We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Found this Wonderful Inn through tripadvisor”
Review of Inn at 2nd & C

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at 2nd & C
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a great find! The building is a historic property in old town, all rooms are lavishly appointed with Victorian furniture and each room is different but all are charming. The manager, Betty, was amazing and made us feel so welcome. The Irish pub/restaurant on the ground floor had a menu with a good variety, including Irish fare, and the service was great. This will be one of our favorite places to stay whenever we drive down to Napa from Seattle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank You!
Trip Advisor has indeed proven to be a great source for new guests to find us, tucked away as we are in our off-the-beaten-path location on Humboldt Bay in Old Town Eureka.
Therefore, we're even more delighted to be discovered by travelers like this enthusiastic reviewer---who had such an enjoyable experience when they stayed with us that they wanted to share it.
And, we're truly pleased to now be one of their favorite, regular stops during their drives up and down our beautiful North Coast of California.
The Eagle House Victorian Inn is now proudly entering its 126th year of welcoming guests with warmth and hospitality---and looks forward to many more.
Guests like this wonderful reviewer, continue to make it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Eagle House Victorian Inn is located in "Old Town" Eureka. The lobby is the first experience I had when I arrived. It is very warm and inviting in period decor. The staff at the hotel are inviting and very professional.
The hotel is very interesting due to the layout of floor-plan. My room was located on the 3rd floor, which was fun due to the layout of the stairs (they have an elevator for the less adventurous).
The room was nicely decorated and quiet...more importantly, the bed was perfect. Just like home.
Overall, I love the Eagle House. It's one of a kind in a cookie cutter world of chain hotels.
It's attached to Gallaghers Irish pub if one is so inclined.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kels10ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

We are always delighted when one of our appreciative business guests (either a newcomer like this kind reviewer, or a returning regular) takes the time to express just how much they enjoyed (and why) staying with us at the historic Eagle House in Old Town Eureka.

The fact that they were made to feel welcome and right at home here is exactly what we want every guest (here on business or pleasure) to experience each and every time they stay at the inn---whether it's just for one night, or for many. And, we are pleased to be able to offer our business guests special, reasonably -priced , year-round rates for extended stays (of several weeks or more).

In any case, thanks so much again to this particular business guest/reviewer for taking the time to share their personal feelings about their recent stay. We certainly look forward to their return in the near future. When they do, we'll continue to try and live up to their wonderful, flattering description of our unique, charming inn. And that's a promise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Love this place. My husband and I always stay here and make a point of trying a different room each time. They are all unique, all very comfortable, all a perfect blend of modern conveniences and period decor. If you want to experience old Eureka without sacrifcing comfort or convenience, this is the place for you. The hotel staff could not be more hospitable....particularly the lady who runs the place in the afternoons and and meets and greets you...what a charmer....the pub on the premises serves great food and has a terrific ambiance...I really felt like I was back in Ireland again. If you want to get away from the monotony of chain motels/hotels and have a truly unique experience that you will remember fondly the rest of your life, this is the place for you. Grorgeous surroundings without the pretensions that often go along with these inns. Reasonable prices. Government rates. I can't say enough good things and I am pretty picky.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We couldn't be more pleased (or humbled) by all of this reviewer's kind, comprehensive and delightfully detailed reasons why they keep returning to stay with us again (and again) at the Eagle House.

What more can we say than thank you, thank you, thank you---and hope to see you soon! We promise to try and keep on living up to (and, hopefully) exceeding your expectations every time you return to experience our proud old inn here in historic, Old Town Eureka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We've stayed here twice now, last year as a couple, and returned this year bringing our adult daughter to experience this wonderful bit of Victorian Americana. Eagle House is so far beyond the standard hotel experience....it's hard to quantify. Definitely not suitable for people who are room shopping by price/location alone. (Although we consider the room rates to be exceptional value).
Eagle House is an authentic Victorian destination, and should be approached as such.
You're sleeping in an elaborately carved circa 1900 bed in a room that also contains a small library, a settee, and perhaps a fireplace... all at the price of an institutional motel room....and you want to to focus on how long it takes for hot water to emerge from the tap? Eagle House is not for everyone, and is clearly wasted on some.
We've found the staff to be very helpful, friendly, and accomodating....Beti has a sixth sense when it comes to matching guests with rooms, and we're in awe of Mr. Lee's restoration prowess.
Gallagher's Pub on the ground floor is very convenient for lunches and late dinners (and live music some nights). Food's excellent, and so is the service. Other dining options are within a comfortable walking distance.
Miss this place, and looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, or unaccustomed to urban noise, you may prefer a room in the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GypsyRoverPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We can't truly express just how much we appreciate everything this beyond-kind reviewer had to say about the Eagle House.

It really is wonderful when we not only have guests return because of their previous, enjoyable stay with us; but also bring along other family members with them when they make a return visit.

We are indeed an authentic, lovingly-restored and maintained 1888 Victorian Inn (celebrating 125 years and counting) that warmly welcomes travelers who want to experience a truly unique, early Americana hotel on the waterfront in historic Old Town Eureka.

So, we want to sincerely thank this astute reviewer for sharing so many positive and flattering thoughts about the Eagle House, encouraging other potential guests who would also appreciate the special things we have to offer. And, of course, we invite them to please come back and stay with us, again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is an authentic 1880's hotel with period furnishings and atmosphere. This has both +'s and -'s. Our room was spacious and clean with a very good bed. Front desk was often not manned. In fact, the place was locked up when we arrived. Breakfast was minimal, but adequate. Price was very reasonable.
Biggest complaint was the location near the homeless shelter. Old Town is in the other direction and is a fun place wander. The Irish pub, which is managed separately, was a great place for a break and for dinner.
Bottom line, we originally planned to stay one night and stayed a second.

Room Tip: We had Room 43 up front. It was large and comfortable, but noise from the Rescue Mission came in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

We want to thank the reviewer for listing both the specific "+s" and "-'s" about their stay with us at the Eagle House. And, we'll certainly pay close attention to what they pointed out in order to improve our overall customer service.

Although (as we have previously stated), we can't control what occasional street noise might occur in our surrounding neighborhood, our inn's guests (here in Old Town) are always far enough away from Highway 101 to not have their rest disturbed by its ongoing traffic.

In any case, we're really pleased that the reviewer obviously enjoyed staying with us so much that they decided to stay over for a second night. The Eagle House is indeed a fun place to stay, and we intend to keep on making it that way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is an old world hotel that is very eclectic in terms of decor as well as layout. The staff were very helpful (particularly Beti) who went out of her way to assist us. The rooms are tidy, well presented and there is a certain amount of quirkiness with the room layouts and furniture placement. We had a fantastic view to the west on the top floor and enjoyed a fantastic sunset over the docks of Eureka. There are lovely sitting rooms on each floor so you can leave your room and sit and take in the views, to read, enjoy a glass of wine or just relax. Very happy to recommend this place. Also very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for west facing on upper floors - sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReddogAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

The Eagle House is indeed an eclectic (and proudly "quirky") Old World hotel ---and we're always delighted to welcome guests from all around the world (and near-by) to come and enjoy what we have to offer at our unique, historic inn.
So, we want to thank this generous reviewer for so kindly sharing all of the things that they enjoyed about their stay with us here in Old Town Eureka---and sincerely invite them to please, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed with my husband for 3 nights on the top floor. We live in a Victorian home in San Francisco, so we were delighted to be in a non-standard, historical hotel with period furnishings, and a spacious room filled with antiques. We slept in a real Victorian bed which was high off the ground, and the bedroom was charmingly separated from the sitting room by sheer curtains. Bathroom was modern, and plumbing worked fine. Hotel is perfectly situated near the boardwalk in Old Town Eureka. On our third night we were woken up by someone screaming in the Mission Rescue across the street, but otherwise it was very quiet. Decent value for the price!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the bay, not the street. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bathsheba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We're especially pleased when someone like this reviewer (who lives in a Victorian themselves), not only chooses our historic Eagle House for several nights, but obviously appreciates every aspect of their spacious room's authentic, antique furnishings--as well as its modern amenities--and shares them in such picturesque detail.

On the other hand, we're sorry that their rest was disturbed on their final night's stay. However, the sound would not have been coming from anyone in the nearby mission. The residents there have strict curfews, and are required to be inside before late in the evening. So (although the streets around the inn are generally quiet for a downtown location), this can sometimes happen. Again, our apologies.

In any case, we're glad that the reviewer's overall experience staying with us in Old Town Eureka was a pleasant one. Built in 1888, this is the 125th year that our remarkable inn has welcomed travelers---and, the on-going restoration and beautification of our surrounding scenic waterfront/cultural/arts district continues to make our guests' stays at the Eagle House even better. So, please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.5 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at 2nd & C? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at 2nd & C

Address: 139 2nd St, Eureka, CA 95501-0317 (Formerly Eagle House Victorian Inn)
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range: £123 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at 2nd & C 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at 2nd & C reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Victorian Hotel Eureka
Eagle Hotel Victorian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing