We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Clean rooms, good food at the restaurant and the front desk staff is awesome. Misty remembered my name the first time she met me. She was very personable as well as Kelly and Craig. Great staff, I would recommend you stay here if you're in town

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Schivette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    170
    128
    63
    47
See reviews for
159
155
47
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have no complaints about the staff. The hotel itself is just old, run down and attracts a poor clientele. Unfortunately in the small town of Eureka, CA there is not much to choose from. We only stayed the night and for that it was ok. I wouldn't stay there again, I'd sleep in my car next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesmanDave67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluesky026, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi Dave,

Thank you for staying with us, I'm not sure what went wrong with your stay in July. If you would like to contact me directly with details I would like to look into any specific issues. We have made many improvements last year and are continueing this year. The projects have in part been directed by our guest feedback.

I hope to be of service to you again, if your travels bring you our way.

Sincerely,

Raul Ainardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eureka hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Eureka
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

A previous stay we had was great, no problems. This second trip there were some problems. first off they allow pets so they were going to put us on the first floor because we had heavy equipment and the elevator was not working. So we get to the room hear a dog non stop barking open the room door and heavy animal smell. So they gave us a third floor room which they do not allow pets on, so the engineer was able to move our equipment. There was no caffenated coffee in the rooms. Housekeeping this time around was awful. She did not clean well, left dirty cleaning rag, didn't seem to vacuum. I had welts and bites on my face so they changed the sheets and it was better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluesky026, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi Maria,

Thank you again for staying with us and I am glad we had a chance to review your stay. Our elevator is in the process of being fully upgraded and modernized and yes is had made for challenges for our guests and staff. The room issues were traced back to the same individual and it has been addressed. What you experienced on your recent visit is not typical and not acceptable.

I trully do appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Raul Ainardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingletown, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

2 problems.
1. Booked with Priceline. Told I only get a noisy elevator room at the desk. Manager quickly resolved.
2. Nice room, well made and clean except for MASSIVE balls of blonde woman's hair all over the bathroom and sink area floor! They moved us into another room that had small confetti all overt in the carpet. Obviously don't vacuum at all?!

If it weren't for these problems things were excellent!
Bath and basin and beds and furniture clean and neat.
Room was quiet and comfortable.

The lack of vacuuming is inexplicable.... ?seriously?
Otherwise they had done such a good job!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank The_NorCal_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluesky026, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for letting me know about challenges you had.

I am happy to hear our front desk took care of you and corrective training has been completed regarding your initial response. While I am not sure why the rooms were not vacuumed it has been brought our housekeeping managers attention to ensure that it is corrected.

I look forward to being of service to you in the future and apologize for not catching the issue before you did.

Sincerely,
Raul Ainardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We're travelling by car from Astoria to Palm Springs and stopped in Eureka for the night. The Red Lion seemed like an acceptable option. Upon checking in we were advised the main elevator was out of service. As we're both seniors, with luggage and a carryall, room location is significant. The front desk agent felt a room on the bottom floor would be best. I assumed the ground floor but it was located next to the exercise room, half below ground, and we had to carry our luggage over 10 steps, I've had the A/C running for hours to clear the smell but to no avail. While the beds are clean and comfortable and the restaurant food very acceptable, I'd definitely ecercise caution regarding the room to which you're assigned. Had we not travelled for 12hrs today and been beat, we probably would have insisted on another room, but it's just for one night and we're just plain tired. We'll move on the the am. Just wish I could breath in the meantime.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank newkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluesky026, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for sending us some feedback. I wish you stay had been completely enjoyable, if you ever have a challenge in our rooms please let us know so that we can make the rest of your stay as enjoyable as possible. I apologize on behalf of our team for not noticing the odor issue you mentioned.

Sincerely,
Raul Ainardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a convention type hotel with in-house restaurant/bar/lounge. Comfortable rooms, good internet connection and flat screen tv. The room is well appointed and very clean. Luggage carts make move-in and move-out very easy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

For the beautiful area, this is a nice pet friendly property. When you come to smaller communities, your expectations for rooming choices must adjust. This is an older property. A little dated, but above average for the area. Ocean nearby, great restaurants in area and very close to down town. This is where we stay for home basketball games for Humboldt State. The staff is friendly, breakfast is okay, some rooms have balconies and fresh ocean air. Your pets are welcomed for a small charge.
As a frequent traveler I know the need to adjust to the saying, "when in Rome". This is a very good stay for the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eagle House Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Property: Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Address: 1929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 101 near the towering Redwoods of Northern California, the Red Lion Hotel Eureka is close to the area's finest attractions and just 15 minutes from the Eureka/Arcata Municipal Airport with our complimentary airport transportation. Take a walk down the beautiful Victorian Seaport of Old Town Eureka filled with boutique shops and art galleries. Visit state and national Redwood parks just minutes away. Enjoy the nearby Pacific Ocean, whitewater rafting and deep-sea charter fishing. Our 175 spacious guest rooms include nine suites and feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Guests can also enjoy relaxing and working out at our outdoor pool, and fitness center. For your dining pleasure, the Pacific Grill serves distinctive Northwest cuisine or step into R.J.'S Bar & Grill and enjoy a drink while watching your favorite sport team. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 6,800 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, Red Lion Hotel Eureka is committed to care, comfort and value. And bring your pets - we're pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing