We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Eureka)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
85
82
65
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
82
65
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslost coast breweryrain showerhomeless peoplecarson mansiondirectly across the streetwall heaterworked finefree wifistay there againnight's sleeproad tripflat screenbed was comfortablecoffee makerthe ground floorclean roomsnice room
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Older AAA Approved motels like this are NOT a Best Western or Hampton Inn. Hello!!! For the 1 diamond rating this place had they had ammenites beyond what is required. AAA customer for 20 yrs. here. This place is worth it if you're not a snob.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoohBear13Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlnatha, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank You PoohBear13Utah for your honesty. We work hard to provide our customers with a high level of service so they are as comfortable as possible. You are absolutely correct. We are not a 5 star property, but if you are looking for a motel that is well priced, clean, and a great staff, you can always count on us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I had to cancel my reservation and the owner/manager refused because it was made by a travel agency. He said he wouldn't charge my credit card, and hours later he said he was going to charge my credit card anyway, because he had to pay the agency and the internet vendor.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
Thank BWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlnatha, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

First and foremost, our apologies BWords for your unpleasant experience. It appears there was a bit of miscommunication in the message that the manager was trying to convey to you. Unfortunately, if reservations are made through a third party website (Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels, etc.) the motel itself has no control over the reservation. Cancellation must be made directly through the avenue in which it was booked. I'll assure you that the manager made every attempt possible to minimize your cost of cancellation. If you refer back to your credit card statement, the only charge you received was a small commission that was adminstered to us by the vendor. Any charges you would have incurred for the room through our establishment were not charged. We suggest you contact the vendor directly to see if they wish to excuse you fully from the reservation. We still welcome you to our property in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We found the staff very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are old but clean. You can walk to the wharf in 5 minutes so it feels like you are staying right on the ocean. Quiet and cozy. For the low price, a great place to stay for a night or two. Nice parking just below the rooms off the street so you won't get wet going to your room. If you are making a trip to see your kids in Arcata, stay here for half the price.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank drimmune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlnatha, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank you drimmune for your comments. We are glad that our staff was able to accomodate your needs. Our property has a very convenient location to some of the finer things that Eureka has to offer, and were glad you were able to take advantage of this. Not to mention our unique covered parking which only one other motel in Eureka can offer! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

I'm an attorney who often is in court in Eureka, the county seat. I invariably stay at the Townhouse. It is a short walk to the courthouse, and in the evenings, to the old-town restaurants. In the mornings, if I'm up early enough, I can take a bit of morning excercise walking in the park by the nearby waterfront. The motel is old and the rooms, which are all on the second floor over the parking area, have odd layouts. But they have microwaves, TV, refrigerator, and most important for me, wi-fi high-speed internet - also available in the parking area. The people who run the motel are very helpful and friendly. There is a late-night liquor/convenience store up the block if you need newspapers, books, toothpaste, or, of course, soft and hard drinks. I have probably stayed at the Townhouse over 60 nights in the past several years. You can stay at other motels in Eureka, get bigger and more modern rooms, pay quite a bit more and be farther from the sights and restaurants. You'll have to judge the tradeoffs, but for me the Townhouse is the only place in Eureka to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fred-Benson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlnatha, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thanks Fred-Benson for your kind words. It's always a pleasure to have you, as well as many of our other regular customers at Eureka Town House Motel. Yes, our property has been around for quite a few seasons, but we continue to "modernize" and regularly make improvements by adding ammenities similar to what you had mentioned such as FREE wi-fi high speed internet, refrigerators/microwaves, etc. We look forward to a continued professional relationship.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

My friend and I traveling south on HWY 101 had difficulty finding availability. We stopped at the Townhouse Motel displaying the AAA sign. We were way overcharged at $99.00 for a very outdated, dark, unclean, not fresh smelling, room. Besides the above, for our $99.00, there were no amenities at all.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nevadagoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

I wanted to take this opportunity to provide our humble apologies for your "terrible experience" Nevadagoldman. It's extremely unfortunate that you stayed in a room that you were unhappy with. However, we allow all of our guests to stay on their own free will and I would like to inform of you of that same right. If you had informed us of a problem with your room, we would have gladly tried to accomodate you to the best of our abilities. We take pride in our facility and if you aren't happy, we aren't happy. As far as ammenities, we actually do have many such as free wi-fi, coffee, ice, local calls, etc. If you were promised any further ammenities and did not receive them, my apologies to you again. We are a budget motel and cannot provide the frills that the higher priced hotels can offer. As for the price, you came during the busiest time of the year and our rates are in conjunction with the other establishments in town. In any event, I hope we will be able to see you again in the near future. Sorry again for your unpleasant experience. Thanks for visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews