We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can tell this is a family owned place.”
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayview Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You can tell this is a family owned place.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

First impressions are important, and the grounds of the Bayview Motel are very well kept. It's a quaint two-storey building that was built in 2000 (replacing the old El Rancho motel) that sits high above the roadway and overlooks the bay and ocean in the far distance.

The office is in a small building across the courtyard. Others have commented that the office is actually the family's living quarters, as if it's a bad thing. It isn't. They greeted us promptly and had us in our room in no time. It also means that if you need something or something goes wrong in the complex, they'll know about it immediately.

Our ground floor room was large, clean and nicely decorated, with a fridge and sink area inside the front door and a bright, spacious bathroom. There is no microwave oven, presumably to avoid food odors.

Because the room is larger than most, there was a table with two chairs and a sofa with coffee table. It seems like a small thing, but it meant that we could each have our own little area without being forced to slouch on the beds. The lighting was decent, too - there are overhead spotlights that could be turned on for each area, allowing bright reading light over the sofa without unnecessarily blinding someone watching TV on the bed.

There's even a back door that opens onto a tiny little patio area with a bench (although don't expect much of a view - there's an earth berm at the edge of the property to muffle road noise).

We had a great night's sleep here and appreciated the extra space and cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jammer374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    71
    26
    3
    4
See reviews for
58
86
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This motel was OK, but we probably won't stay there again if we ever get back to Eureka. The staff was nice and freely gave us extra coffee packets as requested. However, when we first arrived, it was a little uncomfortable walking into the "office" only to find ourselves in the entryway of the family's great room. "Grandma" was in the kitchen cooking dinner. "Mom" and the kids were on the sofa watching television. "Dad" checked us in. The room was clean and comfortable with newer furnishings and, as advertised, the motel was perched above the highway. However, the bay view was nonexistent. Even the low-lying clouds couldn't disguise the industrial buildings and the metal dumpsters in the parking lot across the street. We did get a good night's sleep -- in between the periodic sirens on the main drag below us. The place wasn't terrible, but as I said, I doubt we will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieJOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our room far surpassed our expectations - better than most of the chain hotels we have stayed in on our trip. It is a family owned and operated motel with great, comfortable rooms and friendly and helpful staff. We would return here without hesitating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

On our way to Seattle we stopped in the Bayview Motel. We were welcomed by the friendly owners, who gave great support and good advice for dinner and breakfast. The rooms, besides other things equipped with a fridge, are clean and very commodious. We had a great time sitting outside and watching the sunset over the bay. Really nice location, we will come back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gspla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Checked in late - management waited for us and was friendly and accommodating. Area isn't great but room was very clean and roomy for our family of 4. Room was upstairs, nice balcony with view of bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a good stay at the Bayview..the management was helpful and friendly when we checked in. Our room was downstairs and large and comfortable..very clean, plenty of pillows and blankets. two beds with a couch and sitting table, coffeemaker, a small frige,hairdryer,toiletry,ice machine down the walkway..Quite , No air but you really don't need it in Eureka..Nice view from our window, watching the setting Sun..had Pizza delivered ..I recommend this Motel, It is affordable, clean and Quite...would stop again if I am in Eureka...recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel is probably the best deal in Eureka. We were a family of five and they offered us a family suite a t a price we could afford. The rooms spacious and spotless. This family run hotel takes freak pride in providing clean rooms at a great price. I did not see any other places in Eureka or north in theRedwood forest area that was as nice as this place for the price. No breakfast was provided but there are plenty of choices in Eureka. Check out the Somoa cookhouse. The owners provide excellent advice on local restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#8 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Property: Bayview Motel
Address: 2844 Fairfield St, Eureka, CA 95501-3525
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Eureka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely motel overlooking Humboldt Bay was completely reconstructed in 2000, but has been family owned and operated since 1974. The comfortable, spacious accommodations are kept meticulously clean and ensure a relaxing stay. Every room faces westward for a view of Humboldt's magnificent sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Motel Eureka
Bayview Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing