We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stock up for fresh produce and picnic lunches”
Review of North Coast Co-Op

North Coast Co-Op
Ranked #32 of 186 Restaurants in Eureka
Cuisines: Healthy
Description: Not technically a restaurant, but an alternative grocery store that sells locally produced, organic stuffs. They have a sandwich, soup, salad, desert bar and a Deli, or we cruise the store for items for our picnic. There are tables and chairs in(and out in good weather). It's sister store is the Northcoast C0-Op down the 101 in Arcata on J st. between 8th & 9th. Rather stop at either of the Co-Ops for lunch or dinner, although they run out of the homemade soup by 5/6PM.
Restaurant details
Description: Not technically a restaurant, but an alternative grocery store that sells locally produced, organic stuffs. They have a sandwich, soup, salad, desert bar and a Deli, or we cruise the store for items for our picnic. There are tables and chairs in(and out in good weather). It's sister store is the Northcoast C0-Op down the 101 in Arcata on J st. between 8th & 9th. Rather stop at either of the Co-Ops for lunch or dinner, although they run out of the homemade soup by 5/6PM.
San Mateo, California
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“A good place to stock up for fresh produce and picnic lunches”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stopped by the Eureka branch and picked up something simple for dinner. When I showed up at 8 pm, the sushi bar and deli were closed. I was still able to pick up teriyaki chicken rice bowl, veggie pad thai and penne pastas in pre- packed containers. All I needed was a microwave. Everything turned out ok. Fresh and convenient. I would stop by again if I am in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank singinggigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh food.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I can get fresh fruits, breads, and cheeses which are some of my favorite foods to eat. Also, great organic coffees and teas. A variety of nice juices too. I really don't look for dislikes. Therefore, I only liked.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“The Co-op is the place for fresh food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

In the downtown district, we passed the Co-op and thought to stop in for a little fruit, etc for lunch. The store rivals if not surpasses the Whole Foods and Trader Joe's model. The fruits and vegetables were fresh and ripe. We bought some tomatoes and an avacado for a sandwich and they were both perfectly ripe and very flavorful.

They have a wide range of grains and rices that can be dispensed from canisters.

We also bought some whole wheat bread with poppy seed top. The bread was outstandingly flavorful and was able to remain fresh for a few days as well.

A definite treasure to the local residents and visitors.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eureka! Healthy wholesome food!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Absolutely amazed to find this co-op. Great selection of fruit, bread, it had separate deli, salad and sushi bar. Carried local producers products: Katy's Smokehouse, Loleta, Cypress Grove cheeses, Diestel turkey deli. I only wish I could shop here regularly, but alas I was on a road-trip, so we purchased what we needed. This is a the best option to get great food when driving through Eureka.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_teena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Natural Food Heaven!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

While traveling through Old Town Eureka, we happened upon the huge and wonderful North Coast Co-op. It was like a dream come true... amazing bulk foods, produce, natural groceries of every sort, fresh baked goods, salad bar, hot bar, soup, sandwiches, etc. We stocked up for the rest of the trip! I had salad bar with quinoa salad, grilled veggies (OMG), uber fresh greens and other salad makings. Delightful food, interesting people, good service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Coast Co-Op also viewed

Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 

Been to North Coast Co-Op? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing