We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a very restful night's sleep here after a seven hour travel day. Nothing bad to say at all. The rooms are clean, comfortable and simple.
Typical middle of the road type of hotel, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCHockeymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmciec, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear BCHockeymama,

I am so glad your stay was great! Hope to see you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a little removed from old town Eureka, but it's close to the shopping mall. Overall the room was your standard low-mid range hotel room. My main complaint is that the bathrooms/showers are so loud. I could hear whenever a neighbor was showering.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chouj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I stayed here two weeks ago and absolutely LOVED it!! The desk clerks at check in (Donovan) and check out (Brandy) were both so nice, and very helpful. Donovan told us about a great brewery in town for dinner and gave us directions and Brandy helped set us up for a Quality Inn hotel in Crescent City and got us directions to find it. Both pretty knowledgeble of the area and had some awesome ideas for things to do while passing time! Breakfast was really good, full hot breakfast including waffles, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, fruit, cereal, yogurt, and hard boiled eggs. I would reccommend this hotel to any of my friends and to anyone thinking about saying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrandyChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmciec, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear bobbylight_11,

I am so glad your stay was everything you hoped it would be! I'm so glad to hear that Donovan and Brandy did eveything they should have and went above and beyond to make sure you were happy! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Prior to writing this review, I tried contacting Comfort Inn customer service. It has been 3 days and still no reply. I now understand why the lack of good customer service is allowed at this hotel. I want to start by saying I had stayed in 2 other Comfort Inns during this same trip. 1 in Half Moon Bay and the other near San Jose. Both were excellent hotels. I thought this hotel would be the same. I checked in around 11pm on Thursday. Long day on the road and this was one of the 1st hotels i saw as I came into town. This was my experience...... First off, I believe i was over charged. Right off I noticed the rate was higher than the 2 hotels i had stayed at in Northern Cali that same week. So when i tucked into my room that night, I checked the rate of this hotel on my laptop for the next night in the same room and found it to be $25 less. Second, the hotel check in clerk did not notify me that my room would not have a bath. His words, "Pool and Hot tub closed at 10pm". I had just traveled 12 hours and was looking forward to relaxing in the bath before bed. I had a wheelchair accessible "roll in" shower with INCREDIBLY low water pressure. I had already gotten undressed and ready for my bath before I walked into the bathroom. The previous 2 Comfort Inns had nice bathrooms with great water pressure. I had assumed this 3rd stay would be the same. 3rd complaint. Upon check out, I walked up to the counter and was ignored by the 2 clerks behind the counter. They were talking and looking at the computer. No acknowledgement that I was at the counter. Nothing. I waited a few minutes for them to finish or pause to take care of me.That did not seem to happen. I butted in, I told them my room number, to charge my card and I left. I will not return. I have never received this kind of service at any hotel in the past. I normally stay with Best Western but liked the summer promotions and thought I would try this chain. If this is the type of service I can expect I will surely book with Best Western when i travel in October.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikki-98405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I enjoyed staying here for a few nights while visiting ferndale and trinidad. It felt clean. Everything worked well. Nice hot shower, cozy bed and pillows. Flat screen tv...free internet...good breakfast with lots to choose from. No real complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxxsulosxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmciec, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear xxxsulosxxx,

I am glad to hear your stay was nice! I hope we see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The spa did not work. The doors to the outside did not work. Homeless man digging in dumpster. Room was clean, bed comfortable. Pool small but warm. Would not go back. Only Chinese restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed 3 nights while visiting the redwood forests of northern Cal. It's a good location for that activity. Humboldt/Avenue of the Giants are about 25 miles to the south. To the north there are redwood forests to visit everywhere from approximately 20 to 90 miles. The room had a nice flat screen tv, microwave and refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The room was clean and generally pleasant. The breakfast is basic but was sufficient. Near the hotel the city of Eureka has plenty of restaurants, a nice shopping mall and grocery store. My only complaint was the Wi-Fi. The wireless internet was very inconsistent in my room and most times did not work at all. Luckily I brought a cable with me. I plugged into the wall outlet and had a fast internet connection. Overall I was happy with the Eureka Comfort Inn and would stay again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
Thank WisconsinTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
3 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
3.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 21 in Eureka
246 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 21 in Eureka
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay

Address: 4260 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95503-5738 (Formerly Comfort Inn Eureka)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range: £69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay Hotel near Humboldt State University, a Eureka CA HotelThe 100 percent smoke free Comfort Inn® Humboldt Bay is ideally located just minutes from the Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt State University and College of the Redwoods. Humboldt Bay offers a beautiful locale for boating and bird watching. Woodley Island Marina is the largest marina on the bay, and offers boat rentals and lessons. The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of one of the most striking ecological niches in the United States.This Eureka, CA hotel is near the Redwood National and State Parks. Our region attracts nature-lovers from around the world and is home to the world's tallest trees, the must-see giant old-growth redwoods that can live to be 2,000 years old and reach 300 feet in height. To the south of the hotel is the famous Avenue of the Giants and the beautiful 'lost' California coastline.Located on the southern edge of Eureka, our hotel is conveniently located close to great shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful Victorian period architecture of the Old Town Eureka historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing