We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Eureka, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I could not find anything positive to say about the stay. The hotel is dated, worn and not clean. The carpet in our room (a King Suite) was dirty and stained in many spots. There was no mention that the hot tub was outdoors on the web information. And, the hot tub was not hot! There are 175 rooms and the tub accommodates 3-4 people max! A very disappointing stay and although I thought the price was high before arriving here, I can definitely say that it was very over priced. I stay in hotels approximately every 6 weeks. This hotel will not be on my list again.

Room Tip: I couldn't recommend stating here in good conscious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbyjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    170
    128
    63
    47
See reviews for
159
155
48
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Really northern California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I've stayed at this location a few times in the past, but this stay left me feeling sleep deprived and overall dissatisfied.

The facility overall seemed dated and a bit neglected. My room had water stains on the ceiling, the size of several dinner plates. The good news is they matched stains of some kind on the desk chair, so the decor was coordinated.

Below my room was a number of large heating/air conditioning units for the ground floor, including one the cycled off and on all night. Whenever it was running it made a rhythmic screeching noise something like a dozen cats in a running clothes dryer. The weather during my stay was very moderate, so I would have hoped the hotel could shut that unit down until it could be repaired.

The sink stopper in the bathroom wouldn't open properly, so every use resulted in an accumulation of soapy water, toothpaste, and whatnot.

Overall, the staff seemed fairly indifferent. I might have expected all of this from a room costing half or a third of what mine did, but not at this price point.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eureka hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
los angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

This hotel is a little dated, but comfortable...right on the main highway. It is better to stay on the back side of the hotel, away from the highway noise. The breakfast buffet is very good although not included in the price of the room. There are many good restaurants in the old town section of Eureka for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinglosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillett, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel on 10/11/11. The hotel looked really nice from the outside and the lobby, so we figured we'd stay. Once we got up to the second floor and on our way to the room, our opinion changed. Our room was gross. The bathroom smelled of urine and the shower was full of mold! The bedroom floor was full of stains. The hotel is a pet friendly hotel and it looked like there were a million dogs in the room that peed on the floor. The bed sheets were stained too. There were no bed bugs thankfully!! We stayed because it was late and we didn't know were else to go, but we would never go back or recommend this hotel to anyone! We had supper in the restaurant attached to the hotel and it wasn't anything special. They had pictures of the food in the lobby and it looked great! But when we got the menu, we were disappointed. We settled on a pizza because there wasn't much esle to choose from. The pizza was just a frozen pizza, like Disorno, and they added whatever toppings you wanted for a fee. It wasn't that great. We were also going to go swimming, but the pool area was very dirty too. We are on our way to Seattle and have seen a few other Red Lion Hotels, but don't even give them the time of day after our first experience. If you are looking at a hotel to stay at in Eureka, stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed at the Red Lion for a week while I was looking at properties in Humbolt County. The property is well maintained, the staff are pleasant and professional, the room was comfortable and I enjoyed having a balcony. I left the sliding door open the entire time and really enjoyed the fresh air. I ran the AC fan at night and it covered any street noise. I slept very well. I would stay there again and I would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel is quieter, but the rooms do not have balconies. If you have a pet you pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was the first time we stayed at a Red Lion Hotel. We found it to be by far the nicest hotel we have stayed at so far on this trip. Beautiful room comfortable bed the room was clean and neat. Thhaving 2 sinks really made things easier to get out in the morning. The hotel has a resturantt that served excellent food and the staff was very knowledgeable about the area. the only down side was they do not have a in house laundry for the traveler. They do provide Laundry service that would have been great had we been in early enough to take advantage or had planned to stay more than 1 day. Laundry is out in the morning back in the afternoon. We did not use the pool as it was outdoors and it was rather cool the day we were here but it looked to be very clean and weel kept also

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel itself is pretty old and not well kept up. Only stayed here 1 night and that was enough for me, The Air Conditioner in the room was the loudest AC unit I've ever encountered. It was like a jet engine running in the room and it shook everything. So I slept with the window open and had to deal with the noise from the highway all night. Then in the morning the shower would not drain. On the positive side, the bar down stairs is pretty cool, and there a few good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryguy8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#9 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Property: Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Address: 1929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 101 near the towering Redwoods of Northern California, the Red Lion Hotel Eureka is close to the area's finest attractions and just 15 minutes from the Eureka/Arcata Municipal Airport with our complimentary airport transportation. Take a walk down the beautiful Victorian Seaport of Old Town Eureka filled with boutique shops and art galleries. Visit state and national Redwood parks just minutes away. Enjoy the nearby Pacific Ocean, whitewater rafting and deep-sea charter fishing. Our 175 spacious guest rooms include nine suites and feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Guests can also enjoy relaxing and working out at our outdoor pool, and fitness center. For your dining pleasure, the Pacific Grill serves distinctive Northwest cuisine or step into R.J.'S Bar & Grill and enjoy a drink while watching your favorite sport team. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 6,800 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, Red Lion Hotel Eureka is committed to care, comfort and value. And bring your pets - we're pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing