sure when the hotel was built, but it is a older building and it is seems to be well maintained. The decor was nicely update.

The hotel is right next to the freeway. We did not have a problem with the noise as we were on the 1st floor, but had been told that the freeway noise is really loud on the 3rd floor.

Food - Looked liked a nice selection of pastries and cereal.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank yojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Escondido hotels

Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2006

i wasn't as satisfied as i thought i would be. when we checked in, we waited about 20 minutes cos no one was there at the desk..the lobby was nice.. we got a really really close room to the lobby... which was good.. with a view of the pool.. there was no microwave or fridge.. there was an empty corner.. i imagine that it used to be there... we payed 117.80 for a night.. too much for what we got.. continental breakfast was a joke.. they cleaned it up before the time they said they were.. so wake up early for breakfast..

close stuff near by.. like target.. and other food places.... would i stay again?? yes, but not for this price..

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank kalygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2006

Like others who have reviewed this hotel, I was hesitant about staying here. Escondido isn't the greatest area and this is only a 2 star hotel. Boy was I surprised! The room looked brand new and was very nice. All the amenties were in good shape and the bed was *really* comfortable! My girlfriend was impressed, so that says it all! This should be at least a 3 star hotel and it would be on the high end of the spectrum. This is also the closest hotel to the Harrah's Rincon Casino and Hotel (which was sold out), and this is a great deal if you can't or don't want to stay there. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2006

I was hesitant to stay at the Holiday Inn Express - but I shouln't have been. Great room (rented a suite so might be different with standard), almost like an apartment. Great bathroom - the showerhead was excellent, great water pressure, fluffy towels. The bed was firm, so depending on how you like it...Many many fluffy pillows were provided. Wonderful!

Staff was warm and helpful, and not overly freindly. A great combination.

And, I was able to use the line "I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night!" at the business conference I was attending!

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arizona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 November 2005

Room was tiny, but clean and comfortable. Very accommodating team. Great experience!!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OMaha, NE
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2005

This is my home town and the first time I have had to stay in a hotel there, but this Holiday Inn Express had my reservation in order and ready for me when I checked in, plus it included a priority club upgrade to a nice suite without my asking for it -

The Hotel hallways were being remodeled and they were not that great looking, but the room was nice and had basically everything I could need including two tv's, a frig, microwave, kitchen sink, dishes, king size bed - comvertible sleeper sofa and a nice bath - with amenities including shampoo, conditioner, hand cream, and mouth wash -

The bathroom had some water ants in the tub and floor area, but other then that the room was nice -

The breakfast bar was limited and could easily have had a few more items and the bakery was somewhat stale as if it was from the previous day - I thought the breakfast bar could have used more attention. But all of the staff that I met were very friendly and seemed to care about their job and the task they were doing. The pool and spa area looked nice and clean and had nice flowers and tropical plants - the exercise room had a nice variety of equipment - the one thing the hotel lacked was a business center.

I did come home late from a reunion I was attending one evening and there were a lot of Hispanics huddled in the parking lot - I grew up with Hispanics and know them and treat them well - but this group acted a bit roudy as if they had been drinking and I thought that security should have handled it - but when I got to my room, which faced that section of the parkinglot, it appeared that they had dispersed.

There was also a hotel cat that I saw in the lobby and other areas of the hotel and while I enjoy pets, I know that some are alergic to them, plus I thought it was not sanitary for this cat to be in the same area that the breakfast items were being served.

Having said all of that, I would stay there agin -

Helpful?
7 Thank TravelingMinister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
2.2 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Escondido
Super 8 Escondido
#13 of 16 in Escondido
247 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
428 reviews
2.6 mi away
Escondido Lodge
Escondido Lodge
#8 of 16 in Escondido
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Address: 1250 W Valley Pkwy, Escondido, CA 92029-1704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego-Escondido is nestled in hills of north San Diego county, minutes to Wild Animal Park, Performing Art Center, Harrah's Rincon Casino, Valley View Casino, Pala Casino, Cal. State San Marcos, Award Winning Stone Brewing Co., Golf Courses, fishing, and Wineries. Easy access to downtown San Diego, Seaworld, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, Legoland, Beaches, Parks and only a few miles from hiking, Cineplex, and Ice skating. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Centrally located to business & financial district of Escondido. Local companies include Sony, Lockheed Martin, Hewlett Packard and many more. Includes daily deluxe hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido Hotel Escondido
Holiday Inn Express Escondido
Holiday Inn Escondido
Escondido Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing