We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eureka Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Eureka
1 review
“Eureka Stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The beds are very comfortable ( and I am picky). The rooms are quiet. One time, there was trouble with a noisy refrigerator during the night, so we turned if off. The staff is friendly and helpful. We usually stay here when visiting son at Humboldt State

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    180
    133
    66
    48
See reviews for
165
161
49
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Nice greeting when we checked in. Although the hotel is a little dated on the outside, the interior was modern as was the decor of the rooms. Most important to me, the place and rroms were clean, quiet and confortable, the hotel was safe and we felt we got value for our money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humboldt county
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed with my sales rep friend who is always traveling. Rooms are newly renovated, hotel lobby and most of the property as well so it looks updated. RJ Grin's Lounge and Sports bar and the Pacific Grill Restaurant are on property so it's great to be able to grab some Crab & Shrimp dip and a local microbrew when you stay. Plus they have 6 flat screen TVs with the NFL package. It's up the street from a Shell station and Target and some other places to eat are close by: Chinese, Cambodian, Breakfast, Subway, Fast Food all within walking distance. The hotel is a 5 to 10 minute shuttle away from Old Town Eureka and Humboldt Bay so you can catch a ride and then walk around downtown. Nice gym downstairs so you can workout as well. There's also a small pool for the kids. Airport shuttle as well. Also on property: ATM, computer stations to check email & lobby snack bar. A lot of bus tours stay here and musicians as well, so you never know who will be in bar. Snoop Dog once stayed here!

Room Tip: Ask for the new renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishertracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it had a restaurant and lounge. We'd just driven 6 hours and weren't in the mood for more exploration. My husband ordered a steak and couldn't get his knife through it. I ordered the salmon and it was so overcooked, rubber would have been less bouncy. Both our "baked" potatoes were microwaved, cold and had that flavor of a spud held too long.

The rooms are fine, the staff very polite, but bring a sandwich in if you're not in the mood for more driving. Don't walk, it's a nasty part of town.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loloofthewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada, California
Level Contributor
731 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Every time I go back to this hotel, the problem that bothers me the most is the parking. They have what seems to be a big parking area...but it seems like there's not enough spaces. If you get there too late at night there is a problem finding a spot. And one does not want to park on the street---too dangerous with the homeless problem. Also, because of the homeless in the area, I never feel that my car is safe in the lot---it was broken into on one of my previous visits.

My suggestion to them...light the parking lot better and have a occasional roving patrol to discourge the homeless from checking out the cars.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have views of dilapated buildings. Rooms on the East side have a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluesky026, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi Roger,

I wanted to apologize about the lack of parking on your recent visit. We are performing a couple of large improvement projects that are taking up a number of the parking spaces. One of these projects is new parking lot lighting. We currently do patrols of the parking area, but with the city wide issue right now we are considering additional options.

I look forward to being of service to you on your next visit, if you will afford us the opportunity. I am sure you will be pleased with the improvements.

Raul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eureka hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We needed one night's lodging in Eureka, and this hotel was very reasonable. The desk clerk gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation and a map to get there. Breakfast is not included, but there is a Subway across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

After experiencing the worst excuse for a motel that ever was ( Econolodge in Eureka) I fled said motel after a half hour and I checked into the Red Lion Hotel and was delighted in what I found. The staff was extremely polite and helpful and the room was exceptionally clean and updated and very large. I have a pet and they were very accommodating to him and the hotel is equipped with every amenity that you could desire when traveling. They are not located in the best part of town but the hotel more than makes up for that with a nice property and nice clean rooms and a great breakfast in the morning in their restaurant. If I had to stay in Eureka again with my dog, I would definitely stay there.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back where there is not much of any view so I would probably ask for something i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 21 in Eureka
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Property: Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Address: 1929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 101 near the towering Redwoods of Northern California, the Red Lion Hotel Eureka is close to the area's finest attractions and just 15 minutes from the Eureka/Arcata Municipal Airport with our complimentary airport transportation. Take a walk down the beautiful Victorian Seaport of Old Town Eureka filled with boutique shops and art galleries. Visit state and national Redwood parks just minutes away. Enjoy the nearby Pacific Ocean, whitewater rafting and deep-sea charter fishing. Our 175 spacious guest rooms include nine suites and feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Guests can also enjoy relaxing and working out at our outdoor pool, and fitness center. For your dining pleasure, the Pacific Grill serves distinctive Northwest cuisine or step into R.J.'S Bar & Grill and enjoy a drink while watching your favorite sport team. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 6,800 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, Red Lion Hotel Eureka is committed to care, comfort and value. And bring your pets - we're pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing